We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to love?”

Baejarins Beztu Pylsur
Ranked #30 of 92 Quick Bites in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Takeout
Description: Baejarins beztu pylsur (English: The best hot dog in town) often shortened to simply "Baejarins beztu", is a popular hot dog stand in central Reykjavik, Iceland. In August 2006, the British newspaper The Guardian selected Baejarins beztu as the best hot dog stand in Europe. The majority of Icelanders have eaten at Baejarins beztu. It's downtown near the harbor and has been open since 1937. Foreign visitors are often brought to the stand to introduce them to the hot dogs there, which are often called "the Icelandic national food." Among famous people who have eaten at Baejarins beztu are Bill Clinton, former president of the United States, and James Hetfield, vocalist of the popular heavy metal band Metallica. A hot dog condiments include ketchup, sweet mustard, fried onion, raw onion and remoladi, a mayonnaise-based sauce with sweet relish. Hot dogs are often ordered with "the works," i.E., All condiments, or in Icelandic "eina med ollu".
Reviewed 18 October 2012

It's a brilliant hot dog, in a bun, with crunchy bacon bits and chopped onion, and three sauces. All delivered in seconds for about £1.50. What's not to love?

Date of visit: October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Toptoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,701 - 3,705 of 4,675 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

Our kid has never finished a hotdog and it's bun, but he polished the hotdog off that we got at Baejarins Beztu. They are really worth the wait in line, and very affordable (about $2.65US/each). They come with all sorts of toppings, and you can get "the works" or keep it simpler. Right near the flea market and the concert hall. A must stop for anyone visiting Rekjavik!

Date of visit: September 2012
Thank HaveKidWillTeardrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

What was all the fuss about? So off we went to search for it, right after we got settled in our hotel. Why would an ex president even eat a hotdog from a simple hot dog stand?Well,since we tried it,we had been having it everyday when we where in Reykjavik. I wish they'd start selling a "to-go" sauce, so I can just make it at home. For 500 isk.( 1 hotdog+ 1 softdrink), it's not bad at all.

Date of visit: October 2012
Thank ab_aux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I know quite well that reviewing a hot dog place is meaningless, especially one as legendary as Baejarins Beztu Pylsur. So yea, no trip to Reykjavik would be complete without stopping here. It's a nice and decent break from the more expensive food options, and is indeed a tasty hot dog. I'm from LA though, where we wrap our dogs in bacon, so as good as those crunchy onions are here, it couldn't live up.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank almostaghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I went to Iceland with a hot dog snob. He actually has a very strict rating scale for hot dogs. He likes natural casing, all beef, good color, blah, blah, blah. Regardless, we were both really excited to try these lamb dogs. I was worried they wouldn't measure up to his standards, but honestly, after he ate one...I'm surprised I got him to eat anything else. They were delicious. The dogs themselves have a mild flavor but a great snap when you bite into them. The sauces, while not something I would normally put on a dog, worked really nicely together. The real winner of this dog though are the fried onions nestled in the bottom. That little crunch of onion is amazing.

There is also something really fun about standing in line to get food at a little shack at the side of the road. The locals were smart about it and would only order one at a time so that the dogs would never get cold.

Date of visit: October 2012
1  Thank Annex1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baejarins Beztu Pylsur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Baejarins Beztu Pylsur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing