We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, but need a car” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capital-Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Capital-Inn
Ranked #56 of 106 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Excellent, but need a car”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We got an absolutely great rate through Expedia. Great value.

It is essentially a hostel with mostly private rooms and some dorm rooms. We had an ensuite private room. It was a good size and well equipped. I never saw the communal washrooms and showers so can't comment on those.

Staff were wonderful and very helpful. It was very clean and quiet - didn't hear any traffic noise at all, even though we could see the road behind from our room. Breakfast was included and was very good - cheese, ham, toast, cereal, skyr, fruit etc etc etc. There is no elevator that I saw so anyone with mobility issues should beware.

The communal kitchen was great to have to cut down on the cost of eating in Iceland. It could have been cleaner, but that seems to be the way with most communal kitchens - different people have different cleanliness standards I guess. I loved the huge walk in fridge. We usually had the kitchen to ourselves when we cooking and eating.

Other guests pretty much kept to themselves. It seemed to be mostly couples staying there when we were there. It certainly isn't a party place, which is perfect for us.

The location is quite a ways from downtown. I was very glad that we decided to rent a car - I wouldn't have wanted to do that trek everyday. They do rent bikes, but by the time 2 people pay for that, it was actually cheaper for us to rent a car. Plus renting the car meant we could explore outside of Reykjavik at our leisure.

Will definitely consider staying here again when in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktowntravllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    109
    86
    35
    30
See reviews for
35
101
76
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sauwerd
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

A good address for a longer stay in Reykjavik. Friendly staff, good breakfast and great services. Efficient appointed rooms (with and without bathroom). Just the carpet should be renewd (too many stains) in our last room and in the stairways. Good location - you can walk to the citycentre, also busstops nearby. Quiet neighbourhood and a great place to make a walk, though the rooms at the side of the highway can be noisy during a part of the evening (in the nighttime there are few cars out there).

Room Tip: ask for a room with private bathroom on the side of the parkingplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j_degroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Overall, this is a nice enough place. However, it's a hike into Reykjavík. Plan on a forty minute walk along a busy road. You can take the bus, but it's a hassle and will cost 350 ISK to get in.

Rooms where clean. Hostel was noisy if you're room is along the road. People who work there are very nice and helpful. Bikes are not in great condition. It is a fifteen minute walk to a hotpot, which is great.

Overall, there isn't much interesting around the hostel, or good options for food. Pay the extra money and stay in the city. You'll be shelling out money anyway on bus or taxi fare.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenteablues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel for almost one week. the room was basic but clean, towels were fresh everyday, breakfast was good, the lady who prepared it was v nice and v helpful, the receptionist was also nice and gave me some ideas where to go and what to see in the city. Basically the owner should be proud to have a such a nice staff. View from the room could be better but i really enjoy staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mammamiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tacoma,WA
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

I stayed at Capital Inn during the last week of March. It was a nice place close to the water and nature. About 20 to 30 minute walk to downtown. There are lots of walkways. The Perlan was about 7minutes walk, a place to see the city from the 4th floor. The mall is close by, also there is a great bakery. Capital Inn had a breakfast buffet, wi fi and the rooms were small but with a tv. The staff was very friendly and the owner was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pblazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

I stayed at The Capital Inn for 5 nights at the end of this January as a 21 year old solo traveler. Having arrived at the inn at around 130 in the morning, I rang the buzzer and was given my key. Upon opening my door I was pleasantly surprised at how big and spacious the room was. The room itself looked much more modern then I was expecting. There was a closet, sink, alarm clock, TV, a reading light above the bed, along with other little things that gave the room good taste. There was also free wi-fi, that I took advantage of. I later found out that I was given a double room instead of a single room as they were renovating some of the single rooms. This was fine by me! The room itself was very clean, beds were comfortable, and every day the bed was made and new towels were given.

I did have to share a bathroom with the hall (one for men, and one for women), but this was never a problem. The bathroom was also clean and well maintained. There was never a noise issue at night (and I am a light sleeper). I did have a room that was not facing the highway so this may have helped. It does seem to cater to a younger crowd and I could hear music coming from the rooms when I walked down the hall at night. It wasn't too loud, but the door to my room was heavy and solid enough that it blocked any of it out. I did see older adults there too, so it appears it caters to all age groups.

Breakfast was basic but adequate. There were different breads, jams, and spreads, three choices of cereal with milk and yoghurt. There were also meats and cheese. Two different kinds of juices were offered with coffee available too, along with some other things. You would be hard pressed to find a place to stay at $27 a night including a free breakfast!

The staff was very friendly. I talked with the owner several times, and he helped me out in suggesting good places to eat and took the time to draw the locations out on a little map. If you had any questions, they were willing to help you out.

The location itself could be a little better. To the Hallgrímskirkja church it was about a 25 minute walk. However, I am young and didn't mind it one bit. It is located in a quiet neighborhood and I actually found the walks into town quite enjoyable. Reykjavik is an excellent town for walking as there are foot and bike paths everywhere. However, if you are older, then you might find this a bit of an issue. I was out late one night and did get a taxi back to the inn from town center. It cost me around 1300 ISK or about $12.70. So a taxi is still reasonable.

The Capital Inn also has bicycles and motorbikes to rent, and the prices seemed reasonable. I would have rented a bike but being that the weather was windy and rainy, I'll have to save that for the next time I stay at the Capital Inn.

In conclusion, the Capital Inn offers excellent value for money. I found the rooms to be very clean and modern, the service was excellent, and the free breakfast was more than adequate for the price you pay. The only downside may be the location. It just depends on whether or not you like walking. I didn't mind the 25 minute walk into town, but some people may find that as a bit of a downside. Either way, I highly recommend the Capital Inn when you visit Reykjavik.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kuhner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

The guesthouse is conveniently located in a nice quiet neighbourhood and in a walking distance from the Perlan as well as from the downtown of Reykjavik (if you don't rent a car or go with the city tours, it will take you only 30 minutes to reach the city centre). As for service, an incredibly friendly staff works at the place and is always ready to answer any of your questions or provide essential information. I wouldn't say that the rooms are spacious but they are surely comfortable and kept tidy. So, the Capital-Inn is a wonderful and sweet place to stop at if you're going to Reykjavik!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janocz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
1.5 mi away
4th Floor Hotel
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hlemmur Square
Hlemmur Square
#8 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
1.3 mi away
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reykjavik Hostel Village
#36 of 98 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bus Hostel
Bus Hostel
#12 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.1 mi away
Reykjavik Peace Center - Guesthouse
2.3 mi away
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#3 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital-Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital-Inn

Property: The Capital-Inn
Address: Sudurhlid 35d, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — The Capital-Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capital-Inn is ideally positioned for you to experience all that the vibrant city of Reykjavik has to offer. You are within easy walking distance to great restaurants and cafés and impressive shopping at the ,,Kringlan"shopping mall. The ,,Perlan" is just up the street from us, the city centre and the geothermal beach are also just minutes away.The Capital-Inn offers accommodation in spacious budget rooms with shared or private facilities. The guest-house also offers hostel beds on its ground floor with shared facilities. The guest-house offers guests in private rooms a complimentary breakfast, the guests staying in the hostel beds have usage of a large kitchen and a walk-in fridge. The guest-house offers bicycle rental, it also has a new pool table and a seating area where there is a small section with books for guests to borrow while they are staying here. Free Wi-Fi internet access is available in the whole building as well as free parking. Situated near the airport, in Reykjavik, this guesthouse is close to Reykjavik University, Hallgrimskirkja, and Perlan. Also nearby are Kringlan Shopping Mall and Kopavogur Art Museum.Hotel restaurant. In addition to a restaurant, The Capital-Inn features ski storage. Other amenities include complimentary wireless Internet access, laundry service. Premium satellite Televisions come with premium satellite channels. Guest rooms also feature complimentary wireless Internet access, desks, and clock radios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Capital-Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing