We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place was like ecstasy for us”
Review of Blue House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue House
Ranked #12 of 110 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Place was like ecstasy for us”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We never knew a far place could have so many facilities in it and it would benefit us in the short stay we had over there. Yes, we were two and we really enjoyed over there because we were never bored of what we were offered. That was the best decision we made and it was a real fun. We were two but we felt like we are so many enjoying in that cozy place. It was so much fun to relax in the bedrooms of Blue house because we made the right decision of all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    52
    17
    13
    3
See reviews for
36
133
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isafjordur, Iceland
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have stayed at the blue house multiple times during my time in Iceland, it is always clean, comfy and the staff is very knowledgable! I felt right at home while I was there and the location was amazing! I highly recommend to stay there!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed here with a friend in December 2013.

Location
The Blue House is located at the outskirt of Reykjavík. It takes about 15 minutes to take a bus(Bus 11) from the house to the city center. There is a small grocery shop located just 3 minutes walk away from the house where you can buy bus tickets to board the bus or get something you can microwave to eat for dinner when you are lazy.

The nearest supermarket, bakery and restaurant are located quite a distance away and not easy to find. However, there is a public swimming pool that is located nearby and comes highly recommended. It is also very close to the lighthouse Grotta, which is a very nice place to look out into the sea and relax.

Please note that not all tour agency is aware of the location of Blue House.


Room
The rooms are small and simple, but the bed is really comfortable. The heater works just ok. Toilets are shared but extremely clean. A computer with internet access is provided but it is extremely slow. However, wifi speed is relatively fast so it wasn't an issue for me.


Food
Breakfast is included but it is very simple, compromising of some cereals and one homemade bread. There are also orange juice and milk provided.


Service
The service attitude of the manager, Sidonie, is commendable. When we broke a plate and requested her to charge us for it, she declined and said things like that happens. This warmed our hearts in a foreign land. She is also quite prompt in her replies. However, you may not get to see her throughout our stay.


Overall
In summary, i would recommend Blue House to backpackers who wants a quiet and cosy place to stay in, and not too fussy about amenities and breakfast provided.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JunJieL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennes, France
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Blue House, and i loved it! The location is amazing (best spot to see the northern lights is just 10 min away by foot!), and the guesthouse is so cosy. The house was very clean and well taken care of, i was also able to cook meals in the kitchen. The breakfast is great, their home made bread is so yummy! I also enjoyed the "self check-in" service, as i arrived quite late at night, it was very good! I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSGingerHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our tranquil and private stay at bluehouse. It was a shame that we weren't able to meet the blushouse team during our 8 days stay. Nonetheless the house was well facilitated with basic toiletries, new towels and cookies!
Simple breakfast with fresh bread and cereal work well for us.
It was also a strategic location for us to catch the Aurora as it was a few minutes drive to the lighthouse.

Evonne and Evon

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ebonyh1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed for only one night but would have gladly stayed for more. The Blue House was a charming little cottage on a peninsula just a short ride from the centre of Reykjavik. The house itself was on a corner with easy street parking for those with a car.

The furnishings are just right and very "IKEA-ish". The level of cleanliness throughout bedroom, kitchen and bathroom was excellent. There is a small supermarket in the next street and a much larger supermarket about 5 minutes away. There is also a bus service just a couple of streets away.

Within a 10-15 easy walk is a dark (no light pollution) park that is perfect for night sky gazing to try and spot the elusive northern lights. The breakfast offer is a self-service style with fresh breads, cheese, cereals, juice and tea/ coffee which was more than adequate. Overall it was a lovely, cosy B&B where I'd have been glad to stay for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieDave25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The location is lovely but the photograph is very misleading as it is not an isolated location, but is actually part of a street of houses in a housing area.
There was no one to meet us on arrival...the host told us it was because we were arriving late...but it was before 8 pm when we arrived. Also there are no maps of the location and it was really hard to find anywhere to eat...only a supermarket.
Breakfasts are only cereal and bread with cheese...no fruit or anything else.
The bread ran out one morning. The TV in our room never worked all the time we were there...just kept being told that the engineer was coming 'tomorrow'. Also toaster didn't work...replaced on the last day.
The area is very beautiful, close to the sea and a nature reserve near the lighthouse and very quite, but guest house is not well run. It is a long way from town although there is a bus (no 11) a distance away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,050 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 106 in Reykjavik
1,093 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#3 of 106 in Reykjavik
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue House

Property: Blue House
Address: Valhusabraut 19 | Seltjarnarnes, Reykjavik 170, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set on Seltjarnarnes Peninsula, Blue House B&B with it's surrounding properties is a 5 minutes' drive from central Reykjavik. Renovated in 2015, it offers free high speed Wi-Fi, a shared kitchen and bright, simple tastefully decorated rooms with a Smart TV. This B&B is particularly popular amongst individual travellers hunting northern lights in the capital area due to it's location, which is far away from mass turism but yet close enough to downtown Reykjavik A desk, a wardrobe and a Netflix TV are standard in Blue House's rooms. Toilets and showers are shared, except for our Apartments. Additionally we have an apartment and the Yellow house close by. The views of the rooms can include: Esja Mountain, Snaefellsnes Volcano/Glacier, Valhúsabraut Park, Grotta Lighthouse and the peninsula's Seaview with beach. After office hours guest are provided with self check-in information which enables you to arrive at any time. We provide a daily self-service continental Breakfast with home baked bread if included in your rate. Upon request we will meet you for breakfast and help you with your further travelplanning. Popular nearby leisure options include northern light/bird watching, cycling and hiking. The public outdoor geothermal swimming pool is only a 5 minutes walk away and highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Blue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing