We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Capital-Inn
Nearby Hotels
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$447
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$315
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$499
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$461
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
87
137
109
43
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
137
109
43
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhale steakcity centregeothermal beachthe busbed roomcrackersbedside tableother gueststhe pearlpetrol stationexpensive countrycommunal kitchenno elevatorhama nice place to stayporridgethe staff was friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here 3 nights while in Reykjavik. While it is quite a distance from main city centre, we were able to walk it, and would be very accessible with a car. We had a private room which was very spacious and comfortable. The shared bathroom was always clean. We were able to do our laundry for a small amount. The kitchen downstairs was large and good to use. The breakfast included was fabulous and great variety. Friendly, helpful staff, great english. For the price we paid this was excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed on the second floor in a single room. It shared a bathroom with quite a few other rooms, but we stayed on a Monday night and had no problems.

We arrived late, to a clean and decent room. Two twin beds were pushed together to make a "double", which was fine, and the blankets were good. There was new Ikea stuff everywhere, but it was all clean and in good condition. The curtains were heavy enough to keep out all of the parking lot lights in the windows and it was quiet.

Breakfast was ready early and consisted of coffee/juice, oatmeal, the usual Euro breakfast cheese/ham/tomatoes/breads, hard boiled eggs, digestive biscuits, and a neat toast setup.

This is not a "hotel" in the American sense, but it is clean and perfectly acceptable for the price! There is about a ten minute walk to the nearest bus station (uphill), but we had no problems with that. We did NOT stay in the basement hostel situation and have no insight on it.

Room Tip: Second floor! Get a single!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Please observe: This review is about the HOSTEL of the Capital Inn!
The Capital Inn is running a B&B on the ground level and first and second floor, while it also operates a hostel in the cellar of the house.

After reading the great recommendations about Capital Inn on tripadvisor I booked a two nights' stay at the end of my vacation in Iceland. Having been in Iceland for almost three weeks, this was by far the worst hostel I have been to during my time on the island!
The rooms are clean, cheap, and the rather large, dark kitchen well-equipped, but unfortunately this is all the positive news.

I stayed in a four-bed room, which felt really cramped as the room itself is rather narrow and all luggage needs to be stowed in the way. The tiny "window" left the room dark at any time of the day. As one of the trunk roads leaving the city is situated literally just behind the house, it leaves the rooms rather noisy, which holds true for all hostel rooms. In addition, all rooms open their doors towards the kitchen, which is the only place to sit and meet other people. So, if you want to take a good rest, it can get rather noisy at night, as of course others want to talk and discuss things.
The bunk beds inside would not be a bad thing per se, but as they are so saggy and worn that you immediately start rolling towards the middle of the bed, which is about 6-7cm lower than its edge, I have slept better elsewhere.

If my reckoning is right, there should be some 50 beds in the hostel. There are two showers, two toilets, and one washbasin each for men and women (cf. picture). In the men's toilet, the door was missing. In case you wanted to use the washbasin in one of the rare moments during "rushhour" it was not in use, you could watch all the other guests passing by the restroom -- an interesting experience during washing, brushing teeth, and shaving. Furthermore, after a busy day or a long night, toilets tended to be rather dirty.

In one of the reviews I had read about the great location and the beautiful view. Apparently, somehow I have a different understanding of the word "good": It is a 40 minutes walk to the city centre if you are light on your feet; it is situated next to a multi-laned trunk road with only some 10 metres distance, next to a residential area with single-family houses; and only 200 metres away from the next motorway junction. If you are in the hostel, your view consists looking at cars rushing by from underneath.

So, my overall recommendation would be as follows: It is one of the cheapest places to stay in Reykjavik. In case you are travelling on a tight budget, this is a place to consider. However, the hostel is far from as good as the minimum hostel standard in the rest of Iceland, let alone the appraisals of other reviewers apparently regarding the B&B upstairs.
So, if you are able to spend somewhat more, there are so many other hostels in town, which definitively offer a better deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InterestingPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Everything about our stay was enjoyable. We arrived at 3am in the morning where we were helped regardless of the time. Breakfast was fantastic, dinner was fantastic. The staff there were more then happy to help with any questions. Reasonable prices laundry service. For the price we payed this was fantastic

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Capital Inn is a really good value for Reykjavik.

I stayed in a four bed dorm and in a private room and both were clean and spacious, the private room being quite large and quiet.

The basement area where the dorms are can be a bit noisy when there are several people chatting in the kitchen/dinning area and if other guests let the room doors slam shut but other than that, even the dorms are a great value.

Capital Inn is a bit of a distance from Reykjavik centrum but there are four busses that stop nearby, one just up the hill (#18), and three others that stop near Kringlan (the mall). Also at the nearby mall you have many food choices, a market to by groceries, a bank to exchange currency, and several specialty shops including an alcohol shop !

You can also take a nice walk (about 30 min) to and from centrum and enjoy the scenery along the way. Nothing wrong with a little excersize on your vacation right ?

I actually like that Capital Inn is out of the city as downtown Reykjavik nightlife can probably get loud in the late evening.

Overall, Capital Inn is really an ideal place to stay in Reykjavik if you want a little less commotion than being in the city centrum.

Also to note that Capital Inn has a full service kitchen where the cook will prepare you a meal from their menu. Breakfast is included in the cost of private rooms and they have a cooler stocked with sandwiches, Skyr, and cold drinks.

If you don't know what Skyr is, book a trip to Iceland and find out !

And book your stay at the Capital Inn. I'll be back for sure

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulprojector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews