We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and free”

Nautholsvik Geothermal Beach
Ranked #46 of 179 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Pleasant and free”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hot pool is lovely if it is not crowded. There is also a steam room. There was some sort of locals event when we attended where they all went swimming in the sea!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AKWShix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    70
    24
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unusual for Iceland”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Moroccan sand looks a little out of place but it's a fun place to visit. The hot tub was very crowded and we did not get in. We walked down to the beach and the water was warmer than the open ocean but not warm enough to entice us to get in. It was a chilly day and we had our coats on but the Icelanders may as well have been on a beach in southern California. The beach is right next to the airport so you'll get the occasional plane taking off or landing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank switchflare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Summer chills in iceland”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Never expected a beach in iceland. This is not a tourist spot but i can foresee it turning to be touristy in the future. The hot tub was even better than the one i had in swimming pool for its temp and atmosphere. P.s. Kids can play with the sand here with toys provided.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Hollis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great stop for little ones”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We didn't go in the water, but did walk down to the geothermal beach while we were in Reykjavik. We were traveling with 2 toddlers and they were so happy to run around and enjoy the playground in the sand (there was a little boat, house, slide and some toys to spin around on). Nice little spot. Seemed like more of a local attraction as opposed to a tourist attraction. If you're only there for a short visit, not a necessity, but if you are traveling with kids and want to let them run and play for awhile, this does the trick.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lwny427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
212 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Sandy beach, hot pots by the sea”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We walked here on a lovely sunny morning and the beach had been open for about a week.

We just used the loos and bought an ice-cream from the kiosk but the beach looked clean and was well patronised. A number of people were soaking in a long rectangular warm pool whilst the hot pot set in the sea (and supplied with warm water) was also well patronised. A couple of young ladies did gingerly try the sea but soon jumped back into the hot pot.

There were beach games and seats available as well as refreshments so looks well worth a visit when open

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SwordMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nautholsvik Geothermal Beach also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
South Region, Iceland
 

Been to Nautholsvik Geothermal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing