We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for visiting town and arround!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Ranked #24 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galati, Romania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location for visiting town and arround!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It,s a perfect location for visiting town and arround! Few steps till the city center, few steps till Icelandic Excursions for booking excursions in all Iceland. Big kitchen, free internet, free coffee! Very clean rooms!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenSirbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    40
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
28
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I am the oldest daughter in a family of 4. On our way to Ireland to visit family this year we found a deal to fly with Iceland Air and visit. Being that this may be the last trip we do as a family, just mum, dad, brother and sister as we are soon grown and out of the house we thought why not.

Iceland is VERY expensive, with hotel in the city costing more per night than downtown Paris! We chose the Flying Viking as affordable accommodation. As a family we had never stayed in a hostel-type place, but we found it quite nice. We had a huge room with a double bed and two twins, perfect for our family. There was a sink as well, so aside from using the washroom we could brush our teeth, do hair, ect.

In terms of location, AMAZING! Walking distance to everything, not that it is a very big city but location could not have been more perfect.

Yes, sharing a bathroom with other guests was a first for us but being there only 3 nights we made do. All together it was a great and memorable trip that we won't forget, and no issues with accommodation to remember.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorahFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We absolutely loved the Flying Viking!

Staff: Hans was helpful and kind but definitely not in-your-face or overbearing. We really liked that about him! We knew he would help us out if we needed it but it was a very independent trip. Also he's a fellow UCLA alumn woohoo!

Facilities: We loved our room. It was on the third floor, and there were so many windows to let in the natural light. The room also had black-out curtains for the ever-present sun during the summer. Our room had four beds (for three of us, so one bed we used to put all our stuff on haha) and a little sink which was great for washing up in the morning and evening.

Cleanliness: It's a guesthouse so you're really depending on the cleanliness of the people you're sharing it with but the staff kept things very neat, clean and tidy. The bathrooms always had soap and toilet paper, and our room was VERY clean when we arrived.

Comfort: Great! The beds were great and we slept really well every night there. The rooms are heated.

Value for money: You CANNOT find a better deal for the value and location of this place!

Location: Insane. SO great. You're so close to everything in the City Center- and for you fellow Americans, you're down the street from the American Embassy just in case of emergency (we actually ran into the interim ambassador on our walk home.) Not that you'll need it though - Reykjavik is so safe and the people are so kind!

Wi-Fi - It was fine but we lost the signal a couple times. If you go down to the kitchen, it's much stronger than in your bedroom!

Overall, GREAT place. We could not have asked for a better place to stay during our week in Reykjavik. Thanks Hans!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meganterasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I consider this choice of "hotel" to be my biggest TripAdvisor fail. I have never been let down more than staying here for two nights while on my first trip to Iceland.

Choosing this hotel and booking was a breeze. I did weeks of research and pricing and felt we got a comparable deal (all things considered, since Iceland hotels are expensive). Contacting the owners was also pleasant and a non-issue.

When my boyfriend and I arrived at our hotel the first day it was a bit confusing. We weren't sure if we were actually at the right place and I wasn't given a code. I tried buzzing them on the box attached to the house and at first someone hung up and then we played the 'can you hear me now' game for a few minutes. Finally someone came outside and let me in. That awkward experience should've been our first warning, but really checking in wasn't a huge deal.

When we were shown our room we tried not to look horrified as our host left us. To be fair, we are not the type of people who need a fancy room or features, but if we knew we were staying in a hostel-like atmosphere we would've gauged expectations better. The room was pathetic: two single beds, one shelf, and thin curtains (horrible decision considering constant sunlight in Iceland summers). We tried to make the most of it, heck we were really only using the place to sleep and as a base- we didn't need much. The kitchen was the only perk (if you can consider it that), so I could see where it would be useful for a family or those wanting to save some money on meals. We used it once and the fridge was absolutely disgusting (and small). After that we used it as a place to hang out that wasn't our prison cell of a room.

Worst of all were the bathrooms. My biggest regret (aside from choosing this ho[s]tel) was not getting pictures of how gross/weird the bathrooms were. Ours were always busy when we visited, which is annoying but I can't blame the hotel- they had a lot of guests. That would just be annoying anywhere you stayed. The bathroom floor flooded when you showered- no way around it. What was gross is when someone showered before you. Meaning by the time you get in, you're standing in someone else's shower water. double ick. Worse than that (yes, worse) is that there was a loose-hanging light bulb from a mysterious large hole in the ceiling. That is not only creepy when you're using a bathroom, but it is extraordinarily dangerous. That alone is what had us literally looking for another hotel the next day.

All in all the location is good, but not for what you get. Spend a little extra for a nicer guesthouse or if you can take it, just go to a hostel for a heck of a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate110715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were actually meant to stay in one of the Log Cabins in Sulfoss the guy owned but because details were messed up with the site he's registered on he ended up offering us his studio appartment in Reykjavik. He was very very friendly couldnt do anymore for us! A really nice guy, he gave us a free lift from Sulfoss back into Rejkjavik.

It was basically a studio appartment that slept 4 (bunk bed and 2 singles) with a little kitchen area. Very basic but it was clean and centrally located and the price was good also. I would reccommend a few days stay in this as its not very spacious, there were only 3 of us and we found it abit tight, especially after staying in a spacious one bedroom apparment beforehand. Also only one mirror in the bathroom which has no plugs beside it, I would suggest bringing a small mirror as 3 girls crowded round the one mirror was terrible!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmaknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Great for a couple of nights in town. Price is adequate to level. Great plus is the position in town. Close to the bus station and very close to all attractions in town. Other great plus is the service, they quickly answer to your requests and are very friendly. Minus is the space available in the rooms. It's very difficult if you have many luggages: no chairs, nor tables and small wardrobes. Need also to add more plates, mugs ans so on in the kitchen especially for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro_Bertucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

When I booked I read it would be located in a quiet street, the owner sold that place. This one is on the busiest street and traffic is noisy in Iceland. The windows do not have double glass. It's central, but eberything is within walking distance anyhow. It's obviously a money maker, the owner sends a cleaning lady for an hour on the morning. Any other accomodation will give you a better sleep. The rooms are bigger than usual in Iceland and the other guests are open for conversation in the shared kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thoenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
985 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
544 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,725 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Guesthouse Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Guesthouse Reykjavik

Property: Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Address: Laufasvegur 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly Flying Viking Guesthouse)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik is a small family run Guesthouse. We have accommodations in three locations. We have a hostel in downtown Reykjavik. Our downtown location is only about 3 minutes walk from downtown Reykjavik and other attractions such as: Whale watching, Theaters, Museums, Art Galleries, Restaurants and public swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Central Guesthouse Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing