We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, simple, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, simple, clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

If you've looked into it at all, you already know that Iceland is INCREDIBLY expensive. Nonetheless, the country is absolutely magical in that around every corner there is something amazing to be seen or experienced. It really is a must-see country in my opinion. It was because of this breathtaking beauty that my husband and I decided to take a road-trip around Iceland and our first stop was Reykjavik. In order to keep our costs down we decided to hostel it where possible and the HI Downtown Hostel was our first stop.

We had one of the double rooms with private bathroom and it was great. It was impeccably clean and was a great first stop for us on our epic adventure around the country. They offer a decent breakfast spread for additional money, and will let you store your luggage at the front desk while you await check-in if needed. The staff also are willing to talk to you about options in the area for food or entertainment. I would recommend either securing your HI membership beforehand (can take a bit of time so be mindful of that) or purchasing it on-site--it saved us quite a bit of money in the long run around the country.

Moreover, they were incredible in helping me track down a very important item that I had left in the room and would have been devastated if they had not found it. I will forever be grateful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    150
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
114
169
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This downtown hostel is just located in a quiet street next to the crowd area, easy steps to restaurants/shops. We stayed in the 10 beds dorm, the room is very large with a bathroom inside. But the locker cannot be used as it only fits a particular size of lock, we 6 people have 4 locks but only 1 can fit the locker. The common kitchen is well equipped, but wifi cannot be connected in room nor the kitchen even there's a router there. The hostel is well maintained and clean. They provide free blanket, but if you need linen, it needs extra charge, of course it's common to have your own sleeping bag travelling in Iceland

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tofudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed for two days August 30-31. Clean well run hostel. Very friendly, helpful and patient staff. I had a 4 person room with bathroom. Room faced an interior courtyard so was very quiet. Plenty of space in the room, with a locker which was convenient. Continental breakfast was quite basic. All-in-all a good place to stay in Reykjavik. Will be back in two weeks for another two nights prior to departing Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestcoastPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Liked this hostel nothing to complain about.
the kitchen was clean and comfortable.
The room was clean and bathroom was fine.

only small warning is that the dorm room that i stayed in, didnt have locks on the lockers, when i tried to use my own lock, but the locker was too thick so normal locks don't always work.

But it was great. I checked out the sister hostel Reykjavik Loft hostel. I liked the view from there and location, i would recommend there also

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahmaob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

This hostel is in a strategic location literarily in the middle of the best restaurants, bars, and clubs of Reykjavik.

We spent one night in a double room enclosure with private bathroom facing the sea. It was bright, spacious, and very clean. The whole hostel is very modern and looks new or recently renovated. The staff was nice and helpful and there was free WiFi everywhere.

The price was in line with other similar accommodations in the area. However, we had to pay an additional fee per person as non-members of Hostelling International. Since the surcharge is per night, if you're staying for a few days or you're planning to sleep in other hostels during your trip it's recommended that you buy a HI membership card instead (it can be purchased at the hostel).

Overall, the Downtown Hostel is a very good choice for a short stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Very welcoming en friendly staff. They offered to make phonecalls about our lost luggage. Perfect location, in the city center. Nice,clean room with our own neat shower en toilet. We even had seaview. Good boxspring bed in our 2 bedded rooms with. Warm, cosy kitchen in the backyard where we cooked our dinner. This place makes me feel happy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonvdZalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This hostel is well located, close to the harbour, vlose to the main shopping/tourist area without being right in the centre of it. The staff is helpful and efficient. There is a sitting area next to the lobby, where you can buy coffee/tea. I stayed in a dorm and it was surprisingly quiet. The communal kitchen and the rooms are very clean. Most importantly if you go in the summer, the curtains are thick enough to block the sunlight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MlleBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Property: Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Address: Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Reykjavik Downtown Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hostel, recently voted by guests as the Best HI Hostel worldwide 2015. A beautiful boutique HI Hostel, ECO certified**, modern, comfortable and welcoming. Located stone's throw from the old harbor and the city cultural center, in a quiet residential street. Facilities include a kitchen for guests, lounges and a Cafe. Laundry facilities and luggage storage on the site. Fast and free WI-FI across all areas. Free Computer access. Board games, children's corner. Movie nights. Hearty breakfast buffet with waffles and organic & vegan options. A wide selection of great rooms! Free linen is included in all rooms. Spacious shared/female only 10 bedded dorm rooms with en suite facilities and lockers (bring your own lock or buy one at the desk). Family rooms for up to 5 persons with en suite facilities and lockers. Comfortable twin/double rooms with shared or private facilities (towels included). No elevator in the building. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe : open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the City inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All excursions, Car Rentals and Airport trips are bookable with free pickup / drop off. **Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is Eco Certified with the Nordic Swan. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough sustainability policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reykjavik Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing