We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well placed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guesthouse Borgartun
Ranked #51 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
dorset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well placed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed here as a large party for 4 nights in total. Three at the start of our tour and one at the end. We had therefore 2 different rooms. Those at the back are quieter but have no view. Those at the front have a view of the ocean but slightly more noise and light.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast is delicious with a great choice of breads, jams, ham, cheese, herring, cereal etc. Everything you need to set you up for a good day's tour around the area.
It is a stones throw from the ocean front and a flat easy walk into the main Reykavik area where you could also catch a bus further afield.
The family were very helpful and Wifi was available free of charge in the breakfast room. There was also a PC for use in the sitting room.
I would certainly head for the guest house again on my return to the city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have ocean views but there is less noise at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodentop54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    50
    40
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
38
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

This guest house offered the necessities at reasonable cost. Warm room in December cold, good serve-yourself breakfast, comparatively cheap buffet at Hotel Cabin just around the corner, hot water and good shower. A little impersonal, but clean with travel advice readily available if needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swords, Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here one night in October 2012. We had very troubles finding the hotel, suggestion: is located in the big building, 3rd floor, it does not have a buiding by itself and no signals outside, except for the one on the road. Where there are the automatic doors, just check the entry phone and you will see "Guesthouse Borgartun" wrote on it, ring them and they will open you. Rooms and private bathroom was very nice according to the price, and the breakfast was awesome. I just don't liked the fact they say there is free WiFi, when our phones couldn't even detect a WiFi, free or secured. The unique way to surf is to use a computer from the last century, located in the common room in the 4th floor. Our room was directly on the road and some people could have trouble sleeping with some background noise: bring earplugs if you have light sleep. The location is pretty outside central Reykjavik but for a good walker would be no problem.
Pro: very very nice price for room+breakfast.
Cons: No WiFi, difficult to locate.

Room Tip: On the 4th floor no WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank branca90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

It is located out of the main stream of the city but all tour buses drop by there. It is managed by old couples who are very sincere. They were quiet but I felt safe when staying in the place. Funny that I was the only guest in the gourdthouse throughout my 3-day stay. Prob. Because it was low season and it was not popular. However, the couples prepared the full buffet breakfast on time every morning for me. (they also had their breakfast there, well , why not?)
It also had a big common room at where you can use a desktop or read. TVs are also available in the guest room and in the common room.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandiceLei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We were dropped off by the Flybus and thought there had been a mistake as there was no signage for Guesthouse Borgatun. It turned out to be situated above a travel agent and once we discovered the hotel reception on the third floor things looked up. Our room was clean and relatively spacious for Iceland and being in the back was quiet. The curtains were thin so blindfolds would be advantageous at this time of year. The breakfast was OK but as the place was full we had to jockey for a seat and the plates were not replaced quickly. Frequent buses take you right into the town centre for a 350 kroner standard charge

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of an organised tour. The room was a decent size for us both and clean and comfortable. The shower was great (apart from the eggy sulphur smell but you get used to that!!) with shampoo, soap etc provided. Don't wear silver jewellery in the shower though as it taints it. The cold water is fine though and can be drunk.
The management were really friendly and helped by booking taxis etc. for us.
The breakfast was pretty decent - good selection of cold meats and cheeses, cereals and breads.
The only negative thing about this place is how far it is from the centre of town. It rained constantly when we were there so we relied on taxis (which cost about ISK 2700 (£13) each way). I imagine if the weather is nice, it'd be totally different with great views over the sea and mountains - apparently the sunsets are amazing from here- and a pleasant 20-30 minute stroll into town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLE1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Generally clean throughout the guest house. appears to have good security arrangements. There's a small lift serving to the top floors.
Owners happy to serve breakfast earlier when requested for.

Location : situated by main roads and rooms facing the main road can be noisy ,however, you get a view of the sea and amazing sunsets and sunrises. Rooms at the back are quieter but the view is of a concrete jungle /boring buildings... so, take your pick.
There's a supermarket close by and a reasonably priced restraurant in the Hotel Cabin next door. They do a great value evening buffet for about £8.
A bit of a walk into town but I didn't mind that . However, there's something to be said about staying centrally as the atmosphere is great in Reykajvik day or night.

Rooms: spacious for one person but a little cramped for two. One of the beds is jammed up to the radiator which could be uncomfortable for someone.
There's adequate storage and hanging space. There's a TV that is perched a little way up high and you''ll need to lie down in bed to see the screen properly, otherwise you just might end up with a crick in your neck .
Ensuite rooms, bath and face towels, soap supplied. Good strong shower.
The water in the taps do smell of sulphur and takes a bit of getting used to but then you'd expect that as Iceland's households tap into their natural suphurous thermal water supplies. My friend drank the water and survives to this day but I couldn't handle the smell so I stuck with odour-free bottled water :)
The rooms are warm, bed very comfortable.

The wiring and plug socket arrangements in my room was a bit dodgy, temperamental as the bedside lamp kept going out with the slightest of movement when trying to plug in my charger. There was only one plug point at floor level and had a three socket extension lead attached.. However, it was behind the bed and too short to be brought forward so had to lean over awkwardly behind the bed every night trying to manage the plugging in and out which in turn affected the bedside light.
The other plug point was too high up on the wall to be reasonably accessible ! Not sure why it was placed so high up..at least 7-8 feet from floor level.

Breakfast : was ok, nothing extraordinary. Soya milk available.
Cereals, bread, pastries, fruit. juices , eggs, salted fish, various processed meat slices, cheese and jams
Take note of the old pictures on the dining room wall- interesting to see how some of the glaciers and landscapes have changed/disappeared over time due to weather and geological shifts.
Some of the seating in the breakfast room was too tightly spaced and a bit irritaing to be hemmed in and can't push chair back .

Computer : it's available in the sitting room but very slooow. No free Wifi :( In fact it's quite limited elsewhere in Reykajvik too !)
PC not readily advertised and password only if asked for.
There's a coffee/tea/chocolate drinks machine on the second floor but there's a charge - I think it costed about £2.50- too exorbitant I think .
Overall impression : clean, basic, and comfortable - no major niggles.

Room Tip: Comfy shoes to ensure a comfy long walk into town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NearlyThere63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#45 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Guesthouse Bina
#50 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Star Guesthouse
Star Guesthouse
#70 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Blue House
#10 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Brim Hotel RCH
#49 of 108 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Borgartun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Borgartun

Property: Guesthouse Borgartun
Address: Borgartun 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Guesthouse Borgartun 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guðmundur Jonasson’s headquarters at Borgartun in Reykjavik house not only our main travel office and fleet of vehicles, but also a good standard 22 room Guest House – all comfortable bedrooms are en-suite and have a colour TV. There is also a breakfast room and lounge with internet access and it is only a short walk to the main swimming pool and close to a good selection of restaurants. Reykjavik City Centre is within easy reach, either by foot or by local bus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgartun Guest House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing