We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A world away from the hustle and bustle of city life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Videy Island

Videy Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,113.00*
and up
Iceland Helicopter Tour: Golden Circle Experience
Ranked #36 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
228 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“A world away from the hustle and bustle of city life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have had the pleasure of visiting this delightful island three times now - twice in the summer months (2010 and 2014) and also in October 2013 when I was privileged to see the Imagine Peace Tower switched on. It really is a delight, so close to Reykjavik and yet it seems, so far away. I can only imagine what living here must have been like.

The island though is larger than it looks - it takes several hours to walk around and explore properly. As you get off the boat the path leads you up past the café where you can walk in many different directions. Left takes you to the Imagine Peace Tower and further on, a delightful black sand beach (a great place for a picnic), which is flanked by a small lake (watch out for the Arctic Terns). Right takes you towards the remains of the now abandoned village, while the centre path takes towards the coast for the walk through the bird colonies - they may chirp loudly as they swirl overhead, but they are only trying to divert attention from their young. Make sure though that you stick to the paths, as you don't want to trample those precious eggs.

Once back at the café, you can relax on the terrace watching the world go by while enjoying a coffee or perhaps a chilled beer - yes, they also do gluten free cakes. Then it is back to the boat for the ride back to civilisation.

Most of the ferries go from the pier at the Cruise Terminal which is literally just across the water, but this is a bit of a trek from downtown, so during the summer season, three boats a day also go from the old harbour - at 11.50am, 2.50 and 4.50pm. They also stop at Harpa along the way - you must though make sure that you purchase or collect your ticket before you embark, even for holders of the Welcome to Reykjavik Card, for which the ferry is included. For non card holders, a return ticket costs 1100 ISK. The boats of course also run during the winter months, although sadly only at the weekends.

For such a small island, there is such a lot to do - the walks and the views are always beautiful whenever you go, and as for that Lighting Ceremony - it is night I shall never forget.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GeysirGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    75
    27
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Windy but great for walking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

It's a small island in a 3-minute boat trip from the mainland. Not many sightseeings but a great place if you want to be in the nature, see birds and clear your mind. Don't forget your warm clothes. The cafe building is nice and you can have some food there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 109Tuuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Videy, Manager at Videy Island, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Thank you for your comment - we're happy that you liked your trip to Viðey island. Did you know that the coffee house is the oldest house made of stone in Iceland ? :)

All the best,
The Viðey team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Awesome - one of the highlights of my visit to Reykjavik!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I travelled with my partner on the 10.15am over to the island on Saturday 7th June. We checked in around 30 minutes beforehand and got a free map of the island. We were using our Reykjavik Welcome Cards which were excellent value for money.
The journey took around five minutes. The island is very green with clean waters. Once we arrived we went to the viewing point on the Isthmus and got a great view of the West Island and Richard Serra's Milestones. Then we went to view Yoko Ono's Imagine Peace Tower on the way back to see the protected bird nesting area on the East Island. Although we only spent just over an hour on the island, we got to see a lot more than we thought we would. We didn't have time to reach the Schoolhouse which has an exhibition about the island.
We had a lot to see on our last day so we caught the 11.30 back from the island to the Harbour. We were the only passengers on the boat and sat on the front which was excellent!
I would highly recommend a visit to this green, peaceful island which features beautiful birdlife.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank katy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Videy, Manager at Videy Island, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
What a great day you had on Viðey island. We're happy that you liked your trip!
Thank you so much for your comments.

All the best,
The Viðey team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great day 5 min boat ride to video island worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The boat ride/ ferry was swift with great vista of the harbor and cliffs of Videy - the restaurant had a good lunch menu high on the hill - beautiful - the island has many footpaths that crisscross in the most gorgeous hills of yellow flowers - " the isthmus "to other part was a great walk and the air was very pure- the island has the ruins well marked w comprehensive explanations- you can stay on a main walkway and not go off - family oriented - couples -anyone who wants more bucolic icelandic countryside - there is also the yoko Ono peace tower - - excellent way to spend an afternoon - worth it for sure
Coffee and sandwich were delicious w the special sauce

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Videy, Manager at Videy Island, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
It seems you had a really nice day on Viðey island! We're happy that you liked the island and the food :) Thank you for your kind words.

All the best,
The Viðey team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The history part of the island is fairly simple but worth to have a look. The major attracting point is the serenity of the place and the chance to watch birds. We just had time to visit the west part of the island because of weather, but it is good enough for a walk there. The only downside is that the restaurant there is too simple and not much choice offered. If you got time and brought your own lunch, it is easy to spend 4-5 hours there and enjoy the nature.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Videy, Manager at Videy Island, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Thank you for your comments - we're happy you enjoyed the serenity of the island :)

Allt the best,
The Viðey team

p.s. The food at Viðeyjarstofa is really good although the menu isn't that long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Videy Island also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Videy Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing