We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable guest house in the heart of Reykjavik”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Skolabru Guesthouse
Ranked #49 of 107 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Affordable guest house in the heart of Reykjavik”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Similar to other reviews, we found the accommodations to be just what we needed for a one night stopover in Reykjavik. The location and price can't be beat. Our tour driver could not find the house so he called the owner for us. As the owner knew that we had arrived, he walked over to make sure we got in ok. Had we not called, I don't think we would have seen any management. The house claims to have wireless, but we could only access the hotspot one time, which was extremely frustrating as there was no one around to help us. The "check-out" process is non-existent. You just leave and leave the room key in the door, which we didn't feel entirely comfortable about. There was one shared bathroom on the upstairs level where our room was located. The floor flooded from the shower, but was otherwise adequate. The room itself (#3) was very spacious and well decorated (twin beds) with a nice side balcony. Yes, there was noise at night (Saturday), but it was expected and we had ear plugs waiting. Would recommend overall, but try to get the owner to meet you when you arrive and help you figure out the wireless.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    42
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
39
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

This guesthouse was a real treat - absolutely spotless, very nice rooms, great common rooms, loads of information for travellers, and the location could not be better. The owner was extremely kind and helpful, and it was great to hear about the history of the 1912 Guesthouse (it was a doctor's house and office). On top of it all, it was great value! Thanks, and we will be back, for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sarah52470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

The location is fabulous, and my room was clean and comfortable. I found it a good value and would stay here again. I left an article of clothing behind, and Richard kindly mailed it to me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easto_79
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed for 1 night on August 2nd, 2011. The location was perfect, right behind the main entertainment street. All bars and resturants were all within a 5 min walk. The rooms were clean and the beds were nice. Towels were included in the price. The kitcken was very clean and lots of room in the fridge. There was lots of free maps in the living room. The bathroom was fine, but I did notice the hot water was week when another shower was in use.
We never saw any staff but they had emailed us all the details of the room and entry code to the house so there was no need. I would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Get there early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank easto_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

the guesthouse is nice and we got a decently sized room with a shared bathroom.
we've been moved to a room in the lower ground floor (that was a bit disappointing) as a result of booking problems; however the staff has been so nice to grant us a considerable discount on the agreed price.
the house is right in the centre of reykjavik and makes it easy to explore the city on foot.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giomagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inishowen Peninsula, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed here for just two nights and was really sorry to leave. Reykjavik is such a wonderful city and it needs so much more than 3 short days. 1912 Guesthouse is in a great location, 2 minutes' walk from Iceland Excursions (important for those early-morning trip departures), the main shopping streets, lots of cafes, bars, restaurants, supermarkets and bakeries, and about 15 minutes' walk from the main bus station. I did experience a lot of noise from the neighbouring bar on my second night, but Kristian (forgive me if I got your name wrong) sorted it out without me even having to complain, and there was a very nice apology email in my inbox the following morning. I was upgraded to a better room without even asking, and when I checked I was given a map and tips on what to see and do. The kitchen is great, fully equipped and a nice way to save a few Krona, and the house is really clean and secure. As a solo female I couldn't have felt safer anywhere. I'm looking forward to my next visit already.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devotchka83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

This is a true gem. The location is wonderful (very centrally located), the rooms are large and comfortable and Richard is fantastic. If you're going to Reykjavik stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fltmazzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik Rental Guesthouse
Reykjavik Rental Guesthouse
#51 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#23 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Centric Guesthouse
#39 of 107 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#3 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skolabru Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skolabru Guesthouse

Property: Skolabru Guesthouse
Address: Skolabru 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly 1912 Guest House)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Skolabru Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 Guest House - Statutory Cited, Listed as: building of Special Architectural and Historic Interest. 1912 Guest House is perfectly located in the center of Reykjavik, next to the parliament of Iceland (Alþingi), 60 second walk to the city's main restaurants, cafes, clubs, art museums, galleries and shops. We offer luxury accommodation, clean, comfortable and recently refurbished. 9 twin rooms, 3 singles and 4 bathrooms. Breakfast upon request, delivered straight to the room. Whether you're staying one night, several days or just want to spend a romantic weekend in the heart of Reykjavik, the owners and staff will do everything to help make your stay truly memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skolabru Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing