We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel, friendly staff, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Borgartun
Ranked #69 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Budget hotel, friendly staff, good location”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We gave the owner/manager notice that we will be arriving at 0200H and she waited for us. Very basic clean room with private bath/shower. We rented a car so we had no problems going back/forth around city center and Reykjavik. Good breakfast selection from 0800-1000H. We checked out at 0400H and they prepared breakfast to go. Highly recommended for those who are looking for clean, budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    50
    40
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
38
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Nice people. Good breakfast - typical northern European. Simple little rooms with personal shower and balcony. Old furnishings, small TV and sheets. No dresser. Great location near public pool and easy to walk/bus everywhere. We enjoyed this little guesthouse tucked in an office building. Fairly priced. Unfortunately the first two days of our trip we were double booked and sent to a fancier hotel spot and we agreed the guesthouse was much better. The hotel was less convenient, cold atmosphere, and had so-so breakfast. We spent 7 nights at guesthouse and will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jd595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Just spent 4 nights in Iceland at the Bogartun! Good value in an expensive country, the rooms although not large are clean, warm and have views of the sea if staying at the front of block! The bathroom although small was well equipped and a great shower! Hair dryer and plenty of clean towels! There was a small t.v with only 3 channels! There is a residents lounge with books, comfortable Chairs and Internet access! Breakfast served in a nice dining room was excellent with cereals, yogurt, fresh breads, a selection of hams, cheese, eggs, fish and homemade jams! A selection of teas and coffee and fruits made it actually great value and filled you up for the day! The owner i cannot praise highly enough! She was helpful, ordered taxis, gave advice on places to go and generally chatty and interested in you! I would stay again! There is a travel agency on the first floor with helpful staff to book trips etc...

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front! Good views of the sea! Didn't notice noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosieposi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Our group arrived on Thursday to find the hotel we booked had overbooked their rooms so we were to go next door. In a way I am glad they did. I had a lovely spacious room at the front. If you don't like main road noise then this isn't the place for you. I don't mind as I live on a main road at home. It was very clean. The breakfast lovely. Really good selection of bakery bread no supermarket chemical muck. It's about 30 mins walk from the town center, but most of that is along the seafront.
No need to run the shower for ages there was instant hot eggy wiffy water, Take off any silver before you go in. Our flight was very early on Sunday and If we wished they would leave a meal for us, but the hotel already promised this as a compensation for the bump

I am glad we got bumped

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed here as a large party for 4 nights in total. Three at the start of our tour and one at the end. We had therefore 2 different rooms. Those at the back are quieter but have no view. Those at the front have a view of the ocean but slightly more noise and light.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast is delicious with a great choice of breads, jams, ham, cheese, herring, cereal etc. Everything you need to set you up for a good day's tour around the area.
It is a stones throw from the ocean front and a flat easy walk into the main Reykavik area where you could also catch a bus further afield.
The family were very helpful and Wifi was available free of charge in the breakfast room. There was also a PC for use in the sitting room.
I would certainly head for the guest house again on my return to the city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have ocean views but there is less noise at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodentop54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This guest house offered the necessities at reasonable cost. Warm room in December cold, good serve-yourself breakfast, comparatively cheap buffet at Hotel Cabin just around the corner, hot water and good shower. A little impersonal, but clean with travel advice readily available if needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swords, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here one night in October 2012. We had very troubles finding the hotel, suggestion: is located in the big building, 3rd floor, it does not have a buiding by itself and no signals outside, except for the one on the road. Where there are the automatic doors, just check the entry phone and you will see "Guesthouse Borgartun" wrote on it, ring them and they will open you. Rooms and private bathroom was very nice according to the price, and the breakfast was awesome. I just don't liked the fact they say there is free WiFi, when our phones couldn't even detect a WiFi, free or secured. The unique way to surf is to use a computer from the last century, located in the common room in the 4th floor. Our room was directly on the road and some people could have trouble sleeping with some background noise: bring earplugs if you have light sleep. The location is pretty outside central Reykjavik but for a good walker would be no problem.
Pro: very very nice price for room+breakfast.
Cons: No WiFi, difficult to locate.

Room Tip: On the 4th floor no WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank branca90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,075 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,654 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Atlantic Apartments & Rooms
Atlantic Apartments & Rooms
#83 of 109 in Reykjavik
72 reviews
Laugardalur
Tower Suites Reykjavik
Tower Suites Reykjavik
#34 of 109 in Reykjavik
15 reviews
Alba Guesthouse
#47 of 109 in Reykjavik
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Borgartun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Borgartun

Property: Guesthouse Borgartun
Address: Borgartun 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Guesthouse Borgartun 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guðmundur Jonasson’s headquarters at Borgartun in Reykjavik house not only our main travel office and fleet of vehicles, but also a good standard 22 room Guest House – all comfortable bedrooms are en-suite and have a colour TV. There is also a breakfast room and lounge with internet access and it is only a short walk to the main swimming pool and close to a good selection of restaurants. Reykjavik City Centre is within easy reach, either by foot or by local bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK so you can book your Guesthouse Borgartun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgartun Guest House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing