We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gallery Restaurant

Gallery Restaurant
Ranked #149 of 461 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$85
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gallery Restaurant was chosen the best restaurant in Iceland 2012 by Nordic Prize.The restaurant is set in an intimate room with beautiful artwork all around and offer several kinds of private rooms for groups and individual. The selection of our gourmet menus includes fresh Icelandic ingredients, steaks and seafood for lunch and dinner. Gallery Restaurant has never been better than right now, whether you are looking for a romantic meal with your loved one, dinner with friends or a family feast, this is the place to celebrate all that is good in life.Our walk-in wine cellar includes about 4000 vintage wines - why not try wine tasting in our cellar to set the mood for a memorable evening?Open every day from 12-14pm and 18-22:30pm.
Keflavik
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excelent food, great service and charming restaruant. We had the Kjarval
-Chef ́s Menu and it was excelent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Primus30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    34
    15
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High class experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I recently went to Gallery Restaurant - Hotel Holt with a group of my friends to celebrate a successful surgery on one of the group members. Now, being a local, I've heard great things about the restaurant and know that the head chef is the only - I believe - Icelandic chef that has previous working experience in Michelin rated restaurants so our expectations coming in were quite high.

Often when you try things out that have been hyped up you get disappointed once you finally try it yourself, this was not the case with Gallery Restaurant - Hotel Holt.

Our waitress was very accommodating, she recommended a wine for us which turned out to be quite good. She described every meal we got and made sure to keep our glasses filled and smiles on our faces. The presentation of the food was quite good, some of the group actually ordered the same thing and both the presentation and cooking was consistent on all the dishes. I had the slow cooked rib-eye, medium-rare. It was cooked to perfection and the sauce was delicious. Pairing that up with the high class atmosphere that surrounds the dining room and the people I was with, I would venture to say that this was one of my better dining experiences.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GunniH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
“Disappointing meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were excited to eat here and made a reservation that was confirmed ahead of time. We arrived and the hostess seemed confused and had no knowledge of our reservation. The server was friendly but a bit awkward not knowledgable about the food nor the wine list. We ordered a bottle of wine and had to remind him to bring it out. The food was alright but not a good value, even considering that restaurants in Reykjavík tend to be a bit more expensive than in similar-sized cities. We had high hopes for this restaurant but ended the night disappointed because we spent a lot of money for a meal that wasn't very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Lovely food in elegant surrounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Quality restaurant that ensures good food at a reasonable to expensive price. Artistic surrounds and good service. Excellent wine list . Small tasting menu was a delight to enjoy..recommended

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kopavogur, Iceland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rather rude waitress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Me and my family were celebrating the graduation of my sister. The food was great and we had a wonderful time at the beautiful Hotel Holt. But our waitress was a late middle aged woman who was very rude. Se said a lot of inappropriate things and was not pelite. And she did not take it well that we had my three year old niece with us and she did not respect our wishes.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Guðrún H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing