We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good alternative to hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value, good alternative to hotel”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here in a 2 bed en-suite room for 4 nights. Friendly staff, clean facilities and a short walking distance to city center. The prices are a good alternative to a hotel, especially if you book a private room with a bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    152
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
114
169
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

With age one begins a bit more hesitant to staying in party-going hostels or run the risk of a loud snorer in the dorm, however after seeing the prices of hotels in Reykjavik we decided to stay in a private room (+ bathroom) in a hostel instead. We really enjoyed our stay!

The rooms was very spacious with a desk and two chairs and good heating plus the bathroom was also very large and clean. Great if you're a couple on a budget. The room was also very quiet (we stayed on the ground floor)

The kitchen was well-equipped and organised! The staff were EXCELLENT. Very friendly and helpful.

A small note: While we really enjoyed our stay here, as a couple, I'm not sure if this hostel is a good place for solo travellers (I could be wrong..). The reason I say this is because there was no cosy communal area with a TV area or relaxing area to unwind. Yes, there is the seating area which is part of the lobby (which is good!) but I don't know how conductive the arrangement is to meeting new people. Not a biggie though - I imagine most of the time is spent outside of the hostel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hools007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here this week and stayed in a 10-bed female dorm. We checked in as early as possible (2 pm) and got first pick of the beds, which was nice. The room seemed completely empty until around 11 pm and five other girls came in. The internet access there was perfect, the staff was wonderful, and the coffee is great. The fact that you either have to pay for parking between 10 am and 6 pm is kind of a bummer, especially since our credit cards didn't work with the machines (coins worked). You can find a place to park down the road for free, though.
It's very clean, and the only complaint I have is about one of the girls snoring incredibly loud all night, but that isn't anybody's fault and is always a risk when dorming. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Apparently no one travels to Iceland in January, because I ended up in a 10 person room by myself! The room was spacious, clean and they provided a good blanket to keep you warm on the cold January nights. The restroom facilities were also very clean. The whole place seemed fairly on the newer side.

While the actual hostel itself was wonderful, I honestly cannot say enough words of praise about the staff working there (especially those at the front desk). They were beyond helpful, providing recommendations on places to eat, calling tour companies for me (unfortunately, I don't speak Icelandic), and making suggestions on things to explore in the city of Reykjavik.

When I return to Iceland, I will automatically be booking my stay here and I will not even consider another place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I don't mind staying in hostels at all, I have done the whole travelling thing. However when your travelling with your other half, it is always better to get a double room! Luckily, this hostel offers those, at an excellent price for the City, and they seem to be brand new. The bathroom is an en-suite and good enough I would have it in my own house. The room isn't huge, but when you shouldn't be in Iceland to stay in your room all day, so no problems with that either. There is a seat and a small (very small) table, as well as an area to hang clothes. everything you need really. There is also a mini communual kitchen on the floors with double rooms, which I think is shared between 4 double rooms.
Things to note - there is no elevator. Not really an issue, but I did have quite a few bags! Really central - about a 4 minute walk to the main streets in the city, but in a quiet residential area. They do the thing where they give you two single duvets, instead of one double - weird more than anything!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingBallerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otterlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Generally nice and warm hostel staff who are able to help with sightseeing bookings and eating recommendations. A shoutout to the cool dude who is usually on night shift- thanks for making those hot drinks during the cold nights.

It's not located in the area of laugavegur street (where all the shopping and noise is, even though it's just a short 10mins walk away) but it's very close to the harbour and other lovely restaurants like the Sea Baron. Plus, there is an elf rock residing near to the hostel!

Some minor complaints: heater in the bathroom and w/c wasn't warm enough, also there is no tv in the common area/ double room, and no lifts in this hostel too- so good strength training for you if you have heavy baggage and are assigned a room on level 4.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallflower69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

It's cheaper, in a better location than most of the expensive hotels and has a kitchen you can use. The rooms are clean and tidy, as is the rest of the hostel. The staff are great and will ring up to book anything you like. Free wifi was useful, our room had a great view out over the harbour and mountains.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tomepuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Property: Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Address: Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Reykjavik Downtown Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hostel, voted by guests as the Best HI Hostel worldwide 2015. A beautiful boutique HI Hostel, ECO certified**, modern, comfortable and welcoming. Located stone's throw from the old harbor and the city cultural center, in a quiet residential street. Facilities include a fully equipped kitchen for guests, lounges and a Cafe. Laundry facilities and luggage storage on the site. Fast and free WI-FI across all areas. Free Computer access. Board games, children's corner. Hearty breakfast buffet with organic & vegan options. A wide selection of great rooms! Free linen is included in all rooms. Spacious shared/female only 10 bedded dorm rooms with en suite facilities and lockers (bring your own lock or buy one at the desk). Family rooms for up to 5 persons with en suite facilities and lockers. Comfortable twin/double rooms with shared or private facilities (towels included). No elevator in the building. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe : open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the City inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All excursions, Car Rentals and Airport trips are bookable with free pickup / drop off. **Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is Eco Certified with the Nordic Swan. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough sustainability policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reykjavik Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing