We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Helpful 4 days in Iceland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guesthouse Borgartun
Ranked #70 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at Guesthouse Borgartun. The guesthouse was very clean, quiet, comfortable and provided very good relaxed cold buffet breakfast. Plenty of hot water and powerful shower as you would expect for Geothermal powered country. Guesthouse is very close to the sea front, swimming pool and a short walk from the old town and restaurants.
Hassel free stay. I did enjoy the sweet pickled herring at breakfast.

All the excursions & whale watching picked up from the Hotel and excursions were as described in the brochure (Reykjavik excursions). The light nights at this time of year are worth experiencing - different intensity and quality of light.

We wish to say a big thank you to the Hotel manager who sorted out our transfer to the airport when the bus did not come and pick us up. Thank you and sorry for waking you so early.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albashimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Located on the third floor of what looks like an office block the ground floor entrance references only the travel agent "Gudmundur Jonasson" - don't be put off! Take lIft to the third floor and reception via the breakfast room. Immediately impressed wth overall cleanliness Budget wise this is below what you'd pay at a Travel Lodge and is generally superior as beds are very comfortable and a decent breakfast is included! Staff are helpfull but do take time to read notices e.g hot water has a sulphorous smell (which is applicable throughout Iceland) and will tarnish silver jewelery. En-Suite faclities are adequate and rare in Iceland at this price point. Only downside is distance from town centre. Read the helpful notice on buses outside the breakfast room and save yourself a walk! Notice that room keys have GJ initials of the travel agent (2nd floor) on them so probably owned by them? They are also very helpful if you want to book tours. Did I mention free WiFi? If you intend to book tours do so on line AFTER you get there (you only need the booking reference not a printout - check on Icelands changeable weather first. Northern Lights particularly as you won't see through clouds! We used Netbus for most tours (cheaper than others).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveMr345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The guesthouse is in a very uninspiring office block but once inside is very cosy. The rooms are adequate in size and very warm, very important in December. The bathrooms are very small but have hot water, a nice shower, soap provided and a hairdryer. The beds were comfy even though the pillows were not very firm! The breakfast buffet was lovely, juices, tea and coffee and breads, jams, hams and cheeses, very nice. Tea and coffee was provided all day in the breakfast room and there is a lounge with a computer upstairs too for use by guests. It was a 20 min walk to the centre of town which may be a problem in inclement weather. There is the Hotel Cabin next door where we ate the buffet one evening but otherwise it is a walk for any food in the evenings and no bar either. The manager seemed very friendly but as we were on an organised tour, our trips were already booked for us. The guesthouse is on top of a travel agency so they can book all tours for you.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, then you need to be on the back, there is a noisy road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vittoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have just had another enjoyable & relaxing stay at Guesthouse Borgartun in Reykjavik. It is an ideal base whatever your activity. Rooms are well maintained & very clean with en suite & tv + radio alarm. Breakfast is varied & plentiful with endless coffee. The manager is very kind & pleasant. She assisted me greatly. If you are looking for 5 star aloofness then do not stay here. If, on the other hand you want good, clean honest accommodation @ a very very reasonable cost, then Guesthouse Borgartun is most definitely worth a stay.
This was my second stay & I like it so much I am returning in March.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobbstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

When I looked for hotels in Reykjavik I noticed that they were not cheap... This one was not too expensive (we payed 110 euros for twin for one night) and it had free parking space, free wi-fi and it included good breakfast.

Rooms were clean and it took us some 20 minutes to walk into downtown of Reykjavik. There is a small supermarket and wine store (wine is not sold on supermarkets, we noticed) just couple of minutes away from Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I write this review because the previous comments were deciding factors for us to stay at this hotel. Clean, quiet place, especially if you get the room facing the other buildings. On our second stay we got the somewhat noisier room facing the road and farther the ocean. On the second arrival we got to the place after midnight. The taxi driver had to be helped out as to the location.
The room is heated, good beds, simple. The breakfast was a good average one. Service - helpful.The price is reasonable so I recommend this hotel if you are budget conscious.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Beatrix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The rooms are located on the upper floors of a drab office building, approximately a 25 minute walk from the center of town. The wifi did not always work in the room, but the signal was fine in the dining area. Rooms have antiquated electrical outlets which, according to what I was told, were standard in the 1970s. Today you need an adapter (provided by the manager) to convert to standard Icelandic/European outlets.

But these were the only negatives, which were more than overcome by the plain, but clean and comfortable rooms, the friendly and helpful manager (and her husband), the nice breakfast and the reasonable price.

Even the non-central location had its advantages. The facility is within walking distance of Laugardalslaug, the best of the local geothermal swimming and recreational complexes. You are also within walking distance of the Brasserie Askur, a well-reviewed restaurant with an excellent Sunday buffet. All the tour buses pick up at this hotel and there is public transit to downtown if it is too long a walk.

It was good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stu5390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,139 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,082 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Borgartun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Borgartun

Address: Borgartun 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: £47 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Guesthouse Borgartun 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guðmundur Jonasson’s headquarters at Borgartun in Reykjavik house not only our main travel office and fleet of vehicles, but also a good standard 22 room Guest House – all comfortable bedrooms are en-suite and have a colour TV. There is also a breakfast room and lounge with internet access and it is only a short walk to the main swimming pool and close to a good selection of restaurants. Reykjavik City Centre is within easy reach, either by foot or by local bus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgartun Guest House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing