We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and cheap!”
Review of Nudluskalin

Nudluskalin
Ranked #116 of 463 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$11
Cuisines: Fast food, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout
Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Delicious and cheap!”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Wonderful noodle dishes and staff located on the main street in Reykjavik. About USD20 for two meals - it doesn't get cheaper than that in Iceland. Great food options and healthy. A nice local feel and friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexBuckFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    63
    21
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real suprise”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We just walked in to have some quick snack.
And I have never had such great soup, we really didn't expect much, but we were in a tread.
Best 10$ lunch I have ever had.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shara_NewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious noodles, but don't expect spicy”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The three of us are into really spicy food - Therefore we thought the menu item with six chili peppers next to it would be pretty spicy. Instead we ended up adding chili vinegar to it in order to get any kind of heat. We had to laugh a little bit that they thought this was spicy. It was undetectable in my 3-chili curry noodle dish.
The flavors were great, however. We got three big bowls of noodles for a reasonable price. This is exactly the lunch we were hoping for. I don't think my chicken was very high quality, but the broth was delicious which is why I'm giving it five stars.
Nudluskalin is not open during dinner hours, so be sure to stop by for lunch!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eggbertshootsfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 707 helpful votes
“Delicious, Friendly, and Affordable - Loved It”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We happened upon this place because we had just paid $80 the night before for a below average meal and were tired and just wanted something quick and easy. Man, it was GOOD! They have a nice selection of noodle dishes that are offered on an English menu (at the counter) with clear indication of ingredients and spiciness. For about $18 we got 2 huge bowls filled with meat and vegetables and really good sauce. The staff were friendly and they cooked everything up right in front of you. Complimentary water and glasses available (no alcohol for purchase here, but soda is available). We finished eating in about 20 minutes and were stuffed and saved a lot of money. We were tempted to go again but wanted to try new places, but this one was a true find.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank usflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful noodle dishes”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We walked by this place the day before, and the windows were so steamed up we could not see in & I thought the restaurant was closed. A couple days later we were walking around and able to see in - glad we stopped here for a light dinner. There are many choices of noodle soup type meals, and also noodle dishes if you want to skip the soup. They have menus printed in English as well as Icelandic! Lovely fresh ingredients, dishes full of fresh chopped veggies, with lots of ginger, lime juice and peanuts. Filling, healthy and quite inexpensive. The noodles were not the fat udon types noodles, looked more like chow mein or yakisoba type noodles. The space to dine in is quite small, with high tables and very very low backed chairs. Many locals stopping in during the time we were there, most got take out. We ate in the restaurant, it was not too cozy but still ok.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tink360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nudluskalin also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Nudluskalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing