We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”
Review of Odinn Reykjavik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Odinn Reykjavik
Ranked #15 of 107 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

He'd a fabulous time staying at the guest house. The kitchen facilities had all the things that you would plus more. Everything was very clean, no dirt anywhere. It has a great location, close to everything by walking. I would recommend this guest house to everyone I know. Please stay here you will have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

A friendly, family-run guesthouse in central Reykjavik. It's bright, clean and well-maintained. The rooms are compact (as is typical of the Icelandic guesthouse). Breakfast is served in a lovely, sunny (over summer, I haven't experienced winter!) room, a very pleasant start to the day. We've stayed here several times before, and rate it the best guesthouse we've stayed in, in all of Iceland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kwementyaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We really liked staying at this quiet and hospitable B&B. We got the apartment down the street from the main Guesthouse and despite a midnight arrival from London, we were warmly greeted and shown to our rooms. The lodging is very convenient for the bus station, car rentals, and excellent shopping in the city center.

The apartment was clean, spacious, and had a kitchenette, no small thing in this very expensive city. We were able to self-cater during our four-day stay, and Ólafur was a wonderful host to us. We had a good breakfast every morning and advice about our travels. We plan to return to Iceland for another holiday, and this will be our place in Reykjavik once more!

Room Tip: If you plan to self-cater, be mindful of the EARLY closing hours of Icelandic supermarkets. Get to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OlVirginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My family of 4 stayed just 2 nights at this beautifully appointed little guest house. We shared a family room, which was a bit tight, but had everything needed, comfortable beds, a wardrobe, and desk. Room had hardwood floors, simple but bright furnishings. Wifi was excellent. Bathroom was shared which was only a problem once, when another guest's child decided to hide out and play video games there (quickly resolved). With a little bit of assertiveness the bathroom sharing isn't an issue. Having a kitchen available to us was very nice; we found that restaurants in Iceland are crazy expensive so we bought groceries and packed snacks and lunch. Continental breakfasts were very good, and as with most B&Bs they allow a chance to meet other guests and exchange travel tips.

Parking was problematic; you may have to drive around a bit to find a spot. But you don't need a car in downtown; restaurants, grocery, shops, the waterfront, church, are all within easy walking distance. We did like having the car though; we went to a lovely swimming pool, and a few other places in town that were further away.

Overall a very nice guesthouse in a nice part of town. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sugismama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had reserved a single room with private bath and a balcony. I ended up with a very small single room on the main floor next to the entry way, with the bathroom adjacent to a room outside the bedroom room that was a kitchen which was shared with two other rooms, although they were not occupied so it was in fact a "private" bathroom. In the room was a low, small single mattress with a light duvet and flat pillow on top, and a small table with a small chair. The room was literally next to the sidewalk at street level and apparently on a bus route as I heard people walking by with roller bags at all hours. The breakfast was on the third floor and, as reported by others, was unremarkable and the same every day: coldcuts, sliced cheese, dry cereal, juice, coffee, a piece of fruit, and make your own toast. The owner/manager was very accommodating and helpful. The guesthouse is ideally located. Just ask specific questions about your room before you book so you know exactly what you are getting. One other inconvenience is that payment is only acceptable IN CASH.

Room Tip: Ask questions about your room: size, location, bedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frqtrvlr09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Room with ensuite modern and comfortable.Breakfast more than adequate. Olafur, the manager,was friendly and very helpful when we had to rebook our flights due to the aircraft mechanic's strike. Close to downtown,could walk everywhere.Separate kitchen was a bonus if one wanted to cook your own meals or make lunches.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We enjoyed 6 nights in a wonderful 2 bedroom apartment managed by Guesthouse Odin. It is a short walk from the main guesthouse. Olafur, the manager, was very helpful. The apartment was well appointed with wired and wi-fi internet access, a full kitchen, and a washing machine (no dryer). Reyjkjavik was a delightful city with friendly people, good food, and little light in December. Our only regret was not bringing Yaktrax (trademark for over the shoe ice traction aids). We will return near the summer solstice in a future year

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northern_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,187 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
600 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odinn Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odinn Reykjavik

Address: Odinsgata 9, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly Guesthouse Odinn)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: £221 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Óðinn Reykjavík is a independent Hotel and Tour Operator in Reykjavík, Iceland. Specialized in creating the dream vacation for small groups an families. Óðinn Reykjavík runs a luxury apartment hotel in the heart of Reykjavík. Furthermore we provide our guests with the option of creating a mesmerizing sightseeing tour in Iceland, driven in a brand new Mercedes Sprinter with panorama windows. Our tours are known for creating a cozy an friendly atmosphere during the tours as well as for the spontaneous stops along the road, allowing our guests to get to know secret spots in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Odinn Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing