We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient accommodation”
Review of Odinn Reykjavik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Odinn Reykjavik
Ranked #16 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very convenient accommodation”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

When we were in Iceland in August we stayed 4 nights at this guesthouse. It was very convenient and close to the centre of town but in a quiet street. Breakfast was provided each day. It was clean and comfortable.

I would recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mally123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    36
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
33
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you pick the wrong place to stay in Reykjavik on a summer weekend, you may not get much sleep. The city's weekend party scene is boisterous and lasts all night. The Guesthouse Odinn, just off Skolavordustigur, one of the nicest streets in the city, is friendly and clean. Olafur is a gold mine of information. I plan to stay there again my next trip to Iceland.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We started our visit to Iceland here. It was in a great location with very quiet and comfortable rooms. It is being renovated and should have an excellent breakfast room when it is done. Nice view of the church from our room. Very friendly owner.

Room Tip: Ask for the private facilities on level two, facing the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bresley51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Guesthouse Odinn. It is an ideal central location. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there are good kitchen facilities available. The owner is very friendly and helpful, assisting us with bookings and information. Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A lovely place to spend a night... friendly owner, beautifully designed rooms, private baths, and a very clean and cozy place. They don't take credit cards, but accept just about anything else. The location is in the heart of central Reykjavik and there is plenty of free parking on the streets nearby. Wished we'd have been able to stay for the breakfast (darned early flights!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragtimeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Pros: Amazing location, really can't be better. Parking isn't an issue either. Clean, comfortable beds. Bathrooms are clean. Wifi works well.

Cons: Needs some WD-40. Everything creaks and if you have noisy people near you they can and will keep you up.

Breakfast is ok, nothing amazing but being included is a plus. Nice place to stay for a few days.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Guesthouse Odinn was our first accommodation in Reykjavik and we were very impressed. We spent three nights here.

The location is good, up on the hill near Hallgrimskirkja, which is a great navigational beacon for finding you way home. It provided a great base for exploring that end of town.

Our host, Olafur, was a quiet guy but very attentive and helpful. When I wanted to change our check in time to later in the evening to accommodate a stop at the Blue Lagoon on the way from the airport he was fine about that.

The room was spotless, warm and light and cosy. All blonde wood, white and pale blue. The beds were comfortable and best of all it was SILENT, meaning we could get a great sleep after our long haul flight from the other side of the world. Our room had a little balcony as well which caught the sun and was protected from the wind, and it was lovely to sit out there on nice days.

The breakfast was substantial and had plenty of choice. First time I have tried surmjolk (sour milk) and I liked it!

We would definitely recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riggergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,163 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
573 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,748 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odinn Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odinn Reykjavik

Property: Odinn Reykjavik
Address: Odinsgata 9, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly Guesthouse Odinn)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Óðinn Reykjavík is a independent Hotel and Tour Operator in Reykjavík, Iceland. Specialized in creating the dream vacation for small groups an families. Óðinn Reykjavík runs a luxury apartment hotel in the heart of Reykjavík. Furthermore we provide our guests with the option of creating a mesmerizing sightseeing tour in Iceland, driven in a brand new Mercedes Sprinter with panorama windows. Our tours are known for creating a cozy an friendly atmosphere during the tours as well as for the spontaneous stops along the road, allowing our guests to get to know secret spots in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Odinn Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing