We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, lovely owners, get involved!”
Review of Luna Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Apartments
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed in the ground floor double apartment and were extremely satisfied. It is modern spacious and functional. The location is perfect and easy walking distance everywhere. We arrived on a late flight, but the owner still met us to let us in at around 1am and was extremely friendly and informative. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_timmy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

A group of 4 (2 couples) stayed here Jan 30th - 2nd Feb 2014.

The apartment is a very generous space. We stayed in the top floor apartment for 4 people (2 double bedrooms). It has a large living area with english channel TV, big bathroom, spacious bedrooms and a lovely kitchen, which we were able to cook a lovely meal in and enjoy in the dining area. We hired a car for 2 days (via Sixt - good rates) and there was parking outside the apartment.
The owner lives in the little red house next door, some of the time, and was always on hand to offer advice and a good location to go see the northern lights. he even personaly came to the apartment to tell us a rep had been in touch to confirm an excursion had been cancelled - really lovely guy.
It does get noisy on a saturday night cause that's when everybody goes out (people don't go out till midnight!) on the Runtur (basically a local pub crawl!). You can hear every word on the street downstairs but we were so tired by the time we went to bed that we hardly noticed. If your a light sleeper and are planning on an early night, maybe not the best choice.

The location is great - you are right on the main strip near the top. If you follow it all the way down you will eventually get to the harbour.

Fave Bars - I highly recommend Dillon Whiskey Bar (although I don't drink whiskey and stick to beer). Its a kind of rock bar with mood lighting and a great, friendly place to dance the night away (last orders are at 3.30am) it is just down the road on the right hand side. We also liked 'Lebowski Bowling' which is an american bar, gets very busy late at night. You can expect to pay anything from £5 to £7 for a beer in Reykjavik. Google 'Reykjavik Bar Guide' for more info, a handy print out which gives lots of info like dress code, average drink prices, music type etc.

Dress code: Its very laid back. Weekend nights you can see girls in skinny jeans and leather jackets. The boys (at least the local boys) all look like a memebr of mumford and sons (beards are big here too!).

Fave Restuarant - we went to Buddha (malaysian) which again is just down the road (do a right out of the apartment, walk 5 minutes and its on the right hand side). Really good atmosphere, food excellent. Main meal and 3 pints came to about £28 per person.

Supermarket 'Bonus' is literally a 5 minute walk up the road (do a left when you come out of the apartment and it is on your left). However, supermarkets do not sell alcohol so you would need to walk about 10-15 minutes in the opposite direction to buy alcohol. However, prices are steep so we stocked up at duty free on the way there.

Bakery Over the Road: there is a lovely little bakery literally across the road which is open 'super; early so I popped over there to grab a caffiene hit when I was feeling too lazy (or hungover!) to make my own (be warned, the pastries are delicious but don't come cheap!).

Excursions: we did the golden circle which can easily be done in a day. we also went to the blue lagoon which was lovely (£35 per person). We want to go back to do the tabogganing and speed boat trip which looked amazing. We'd booked on to the nothern lights cruise but it got cancelled twice in a row due to weather. Raykjavik Execursions or Iceland Excurions seem to be the main companies.

We used Flybus and pre-booked transfers from the airport to the apartment. Takes just over an hour. The first coach takes you to the bus station and then you get a second bus to your apartment.

All in all we have a marvelous time and I can't wait to go back again - we're already planning to go back in August. And we will deffinately be staying in Apartments 37!

Room Tip: The top floor apartment is superb and has a large roof terrace. Plus, as it can get noisy on the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuliaBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just back from staying at 37apartments and we really loved it. As previous reviewers have mentioned the location is great albeit a bit noisy if late night revellers disturb you. We found every Icelander we met to be charming, friendly and helpful and the apartment was no different. We had the one bed and a studio - both were spotlessly clean, had everything we could have wanted and beuatifully and simply furnished. Cant recommend enough, great value for money. We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarajespersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed in this apartment in September for 5 days. We loved the location for most part. It is near absolutely everything and as a few steps from the main street, in a parking lot, a bit away from the loud noise. Fortunately there are no bars next doors and the few times we heard anything it was just some drunkies screaming passing by, specially over the weekend.
It is well equipped with most amenities and things look new. I would recommend when you check in to ask for extra towels as they just give 1 a person for both body and hands for the entire stay. Also, FYI the comforter is "European" style with individual duvets so you and your partner are not "under the blankets" together :- )
Guðný, the host was nice! We meet her twice, at check in, to settle our bill and when we were locked out because our card did not read. They have magnetic cards as hotels. She said at check in "mmm, one is not working right" but we did not react then now and i wonder why they did not replace it before we got there. Unfortunately we locked ourselves out. It happened at 11pm when it was rainy and windy. Those 20 minute waiting for Guðný seemed an eternity then. She apologized and asked us not to use that card anymore but we did not get a new one so we were left the rest of the stay with just one. We did not mind since we were always together but it seems to me, not just her but generally speaking most people there had a cold approach for service.
Despite this few inconveniences, i would highly recommend the place. It is lovely, spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a group of travelers and ended up taking the two bedroom apartment for two couples and a studio for one more person.

Both apartments were great but the two bedroom was fantastic - we had other friends staying down the street and having a living room, dining area, and large open terrace were all great for a few drinks before heading out on the town (helpful in a city that isn't always the cheapest).

Great value when split between 4 people, everything we needed was there, and we also liked being able to grab more towels, pillows, toilet paper etc. from the closet downstairs as we needed without bothering anyone for such small things.

Would definitely stay here again. The comments about the noise from the street are valid, but we managed to sleep through it without any real issues so unless you're a very light sleeper it shouldn't be a problem.

Room Tip: Loved the two bedroom apartment. Otherwise you may want something that doesn't face the street i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanderlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Modern and simple, but comfortable. Convenient location, but can be a bit noisy at night at times because of it location. We had the penthouse suite which was amazing with a nice roof top sitting area.
Ring the reception bell of the building and someone will tend to you. Key cards for entry. A narrow-ish flights of stairs up. The space is amazing. I would buy, but apparently it's a ridiculous amount of money considering location and the fact an artist put his thumb in everything.
There's a stock area/closet for replenishing the necessities (towels, sheets, cleaning solution, toilet paper). As for all the other items, there's a decently priced supermarket a few blocks away called Bonus. The only problem is that they close by 6pm.
Everything is so roomy, even though I am away from home, I felt comfy.

Stocked Items & Bonus Facts
Bathroom - towel warmer in the bathroom. Two wash sinks.
Kitchen - coffee press, water kettle, toaster, pots and pans in the pantry, dishware, cups, silverware, one knife (Global...oooo), essential seasoning (salt/pepper), baking dish

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cloudiedays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here the third week in August and rented a studio apartment. You really can't beat this place for location--really. It's on one of the main streets in Reykjavik and very close to everything else (I found Reykjavik to be a very manageable city without a car, so we did not drive at all while we were there). Convenient FREE parking. Clean with a kitchenette, TV with satellite, nice furnishings. Good shower! The manager was very friendly and helpful--he lives right next door. It was a little difficult for me to find at first (the entrance is kind of tucked behind/to the side of the building, so it's not visible from the street. You have to go into the alley and you'll see it on the right), and yes, it can get noisy outside at night. I feel as though the noise comes with the territory, and I found that it mostly died down by midnight or so (we stayed there on a Sunday and Monday night). I had no issue with the noise. Lots of great shops, restaurants, cafes, bakeries right at your feet. A great find. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
41 - A Townhouse Hotel
41 - A Townhouse Hotel
#32 of 54 in Reykjavik
104 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,219 reviews
Miõborg
The Swan House
The Swan House
#7 of 110 in Reykjavik
105 reviews
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 110 in Reykjavik
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Apartments

Address: Laugavegur 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly 37Apartments)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £126 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, these smart luxury apartments are situated just steps away from a wealth of Icelandic cultural and culinary experiences. We offer long and short term accommodation with facilities to compliment your stay. There is also abundance of local amenities within walking distance, including leisure activities such as saunas and swimming pools. 37Apartments Hotel's unique boutique style studios and suites will satisfy both your business and pleasure needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luna Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
37apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing