We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin star”
Review of Dill Restaurant

Dill Restaurant
Ranked #96 of 486 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$90
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Danish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Michelin star”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The best restaurant in Reykjavik
Great flavors with seasonal icelandic ingredients, also perfect service. One of my best meals

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Benni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    81
    28
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Special Place, nice Food”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The restaurant interior is extraordinary and the Service is really good. We choose the 5 course menu with wine accompanionment. Lovely Food, special dishes.. I expected a little bit more, but definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nofretete13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Time well spent”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a contrast with the restaurant for tourists. DILL is really an experience! We immediately fell in love with the down to earth basic interior: old walls in combination with basic materials like concrete, leather, rope, metal and pottery lamps: the right setting for a superb food experience. We went for the full menu: this was a delicious journey through the local food Iceland has to offer. Beautiful originals plates, food is nicely put on the plate and the combination of tastes is a real discovery. Those people know about food! You could also feel that the waiters really like their job and have a good understanding of the DILL-experience and concept. That evening was well spent time !!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akureyri, Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding dinner!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I came to Iceland to elope and to honeymoon. An Icelandic friend recommended Dill for my wedding night dinner. She warned us it had recently moved but we followed the Google directions (which had yet to be updated). As a result, we went to the old location and had to walk to the new location. I became very tired and cranky and was tempted to just walk into a random restaurant to eat. I'm very glad we did not. DILL WAS WORTH THE WAIT AND TRAVEL. I was shown to the bar which are THE BEST SEATS in the house. There I watched the chef craft each dish with meticulous care. At Dill, the chef pushes the Icelandic culinary boundaries while maintaining a distinctly Icelandic flair. As each dish was served, an description of the local ingredients were provided. I absolutely adored my experience at Dill. It was a perfect dinner to a perfect wedding. Iceland captured my heart and I will return to this beautiful country. With each return, I anticipate a visit to Dill.

ps. All my photos below were part of the 7 course set menu for 1! I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank simmisoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant of Reykjavik, if not to say ICELAND”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Gunnar and Gisli and their team have given us an unforgettable dining experience, far beyond our expectations!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dill Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Dill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing