We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reykjavik Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
US$209
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fosshotel Lind(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$469
US$287
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
22 Hill Hotel(Reykjavik)
US$174
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
CenterHotel Klopp(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
City Center Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Odinsve(Reykjavik)
US$196
US$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
30
62
45
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
62
45
17
9
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I visited the hostel during June planning to spend a few days. It was my second time at the hostel and I expected good things. The location was great and the atmosphere good. Unfortunately it appears the hostel has remained as it was last year. Time has moved on and the hostel is in need of an upgrade. Firstly there are a few standards which hostels require such as internet which works in your room. Linen for the bed and showers and toilets which work.
The showers were out of order on my floor, the bed linen cost extra around 8 dollars and the internet didn't work. To add insult to injury the price of a bed in an 8 bed dorm was $40 per night. Of course breakfast is not included so if you add up breakfast and linen your at $57-60 per night. Breakfast is buffet themed though its very meager. Overall and in comparison to other hostels I've stayed at in Iceland I would rate this a poor value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in June. The hostel was very busy. Bar on the ground floor showing the World Cup. Got packed out as its open to non guests.
Stayed in a 4 bed dorm where there was not a lot of room to store your clothes.
I had a problem with the dorm door. It was basically bust which meant constantly having to get someone from reception to let me in which was a real pain. This, however, was not the fault of the hostel.When I checked out they gave me 500kr as a kind of compensation. Didnt use the kitchen indeed I forgot there was one. The hostel does a buffet breakfast for 1000 and a bit krona.
The main drawback was that apart from the bar there is limited space to hang out. Each floor has a lounge area but it is very small and not that inviting & only room for 3 or 4 people to sit down.
The hostel gives out free ear plugs and if you stay in the front of the building at the weekend you will need them. On a main street in Reykjavik with lots of nearby bars & clubs blaring out music until 4 or 5am. If that's your bag you will like it here
The hostel is very centrally located with just a 5 min stumble into the heart of Reykjavik

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

When you try to check it turned out that there is no free second room. Service performed a large number of calls and we were transferred to another place - definitely a higher standard and board - estimate so that its action in such situations as very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JPopiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Backpackers has a great location and an incredibly friendly and accommodating staff. They have free lockers (with deposit), and nice amenities - all the bathrooms, showers, etc are private, and there is a kitchen and roof terrace. The daily rate is also decent.

The downside is that there aren't really places to socialize apart from the bar, and the bar tends to be filled with people who aren't staying in the hostel. And it closes at 1. So it's not really that easy to meet other backpackers, apart from chance encounters in the kitchen and common space near the terrace. My friends and I did end up meeting other people and spending time with them, but Backpackers does not have nearly as much of the community as I was hoping for.

Room Tip: There isn't much to be gained from staying in a larger room apart from cost savings - they're too small to really spend time in (with other people).
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOK_MOK_MOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed in the guesthouse and had a great little room. Reception was great and super helpful. My room wasn't ready when I checked in, which was a bit of a bummer as I was super tired after my flight. But they apologized and got the room ready ASAP. Only really big downside was the loud music that was being played from the whiskey bar next door. No matter how exhausted you are, it's still hard to fall asleep listening to death metal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandra3780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews