We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel - but very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reykjavik Backpackers
Eidnburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hostel - but very noisy”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My partner and I booked a double private bedroom a couple of weeks ago. It was about £50 per night which seemed reasonable. The room/hostel was fairly clean, however we got given room 205, which is overlooking on the street, above a PUB and next door to a CLUB. I can tell you that my bed was vibrating to the music of the nightclub next door until 3,00AM everynight.... Not very relaxing. We did complain on the 2nd night and got given another room in the back building, which was much nicer and quiet. There are free earplugs given at the reception, but if you are a light sleeper, this wont be much help.
Great hostel, amazing staff, fairly clean, but I will have to knock off 2 stars for the constant noise due to the nightlife.

Room Tip: Avoid room 205 and ask for a room in the back building to avoid noise coming from the street/pub/Clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenBenou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    62
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
3
28
61
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

our room was in a separated house behind the main building. so here are the problems:

1. Internet only covers the first and second floor of the main building, and no internet on 3rd floor and up, and no internet in other buildings.

so whenever we need to use internet, we have to go to walk back to the main building and stayed at the lobby. If i go back to my own room, no more internet.

2. Kitchen is located only on the fourth floor of the main building, so we need to dress us up with the winter jacket and walked back to the main building for the kitchen. it's very inconvenient if we wanna have some hot drink at night..

3. The reception desk was not very helpful. There were times reception people took off earlier than their office hours, and the people from the bar area didn't know how to book the trip pick up services, so we were asked to go to another travel agent office for help....sigh, it made us speechless once and once again.

4. Our room was located in another house behind the main building, so the room are very clean and the washrooms are very new.

so I recommend this place to the people who don't need internet and dont cook during trips. For those who lives on internet, this is not the one.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sophia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed here last October, weather was perfect, the season was a bit slowing so I managed to have a bed in this in-the-heart-of-action hostel. Everything worked just like a clock (including some funny hiccups). The staff was helpful, friendly and ready to find answers whenever I was in need. The indoor bar has good selection of drinks and bottom floor restaurant Cava serves nice meals. Outdoor bar was on in use during my visit,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pertti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
718 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We didn't have any plans for Reykjavik, but we had friends staying here so we came to join them. It was a great choice. Though it's expensive as hostels go, it seems about right and fits in with prices in this city. It's a great location, and there's always something going on. We had a blast. We've already decided we're coming back to Reykjavik again, and this is where we're going to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This backpacker guesthouse is more like a small hotel, expensive for a backpacker house it's very cheap compared to any hotel by that name in Reykjavik, it's well worth the small budget because of its central location, comfortable rooms (ask for a private one) and cleanliness, but mostly this is incredibly in the heart of everything in Reykjavik for anything close to a normal budget !
The only small disadvantage are the showers located in the basement (but still completely clean and white !). Will be difficult to find better than this great place for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judithbenyayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It's easy to find and in an excellent position. Rough but clean rooms, not-so-clean bathrooms. Above all, it's a hostel in the centre of Reykjavík with young customers, often busy and crowded. I suggest you to take earpads with you, and get ready to find parties inside and outside the hostel, especially in the weekend. Good for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guduains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great, affordable, clean and fun place to stay in Reykjavik. The location can't be beat, being 2 blocks from the super market, a few blocks from the main attractions, a few blocks from 'downtown' and city hall and even walking distance to the main bus terminal. When you go, make sure to as about the public pools, it's an 'Icelandic' thing to do that I feel is a must! My rating is 5/5 based on previous hostel experiences in Europe

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Miõborg
Grettir Guesthouse
Grettir Guesthouse
#38 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
101 Down Town Guesthouse
#71 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Luna Apartments
#26 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
101 Hostel
#51 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Backpackers

Property: Reykjavik Backpackers
Address: Laugavegur 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located on Laugavegur, the main shopping street. We are affiliated with Iceland's longest running adventure company, Arctic Adventures, and our guests can choose from great offers on their tours. Our staff can provide expert information on what to do, see and experience during your stay and will gladly arrange some activities for our guests. With our unbeatable location and prices in a lively hostel we make it our priority to make your stay as pleasant as possible! See you in Iceland! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing