We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Retreat in the City”
Review of Videy Island

Videy Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,113.00*
and up
Iceland Helicopter Tour: Golden Circle Experience
Ranked #38 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Island Retreat in the City”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A short ferry ride from Reykjavik is a pristine island for a long walk or bike ride and communing with nature. The passengers from the ferry dispersed and we found ourselves alone most of the time we walked the nature trails. At the north of the island is a promontory where we stood and experienced the gulls soaring on the ridge waves--just a few feet away from us! They were so close and yet so oblivious to us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    79
    29
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Iceland, Iceland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice to see , but the service was poor.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

After a nice walk we desided to get a coffee. But because there were to few people left on Videy . They just closed the coffe shop. So if you want to get coffe , take it with you.

Helpful?
Thank JosefSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
237 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A world away from the hustle and bustle of city life”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have had the pleasure of visiting this delightful island three times now - twice in the summer months (2010 and 2014) and also in October 2013 when I was privileged to see the Imagine Peace Tower switched on. It really is a delight, so close to Reykjavik and yet it seems, so far away. I can only imagine what living here must have been like.

The island though is larger than it looks - it takes several hours to walk around and explore properly. As you get off the boat the path leads you up past the café where you can walk in many different directions. Left takes you to the Imagine Peace Tower and further on, a delightful black sand beach (a great place for a picnic), which is flanked by a small lake (watch out for the Arctic Terns). Right takes you towards the remains of the now abandoned village, while the centre path takes towards the coast for the walk through the bird colonies - they may chirp loudly as they swirl overhead, but they are only trying to divert attention from their young. Make sure though that you stick to the paths, as you don't want to trample those precious eggs.

Once back at the café, you can relax on the terrace watching the world go by while enjoying a coffee or perhaps a chilled beer - yes, they also do gluten free cakes. Then it is back to the boat for the ride back to civilisation.

Most of the ferries go from the pier at the Cruise Terminal which is literally just across the water, but this is a bit of a trek from downtown, so during the summer season, three boats a day also go from the old harbour - at 11.50am, 2.50 and 4.50pm. They also stop at Harpa along the way - you must though make sure that you purchase or collect your ticket before you embark, even for holders of the Welcome to Reykjavik Card, for which the ferry is included. For non card holders, a return ticket costs 1100 ISK. The boats of course also run during the winter months, although sadly only at the weekends.

For such a small island, there is such a lot to do - the walks and the views are always beautiful whenever you go, and as for that Lighting Ceremony - it is night I shall never forget.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GeysirGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Windy but great for walking”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It's a small island in a 3-minute boat trip from the mainland. Not many sightseeings but a great place if you want to be in the nature, see birds and clear your mind. Don't forget your warm clothes. The cafe building is nice and you can have some food there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 109Tuuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Videy, Manager at Videy Island, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Thank you for your comment - we're happy that you liked your trip to Viðey island. Did you know that the coffee house is the oldest house made of stone in Iceland ? :)

All the best,
The Viðey team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome - one of the highlights of my visit to Reykjavik!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I travelled with my partner on the 10.15am over to the island on Saturday 7th June. We checked in around 30 minutes beforehand and got a free map of the island. We were using our Reykjavik Welcome Cards which were excellent value for money.
The journey took around five minutes. The island is very green with clean waters. Once we arrived we went to the viewing point on the Isthmus and got a great view of the West Island and Richard Serra's Milestones. Then we went to view Yoko Ono's Imagine Peace Tower on the way back to see the protected bird nesting area on the East Island. Although we only spent just over an hour on the island, we got to see a lot more than we thought we would. We didn't have time to reach the Schoolhouse which has an exhibition about the island.
We had a lot to see on our last day so we caught the 11.30 back from the island to the Harbour. We were the only passengers on the boat and sat on the front which was excellent!
I would highly recommend a visit to this green, peaceful island which features beautiful birdlife.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank katy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Videy, Manager at Videy Island, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
What a great day you had on Viðey island. We're happy that you liked your trip!
Thank you so much for your comments.

All the best,
The Viðey team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Videy Island also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Videy Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing