We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Do while in Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iceland Horizon

Iceland Horizon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Operating only a few select daily scheduled tours which are always in small groups, Iceland Horizon is a small, family run tour operation with no intention of becoming a large bus company. Our philosophy has always been that you are travelling on a guided tour and the bus is just a means of transport, keeping the experience more personal, friendly and fun for both travellers and guides. We also arrange tours for groups wanting a private or individual arrangement.
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Must Do while in Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were fortunate to see the highlights of Iceland with David, a British ex-pat with a love for his job. He is very knowledgable and funny. He goes out of his way to show you not only the usual features but will do anything to please. You are never rushed. It is a truly beautiful country full of natural wonders all enhanced by David.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bphman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,205
    87
    15
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Iceland Horizon - Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I booked the Golden Circle Tour with Iceland Horizons, and it was so enjoyable that we booked the South Coast Tour for the following day with them before we even got off the bus. Both tours are very interesting, full of stunning sites and well worth doing. David our guide (and the business owner) was friendly, very informative about all things Iceland and offered to stop at places that weren't necessarily part of the planned tour - something you certainly don't get as part of the larger tours. Iceland Horizons only use small busses (about 10- 4 people) which make for a far more enjoyable experience and helps avoid long cues at stops for lunch or bathrooms! Be sure to check which bus you are getting on at your hotel pick up though to ensure you don't end up with another operator by accident - you definitely want Iceland Horizons.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaMarcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best tour guide and highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went to Iceland as a family last September 2013 for a couple of days and my dad managed to book a tour with Horizon Golden Circle almost last minute (our trip was booked via Groupon as they had an offer, but to be honest I wouldn't recommend bookin with them for Reykjavik at all- we were allowed to book a few excursions with Grayline Iceland Excursions as part of our holiday package but the Golden Circle tour with them were unavailable during our dates). Anyway, our Golden Circle tour with our guide David was absolutely brilliant. It was far better than the ones provided by Grayline. This is partly because there was a big difference in numbers, Grayline operates via big tour buses whereas with Horizon there are smaller numbers (around 10ish if I remember correctly) and the tour became more personal as we all got to know each other.

We stopped off at various extra mini stops e.g. to feed local Icelandic horses, see other sights as well as the standard stops in the golden circle. It was a very informative tour with David explaining the history, geology and economics of Iceland; it sounds boring but it certainly wasn't! He kept to time, was organised and very funny. The tour was the last part of our trip and certainly the highlight. Thanks Iceland Horizon!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sansanana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I am not a fan of guided tours. I usually prefer to rent a car and travel on my own. However, taking this tour was totally worth it. The information provided by David (our tour guide and the owner of this small tour company) was fascinating, comprehensive and useful, ranging from Iceland economics to geology. His sense of humor is also very clever. The tours are small (I really dislike those giant buses tours) and include some unexpected and fascinating stops. I will recommend Iceland Horizon to all my friends!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The wonder of nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were part of coach tour organised by the cruise company.
We saw amazing natural features, waterfalls, geysers and the best was the Thingvellir National Park. We walked down the rift in the Þingvellir area, it is a part of the North Atlantic rift system, almost entirely nested within the Reykjaneshryggur-Langjökull rift system. It can be described as an area of sea-floor spreading, displaying the close association of crustal rifting and volcanism. Þingvellir and the Great Rift Valley of Eastern Africa are the only sites on Earth where the effects of two major plates drifting apart can be observed. The rift in June was awash with native alpine flowers

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iceland Horizon also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing