We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean, spartan, quiet clientele”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skolabru Guesthouse
Ranked #53 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The 1912 is in a fantastic and fairly quiet location -- within a block of the center of downtown Reykjavik. The rooms and shared bathrooms are kept very clean and its clientele are polite and quiet. No fault of the 1912 Guest House, but we decided that, as "late middle-agers", we want a little more luxury in the place where we stay.

Room Tip: There is a shared bathroom on each of the 2 floors. The upstairs bathroom has a small shower which...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Skolabru Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

The 1912 Guest House offers an amazing location just around the corner from the Icelandic Parliament. It is readily walkable to all sorts of sights in Rejkjavik -- and is a value for the price. It can be a little hard to sleep, given that the curtains are relatively sheer and it never gets really dark in the summer, but the beds are comfortable and almost make up for the lack of dark.

Room Tip: Be warned, the 1912 Guest house is a little tricky to find since it does not have a big sign.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have stayed at 1912 Guest House every year for the past 5 years and have never been disappointed. The villa is perfectly located in the center of the city and in walking distance to everything. The rooms are spacious, bright, and beautifully appointed. The same is true for the common area, including the large shared kitchen and the bathrooms. I have stayed at hotels in Reykjavik as well, but nothing beats the location and the charm of 1912 Guest House. Richard also happens to be a fantastic host, with plenty of information about the town and its attractions and restaurants. He will give you great recommendations on where to eat and then call his friends at the restaurant to make sure you get a table even at the last minute. All around 100% recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is an acceptable guest house in Reykjavik. Most of my issues were based on the fact that its a guest house, which means a shared bathroom and a noisy common room. Basically, somewhere between a hostel and a B&B. That being the case, its not the worst guest house, as its very clean, and the owner is helpful and friendly. Since your enjoyment is at the whims of the other guests, I think I would prefer spending a little more of a hotel next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winston K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We are return patrons. We appreciated the cleanliness, the deluxe, firm mattresses, the spacious kitchen area, the proximity to the center of town, the host Richard's friendliness and helpfulness. Redwings regaled us with their beautiful songs till the wee hours of the morning. We would stay here a third time if we were in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed in the 1912 Guesthouse over April for the annual CCP EVE Fanfest, and the rest of our group stayed with us as recommended by those who visited last year (Yeah that's you Cameron). It was an excellent location in the city, being no more than 5 minutes walk to Harpa, as well as the main street restaurants and bars - making it very convenient for anything we wanted to do. Richard was very welcoming to our entire group, and made a point of personally meeting us and introducing himself - an act that is all too often missed in other resident locations, but always appreciated. The cost of the rooms was entirely reasonable, and I felt I got my moneys worth within the first few hours of being there! The rooms were immaculate, and exactly as shown in the pictures online, and the house was extremely comfortable: getting a perfect nights sleep was an easy task in such a good house. I would recommend this place to anyone, regardless of your trip length, as it was a place where I truly felt at home. I will be returning next April without delay, and I look forward to spending longer in the 1912 Guesthouse

Excellent all around!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_Bremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#14 of 108 in Reykjavik
110 reviews
Centric Guesthouse
#42 of 108 in Reykjavik
100 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 108 in Reykjavik
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alba Guesthouse
#45 of 108 in Reykjavik
148 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#4 of 108 in Reykjavik
403 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik Rental Guesthouse
Reykjavik Rental Guesthouse
#55 of 108 in Reykjavik
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skolabru Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skolabru Guesthouse

Address: Skolabru 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly 1912 Guest House)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: £97 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Skolabru Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 Guest House - Statutory Cited, Listed as: building of Special Architectural and Historic Interest. 1912 Guest House is perfectly located in the center of Reykjavik, next to the parliament of Iceland (Alþingi), 60 second walk to the city's main restaurants, cafes, clubs, art museums, galleries and shops. We offer luxury accommodation, clean, comfortable and recently refurbished. 9 twin rooms, 3 singles and 4 bathrooms. Breakfast upon request, delivered straight to the room. Whether you're staying one night, several days or just want to spend a romantic weekend in the heart of Reykjavik, the owners and staff will do everything to help make your stay truly memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Skolabru Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing