We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for lunch stop.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Svarta Kaffid

Svarta Kaffid
Ranked #16 of 457 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tiny family owned soup restaurant in the heart of Reykjavik We are the first "soup in bread" restaurant in Iceland. We've been serving soups in bread for over 20 years and still loving it. We don't take reservations, ever - but swing by and we will do our best to fit you in with smiles on our faces! :)
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
206 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch stop.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Cosy café with views on to the main shopping street -nice for watching life going by. Soup in bread is excellent. Prices are reasonable in a city of sky-high costs.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholidays8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,142
    536
    92
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

the soup is a bread bowl is worth seeking this place out, the vegetable one was great. Its easy to find on the main street. Lots of other things on the menu and if we had more nights we would have returned to try other things off the menue. great atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ice l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a quick lunch here.
The soup came with bread taste good, and great value as well. The tacos taste nice too.
Especially love the atmosphere here. Although only a few tables were occupied while we were there, we can imagine how's it like at night. The wall is decorated with money in different currencies around the world - how cool is that.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yanice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

At Svarta Kaffi in Reykjavík they offer a soup in a bread which are very good, they have a lively, fun and good service. Always smiling and willing to do everything so that your visit will bee enjoyful. Simple and good restaurant that can be recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristjana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Best meal we had in Reykyavik by far, while also being one of the cheapest. Would certainly go back without hesitation, well worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Svarta Kaffid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Svarta Kaffid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing