We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic

I traveled with Hawk of Nature Explorers in October, 2018. It was an amazing trip. Hawk took us... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Mark P
,
Falmouth, Massachusetts
5 Day Icelandic Adventure

We had the most amazing adventure with Nature Explorer on our Super Jeep tour! We experienced way... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Kab1221
,
Parkville, Missouri
via mobile
Read all 255 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Reykjavik
from US$102.00
More Info
from US$287.81
More Info
from US$112.00
More Info
from US$82.00
More Info
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
246
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
246
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews super jeep private tour golden circle photography workshop northern lights nissan patrol off road day tour driver guide langjokull glacier always felt safe excellent driver driving skills ice tunnel deep snow glacier experience amazing tour
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night break in Iceland from 1st-5th December. Having never been to Iceland before we decided to use an agency and choose Nature Explorer due to best value prices. We are very happy with our decision. Kristrun was very helpful from the start of booking and answered all my queries, until the completion and after service of the holiday. Communications were excellent and the hotels and vehicle that they choose for us were perfect.

She prepared an itinerary for us which covered all the major waterfalls, lagoons, glaciers etc in the South of Iceland from Reykjavik to Jokulsarlon and back via the Golden Circle. I had advised her where husband and I wanted to visit due to photography and she ensured we didn't miss out on anything. We felt that we saw as much as possible of Iceland in the 4 days that we had due to this perfect itinerary. We were provided with a mobile telephone and a GPS system which provided some comfort in a very icy and snowy Iceland, especially when in the midst of nowhere.

All in all a fantastic company whom I would use in the future and would recommend to everyone.

We are hoping for a return visit very soon :) Thank you Nature Explorer for providing us with a perfect service and a very enjoyable holiday.

Date of experience: December 2013
2  Thank Lisa2374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had an amazing tour of Landmannaluagar and Hekla with Nature Explorer and driver guide Ingi. It was the best tour we had in Iceland, and to think of it, the best day tour we've ever had! It felt special being the only two on the trip so had the freedom to go at our own pace. Ingi was great at answering all our questions as well as giving us fascinating information about Iceland, it's history and geology.

The scenery was utterly breathtaking and we felt privileged to be able to see it in this way, there was a light dusting of snow which contrast beautifully with the black volcanic ash. I sat in front so had an incredible view and took a lot of pictures. We stopped at a fantastic viewpoints including a double waterfall and a crater lake. Ingi also let us stop on demand when the photo op was too good to miss. The whole tour was well paced and we never felt rushed. The 'destination' stop was bathing in the Hot Spring at Landmannaluagar, a fantastic experience you shouldn't miss. We asked if we could walk a little to see the multicoloured hills and Ingi arranged it for us.

The car was comfortable, clean and we felt 100% safe with Ingi driving. All the booking arrangements etc were perfect and friendly. I would definitely recommend Nature Explorer to anyone.

Date of experience: October 2013
3  Thank Leon1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were a group of 5 in a 2 day tour for a visit to Landmannalaugar and Thörsmork. The vehicle was pulling an extra cart for our luggage, which made the trip more comfortable for the 5th person of our group in the third row, which otherwise would had been a little tight. In case someone plans to make a similar tour, keep in mind the 5th and 6th passengers in the third row of the vehicle would have little chance for photography. Nature Explorer does have other proper vehicles at higher cost though. The optimum group size for that vehicle is 4. Our guide Jonsi was excellent, very passionate about Iceland´s nature and very skilled while driving through these roads that are not recommended for a different kind of vehicle. Service prior to booking and during the tour was great and very responsive.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank thetravelerabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We just returned from a fabulous trip to Iceland that would not have been possible without Nature Explorer and our wonderful guide, Asi. There were 6 of us, and we booked a 5-day, 4-night customized tour. We sent a list of our "must sees" and a list of "nice to sees." I don't think we missed a single thing on either list, including the Aurora. The 9-passenger super jeep can go anywhere! We drove over snow, lava fields, through rivers and thick, black sand, up rocks and onto glaciers. Asi was very knowledgeable of both the geology and history of Iceland. Our accommodations in the countryside were lovely, and Asi always found a place for lunch that offered choices for everyone. Please don't try to see Iceland on your own in winter. Hire a driver/guide who knows how to drive under any weather conditions and has a vehicle that can do it. If you stay on the ring road, you will see lovely views but miss the real experience that is Iceland. I highly recommend Nature Explorers!

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank bkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This super jeep tour is a great way to see the Golden Circle. Our guide, Ingi, did everything he could to make our trip both exciting and informative. I highly recommend this 8 hour tour to anyone who visits Iceland. It is the best way to capture the beauty of the country (especially if you are there for only a short period of time). Nature Explorer Tours clearly takes pride in their Customer Service and their Country.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank LOOM650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews