We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reykjavik Peace Center - Guesthouse
Ranked #81 of 107 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
137 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“3.5”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

First this hotel is at least a 20min drive from downtown Reykjavik. For the best experience, you really ought to have a car...I was told that there was a bus station nearby, but imagine how long a bus ride would be if the car ride is 20mins. Anyways, it was a little difficult to find. I was in the city first, and my tour guide has never heard of the hotel...neither did the gal at the tourist office. On whatever official site she used to finally find the guesthouse, it is called fr...well, the icelandic word for freedom and 2000 or something. Don't quote me on that. Anyways, driving there was only a little difficult. But make sure that you get directions from someone at the tourist office...b/c it can get confusing...thank goodness the Icelandic drive on the right side. Checking in was slow, since there is no reception. You must call the "housekeeper" and then he arrives with his laptop to check you in. Do print out the reservation confirmation; he will ask for that. The guesthouse itself was nice, but looked slightly half finished. There were a few electrical wires hanging out, part of the sofa fell off when one of our group sat down, the door gets stuck easily, etc. I am happy with the arrangement. The house was clean, spacious, and sunny. There was free wifi, free parking, and a decent kitchen. There was even a free computer station. Whoever owns the house is a bibliophile...what a great collection of books. Some were even in English. I'd rec this place to anyone with a car....we were traveling around peak season, so there were not a lot of vacancies. If I had a choice, I would stay closer to the center of town, but this worked out fine. Easy access to Route 41, which is a straight shot to KEF. O, one more thing...like some of the hotels in Iceland, the water smells faintly of sulfur. The smell disappears from you after a little while. O, and there is an N1 (gas station) and a Bonus (cheap grocery store) nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilorchid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    12
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
10
36
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This B&B is not in the center of the city but very close (3 minute walk) to a bus stop where the bus comes twice an hour. It's about a 20-30 minute ride to the city center but there is so much to see that it was never an issue!! :)

This is the first full summer of operation for the owners and they put their ALL into it! The B&B is spacious, clean and comfortable. The owners really aim to please and they do! While they are still working on the outside of the B&B (overgrown garden, etc.), they've done a wonderful job with the inside. The rooms are nicely decorated, they'll serve a hearty breakfast for a small fee and guests have free use of the computer, wireless internet and kitchen.

The Peace Center Guesthouse is relaxing and peaceful - just as the name suggests. I 100% recommend this B&B and would stay there again!!

Thank you :)

Room Tip: They have a variety of room - just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahCooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This place is a great find and its high marks are well-deserved. If I come back to Reykjavik, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emdeesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tübingen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed 3 days at this guesthouse (the first and the last 2 days of our Iceland-trip). The rooms are clean and comfortable, the couple running the place are both very nice (we talked a lot), we also took the breakfast offer (normal continental breakfast style). The guest kitchen is better equipped than my kitchen at home - you will find everything you need to prepare a decent meal - they've got 3 bathrooms for 6 rooms - so you will hardly experience a clash there. Internet is free, wireless and there is even a guest PC.

The only thing we could think of complaining about are the usual icelandic walls, which are thin so you understand what is going on next door - but I think this is a general feature of icelandic buildings and nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASDBigmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I was in this b&b in June 2011 with my girlfriend. A very peaceful place from where we started our trip in the South of Iceland. The owners do a great jobs in keeping everything clean and working perfectly. It was a bit hard to find this place without a GPS and it's not at walkable distance from the center. If you are renting/you have your own car, I highly suggest this Guesthouse. The weekend here was so relaxing that we came back at the end of our journey for one night before flying back to normal life.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We loved the Peace Centre Guesthouse. We were only in Iceland for 2 days, with two teens, and we were made to feel very welcome here. Jon and Bogga were amazing hosts.

Room Tip: room sizes vary - so ask what will suit you best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This BB was inside a private house (or at least it seemed like it) in a nice neighborhood (about 10/15 minutes car from the center however). The host was very, very nice and helpful, the rooms were cute and clean (it was a bit like being guests in a local family). You can use the kitchen (which was really quite nice). We also found the price really convenient (we stayed three nights so had an extra 30% disccount and it was the end of May, middle-low season).

As said before it was a bit outside (although rather easy to find with eg The Reykjavik Area Big Map which they give for free at the airport), don't really advise if you don't rent a car (unless you don't mind traveling by bus.. we did have a car, so we don't know how good the connection was).

There is wireless access for free.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luc4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fitjar Guesthouse
#26 of 107 in Reykjavik
51 reviews
Blue House
#7 of 107 in Reykjavik
263 reviews
Home Red Door
#46 of 107 in Reykjavik
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Studio Apartments
Studio Apartments
#83 of 107 in Reykjavik
66 reviews
Oddsson Hostel
#17 of 100 in Reykjavik
64 reviews
Háaleiti
Guesthouse Summer Day
Guesthouse Summer Day
#71 of 107 in Reykjavik
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Peace Center - Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Peace Center - Guesthouse

Property: Reykjavik Peace Center - Guesthouse
Address: Vogasel 1, Reykjavik 109, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Peace Center - Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reykjavik Peace Center Guesthouse features spacious rooms and apartments. Several lounges. Library and reading areas. Computer and TV lounge. Free Parking and Wireless Internet. Convenient central location in a peaceful area of the city originally built for artists homes and studios. Surrounded by green areas next to a garden of art displays. Ideal place for relaxation, walks minutes away from the Mjodd bus central and shopping area. As short drive from from Smaralind the largest shopping and leisure centre in the Reykjavik area. Connecting roads to major travel directions. The Reykjavik Peace Center Ambassador Club House (Orlofshus Fridar 2000) is operated by the Peace 2000 Iceland society (Fridur 2000 Island) for accommodating Peace Ambassadors and peace loving people from all over the world. If you are not already a member of the Peace Ambassador Club we will be happy to grant you a free complimentary introductory membership. During your visit to the Reykjavik Peace Center you will have the opportunity to upgrade your membership and receive a decorative letter of credence of your appointment as an Icelandic Peace Ambassador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reykjavik Peace Center - Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Peace Center - Guesthouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing