We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely city & great host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guesthouse Odinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guesthouse Odinn
Ranked #14 of 106 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
D
1 review
“Lovely city & great host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, accommodation was spotless, bright and charming in a central location. Good breakfast. Host could not have been more helpful and flexible to help us with our travel demands. Would recommend to anyone and would certainly go back again. Thank you for a lovely first stay in Iceland
Christine (Scotland)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    35
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
33
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Guesthouse Òðinn is in a wonderful location, walking distance from everything in the old part of Reykjavík. We stayed two separate times, once in the main building and once in the back. Both rooms were nice with convenient kitchen facilities attached. Ólafur and his family were very nice and accommodating, and the morning breakfast is a treat. Free street parking is very close and we always found a spot not more than a few hundred feet away. We’d gladly stay there again and highly recommend Guesthouse Òðinn as a beautiful place to stay in Reykjavík.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBenevides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed 6 days at Guesthouse Odinn in a room for 3. The rooms and facility were always very clean, the daily breakfast more than adequate, and the host both friendly and helpful. The Guesthouse is only two blocks from the main downtown shopping streets of Reykjavik and 4 blocks from the landmark Hallgrimskirkja Church which can help lead you "home" after a day or night around the town. We were always able to find a parking space for our rental car within 1-2 blocks of the Guesthouse, and usually right in front of it. We arrived in Reykjavik at 9:00 a.m. and our room was ready and and we were "checked in" without having to wait until the afternoon. This was an added benefit after a long flight from the.USA. Highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kent835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Very nice guesthouse, good breakfast, excellent kitchen facilities, clean and comfortable.
Though we arrived quite late in the night, the host had arranged for us to enter his guesthouse easily. We left our luggage with him for three days, during our hike in Landmannalaugar and found everything back at our return. The host even had the kindness to carry mine upstairs.
This guesthouse is definitly worth its price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripflo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

My teenage son and I spent three perfectly comfortable nights at Guesthouse Odinn at the end of August. We arrived very very late from New York City on a Thursday night and were graciously greeted by our host, Olafur, despite the horribly inconvenient hour. (We learned that it is a very good idea to inform Olafur of an off hour arrival time before arrival!) Our room was located in the rear cottage fronted by a wonderful garden. It was perfectly clean and totally cozy. We were amazed to be in such a quiet spot right in the center of Reykjavik, central to many cultural and historic sites. Breakfast was delicious and ample. Olafur was very helpful with local insights and suggestions. We will happily return to Guesthouse Odinn on our next -- hopefully soon -- visit to Rekjavik.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Odinn, 4 one night stays and each time we left , we were able to store luggage with the owner till we reappeared. The place was immaculate and the breakfasts were very good. Plus the owner was helpful. He stayed up till 1:30am to let us in when we arrived on a very late flight.

The only warning I would give would be to not have rooms on the street side if you are staying there on a Friday or Saturday night - way too noisy with all the bar carousers going by.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on the street side on a Friday or Saturday night - or bring very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I found this guesthouse on trip advisor and glad I chose it. Olafur is a wonderful host, quiet but very friendly. The guesthouse is impeccably clean. The rooms are basic and comfy. Breakfast offered a wide selection even for the vegetarians. Guests also have access to a full kitchen. We went to the local market and cooked dinner last night. Location could not be any better. Walk down Odinsgata and you are in the heart of everything. If you want an affordable option instead of an expensive hotel, stay here. Hope to return again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top level. You may here street noise if revelers are out, otherwise it was quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HennaHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#17 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Hotel Holt
#11 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Odinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Odinn

Property: Guesthouse Odinn
Address: Odinsgata 9, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Odinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing