We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hard life at sea”

Reykjavik Maritime Museum
Ranked #54 of 181 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: REYKJAVIK MARITIME MUSEUM - How the ocean formed a nation. A harbour museum exploring Iceland's dramatic relationship with the sea. The survival of a nation depended on generations of brave fishermen heading into the unknown. Over the centuries, methods of catching and working with fish transformed into a science that helped create a modern nation. Exhibitions and artefacts bring our ocean history to life, from battling the waves, to the 'Cod Wars' and beyond. Plus the chance to climb aboard the Oðinn, a 900-ton coastguard ship, with its own stories to tell. Reykjavik Maritime Museum is part of Reykjavik City Museum: one museum in five unique places. Oct – Nov 2017: Daily 10:00-17:00. Guided tours of the ship:13:00, 14:00 & 15:00. Dec 2017 – Jan 2018: Closed for renovations, but Oðinn will be open for guided tours. Guided tours of the ship: 11:00, 13:00, 14:00 & 15:00. Feb – June 2018: Daily 10:00-17:00. Guided tours of the ship:13:00, 14:00 & 15:00. Grandagarður 8, 101 Reykjavik
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This museum is about the life of fishermen and those working in the fishing industry in Iceland. There are lots of exhibits with plenty of information and the building itself (an old fish-freezing plant) is very beautifully modernised with a staircase built like one you'll find inside a lighthouse.
You will learn a lot about the different aspects of working on board or ashore and also about the changes modern technique brought to the fishing industry.

There's also a big part about the life of retired fishermen.

You can choose between "museum only" and a combined "museum and boat"-ticket.

Thank glaesmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cod wars"
in 109 reviews
"fishing industry"
in 72 reviews
"coast guard"
in 36 reviews
"fishing history"
in 31 reviews
"hard life"
in 9 reviews
"cod fishing"
in 9 reviews
"a day in the life"
in 8 reviews
"ship models"
in 6 reviews
"great britain"
in 5 reviews
"old harbour"
in 18 reviews
"icelandic women"
in 5 reviews
"interesting displays"
in 8 reviews
"early days"
in 6 reviews
"guided tour"
in 19 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 21 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 11 reviews
"on display"
in 7 reviews
Filter

417 - 421 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

A fair walk to the end of the harbour, and you reach this little museum. We found that, unlike most of the other museums we'd visited in Reykjavik, there wasn't enough explanation in English, so we didn't know what some of the exhibits were about.

The visit includes a tour around the ship, Odin, also, but unfortunately my husband just missed the last tour of the day. It would have been helpful if the lady on the ticket desk had suggested a visit there, before looking around the museum. We met another visitor who HAD been given this advice from a different person, which she found very helpful.

There's a lovely cafe in this museum, where my daughter and I pooled all our remaining small change on to the counter, hoping it would be enough for two coffees, in order to empty our purses before our return home. We didn't quite have enough, but the lady very kindly still gave us our drinks, which were delicious! Thanks for this kindness.

2  Thank 207Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you enjoy social history this is an excellent place to visit at a very fair price. My wife and I spent a good couple of hours there but we did not go onto the coastguard ship which you can do if you wish. The whole museum is very well laid out with excellent interpretation and information. If you visit and have the time, as part of the display on traditional line fishing from small boats, there is a one hour video documentary running. It is fascinating and amazing to realise the hard lives the fishermen had only about a century ago. This museum has its own coffee shop which serves food and the whole area by the port is surrounded by small cafes. It is easy walking from the town centre.

Thank HampshireWorrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

If you like boats you will like this.It is very interesting from the lives of fishermen and the human costs. The developement of the coastguard service and how old fishermen are looked after.I found it good for a wet rainy day and its on the welcome card.

Thank GlasgowWinenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Vikin Maritime museum is an interesting overview of the fishing industry and culture in Iceland over the last 150-200 years. Lots of static display plus a 59 minute movie that is an excellent portrayal of Icelandic fisherman's lives 100 years ago. Allow 2 hours if you watch the movie, or 1 hour if you choose to skip it. shops and restaurants are 5 minutes away. Located on the waterfront at the Port. a small cafe featuring fish ( what else?) is on site.

Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reykjavik Maritime Museum also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Reykjavik Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing