We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Day”
Review of Videy Island

Videy Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77.00*
and up
Imagine Peace Tower Tour from Reykjavik
Ranked #35 of 180 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a whole day at this lovely island hours more than we had planned. The walks all round the island are well worth the effort and the views stunning. We also enjoyed the birds but then that's our thing. The derelict village, except for the schoolroom, was very evocative and well described. The cafe served excellent Iceland mussels and chips. All in all well worth the very cheap boat fare

Helpful?
1 Thank djne11026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    87
    29
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful sights, but repetitive. ”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We walked along the east side of the island after arriving by ferry from Old Harbour. Get your ticket at Elding even if you have a welcome card.

It was a very wet morning so naturally the grass was very wet as we walked. The main trail/road to major sites is nicely maintained until you want to go off to the coast line. Then it's kind of try your best to follow the small path provided. There are some good sites along this trail like the Women's Hiking Hill and Thorshead, which was a black sand beach. We opted to take the "difficult walking trail" (on the map) further along the island and this was a terrible idea. It was not maintained at all and our feet and pants were soaked from all the tall grass, the views along the north side aren't spectacular anyway, so I would recommend it.

There was a small playground for kids at the main building, but it didn't seem like the island was very kid friendly.

A few good views and photo ops for sure. Make sure you triple check what time the ferry comes and goes from different locations. ALL the maps had different times and we ended up waiting for the ferry back to Old Harbour (where we stayed) but upon getting on it we found out that it was going there at all but to the other side of Reykjavik. Cold wet feet and walking 20km not a great combo.

The island is quaint, and easy to do in a half day.

Helpful?
Thank eeebeetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

On my last day of a summer trip to Reykjavik, I'd booked a day visit to Heimaey, but like an idiot, I hadn't read the coach pick up time properly on my ticket, so that was a busted flush.

After the lovely people at Grayline had refunded me for that trip, I asked for advice on an alternative trip at sea and Videy was suggested - what a good second choice it turned out to be.

Located a couple of miles away from the centre of Reykjavik, Videy is a short ferry ride from Sundahofn harbour, which can be reached by bus quite easily. I walked, in order to blow off the cobwebs from the previous night's bar-hopping, a lovely stretch of the legs around Faxafloi Bay.

Once you arrive at Sundahofn, the ferry ride across to Videy is a matter of a few minutes, livened by the sight of thousands of jellyfish in the water.

Landing on Videy, it's like stepping into another world, far from the hubbub of the city - the silence and tranquility is quite something to experience.

There are only a few buildings to be found on Videy, including a church and a mansion which doubles as a restaurant (where I ate a very welcome and tasty light lunch).

The real wonder of Videy comes from a walk along it's grassy pathways, as dotted amongst the tufts and banks are intriguing artworks and installations, including Yoko Ono's Peace Tower, which is her tribute to John Lennon, switched on between the anniversary of his birthday in October and the day of his death in December. I've seen it in that period, and it is very impressive.

If you have at least half a day to spare, if not a full one (and the weather is fine) then a trip to Videy is well worth considering.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JLloydLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Short ferry ride to peaceful place for easy walks”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Great views looking back at Reykyavik. Basalt columns by Richard Serra on one part of island are thought-provoking. At the other end an archaeological site. Inside the oldest stone house in Iceland we had a very nice lunch: fennel soup, smoked salmon, and beer. There is a light sculpture commissioned by Yoko Ono but that's only on in the winter. Wish I could have seen it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HLewellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Island Retreat in the City”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A short ferry ride from Reykjavik is a pristine island for a long walk or bike ride and communing with nature. The passengers from the ferry dispersed and we found ourselves alone most of the time we walked the nature trails. At the north of the island is a promontory where we stood and experienced the gulls soaring on the ridge waves--just a few feet away from us! They were so close and yet so oblivious to us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Videy Island also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Videy Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing