We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming and quirky house!!”
Review of Our House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Our House
Certificate of Excellence
Manchteser, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming and quirky house!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had initially wanted to stay here however the first night was fully booked but we were fortunate enough to have been able to stay here for the next 2 nights! (which made our experience such a great one as the first place we stayed wasn't very good)

Bedda is an amazing person! After booking online, I was sent an email with a list of all the things to do in Reykjavik and another personalised one to confirm our arrival. We arrived at hers quite early and she was still in the midst of cleaning and the guests were having breakfast. The first thing that caught our attention was the place did look like a home! If you are looking for a 5 star hotel type of accommodation then this is definitely not for you however if like us you wanted to have a home away from home then this is definitely the place for you!

Though she was busy, she made an effort to take us around and explain everything to us! The welcome was amazing!! Won't spoil it for you but if you are reading this Bedda, you made us feel like we were your long lost friends, simply amazing!! We kept our bags there and went to explore the city! Its less than 5 minutes walk to the main shopping street Laugavegur and less than 10 minutes from there to the harbour area.

The next 2 days spent there was really nice, after a long day of walking around town we came back and put our feet up and relaxed in the living area while watching some tv. Maggi, the caretaker of the house was equally nice and friendly sharing his experiences of Iceland with us.

We even popped down to use the sauna! ^_^ We we also lucky in the sense where the was only another couple staying at that time, I guess if you had a full house it might seem a little but more packed and may have a queue to shower (though they do have 1 shower,bath and wc facility another separate wc and another separate shower with the sauna downstairs)

All in all, this is an amazing place and I will definitely come back and stay here!! Keep up the great work Bedda and I am sure to recommend our house to all my friends that will visit Reykjavik!! Love your energy too!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
58
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here last year as it was highly recommended by a friend.
As soon as you walk in you feel right at home. The house is lovely and warm, so clean and just really inviting.
When we return we will most definitely be staying here again.
There is a shop nearby (couple of minute walk)
Parking for one car.
Unfortunately we did not see the northern lights :-( but cannot blame our house for that)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambyth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed with Our house for a few days, coming into Reykjavik and leaving,,it was a most pleasant experience, our host would bend over backwards to help you out..try it , you won't be disappointed with this hostal. reasonable and clean and lovely..

Room Tip: stayed in two different rooms..all are quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harbour2956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

felt very emotional leaving here, truly felt like home especially with how well bedda takes care of her guests. if you are looking for a cozy place to stay rather than a large impersonal experience, you can't find anything better than this. awesome music on the turntable, delicious breakfast and snacks all day, a sauna, and the CLEANEST bathrooms of any hostel i've ever stayed in. location: phenomenal, rooms: comfortable, and cozy, energy/atmosphere: warm, welcoming, AMAZING. don't over think it, just book.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Our family of four (daughters 12 and 14) visited Iceland for the first time and stayed at Our House for 3 nights. We loved it! The location is close to everything, but on a dead-end street, so we were never bothered by noise or traffic. Bedda, the owner, is a hoot. She supplies EVERYTHING you could possibly need and more. As a former vacation rental owner, I was amazed at the well-thought out details. She supplies ear plugs, hangover medicine, shampoo, etc.

She takes photos of her guests on arrival and posts them in the common area, complete with names and home country. This makes it very easy to get to know fellow housemates. We shared the house with 6 travelers from Taiwan and 2 from the U.S.

Even though lots of different people were sharing the same house, the bathrooms were always spotless. Stay here! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4WornPassports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Can't believe I am just now writing a review for this place. Stayed here for 5 days the first week of July 2013. Was greeted by Ernesto, the caretaker. He gave me a warm welcome and tour of the guest house. It is well appointed, cozy and in a prime location (5 min walk to main downtown strip). I had the single guest room straight up the stairs.

The guest house (I don't want to call it a "Hostel" because it really isn't) is fantastic. Has two clean bathrooms, a nice kitchen, living room and other amenities (sauna, etc.). They use a color system to identify personal food items and communal items. There is a nice espresso machine for your use.

I can not say enough nice things of Bedda. She was kind, quirky, informative and helpful...all in the best of ways. She is a music nut (like myself) and knew I played guitar and one day brought over one of her personal guitars for me to strum. Bedda...THANK YOU again! I owe you a vinyl.

Iceland became a very personal, special place to me because of the experiences I had. I will be back for sure and will not stay anywhere other than Our House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
242 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Located near the cathedral, this hostel is in a great location. Bedda is so welcoming, and you can really make yourself at home here. Nice to meet other travelers and compare notes. It was the perfect place to land after being on the road.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 102 in Reykjavik
475 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#4 of 102 in Reykjavik
385 reviews
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#22 of 109 in Reykjavik
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa
#20 of 109 in Reykjavik
101 reviews
Miõborg
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
#33 of 102 in Reykjavik
97 reviews
Mengi Apartments Reykjavik
#21 of 109 in Reykjavik
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our House

Property: Our House
Address: Karastigur 12, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Our House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guesthouse is located right in the city centre, surrounded by quirky little shops, bars, cafés and museums. Kárastígur is a residential downtown side street only a few steps away from the main shopping street and the iconic Hallgrímskirkja church. We call it a guesthouse but you could also call it a hostel or a Bed and breakfast with more emphasis on the bed than the breakfast. We run it but the guests pretty much take care of themselves. You get your own key, the facilities are all included in the price, and all you have to do is make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Our House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing