We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grettisborg Apartments
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The apartments are in a great location..walking distance to shopping, many restaurants and a grocery store. It was sparsely decorated but well equipped..comfortable bed and a great shower! We arrived early & left bags in laundry room while we explored town. We liked making our own breakfast since tours left early and shops weren't open. You should be an independent traveler cause owners weren't around to offer advice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank roses011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Grettisborg Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at Grettisborg Apartments over the winter holidays this past year. We rented out apartments 3, 4, 5, and 6 for our large group. It was perfectly located downtown - close to everything, which was great because we did not rent cars. The apartments were well furnished and comfortable. We were able to spend time all together in the apartments,yet enjoy privacy as well with the individual bedrooms, kitchens, and bathrooms. The owner was very helpful before we booked with the many questions we had. During our stay we had a few questions and issues that were addressed immediately. The only issue we had was some of the tour buses could not pick us up there because it is on a smaller side street. However, it was just a short walk to the pick-ups nearby. All in all a wonderful place to stay downtown Reykjavik!

Room Tip: Though there are stairs to climb, apartments 5-6 on the top floor are best for the space, and the ba...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a great stay here. They apartments are well located, just a short walk from the center of Reykjavik (which is an easy town to walk around).

They're also just far enough away from the bars to not be very noisy which is a big plus as Reykjavik locals love to get drunk and shout at each other late at night so many of the large hotels in town get a lot of noise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Gorgeous apartment. Easy check in. Owners are right there if you need anything!!! In a wonderful location! easy to walk to everything. Very comfortable. Parking is first come first serve or you need to find a spot on the street. Can be tough. Only issue. :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cenafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Grettisborg Apartments are conveniently located - with everything you need within walking distance.

I stayed in apartment 2 on the ground floor. This room was fully equipped with a kitchenette, an lovely bathroom (with a heated towel rack, wonderful Soley bath products, and an excellent shower), with a separate bedroom & very comfortable bed.

I found that having a kitchenette was key, as dining out in Iceland can be rather expensive. There are several small grocery stores within walking distance from the apartment, so shopping was very convenient. Additionally, having access to the laundry facilities in the building was very handy.

There was some condensation, as other reviewers have mentioned, but I just cracked the window. Not a problem for me as I like the fresh air.

The ground floor units are located right next to the front door, so it can get a bit noisy with people coming and going at all hours. Additionally, the floors are thin, so foot traffic from above is quite audible.

While these are self service apartments, I found the host (Snaebjorn) to be very accommodating & accessible.

Lastly, the oldest geothermal swimming pool in Reykjavic (Sundhollin) is right down the street from the apartments. Don't miss out on a dip (or several) in the outdoor hot pots.

Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelissaKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We (4 adults) shared a room on the 2nd floor for a week. The location was great - a short walk from the church and city centre with a lot of travel agencies and a supermarket near by. The apartment was very clean and the kitchen was well equipped with utensils. The laundry room was also free to use, which was very handy if you were staying for a week. However the walls are quite thin so if you happen to get noisy neighbours then it can be a bit of a pain. Otherwise it is excellent value for money and the owner was also extremely helpful in providing directions / calling travel agencies for us. I would no doubt choose this apartment again the next time I come to Reykjavik!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I was in grettisborg apt number 1 with my husband and my 1yo daughter.
It was perfect! At our arrival the apt was very clean and we found even more towels than needed ! It's floor-heated, perfect with a baby, and you can adjust temperature as you prefer w wi-fi thermostat! There's a lot of space to store your stuff (even very useful drawers in the body of the sofa!).
Kitchen is well equipped, but do not expect to find anything else than salt to cook. You have to buy everything.
It's perfectly located , grettisgata is parallel to the main street. The building area is very quiet.

I do recommend a stay there!

Elisa from Italy

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,046 reviews
Miõborg
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
#30 of 109 in Reykjavik
99 reviews
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 109 in Reykjavik
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opal Apartments
#9 of 109 in Reykjavik
86 reviews
Miõborg
OK Hotel
OK Hotel
#21 of 108 in Reykjavik
371 reviews
Miõborg
Alfred's Apartments
Alfred's Apartments
#33 of 109 in Reykjavik
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grettisborg Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grettisborg Apartments

Address: Grettisgata 53b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £302 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grettisborg Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grettisborg Apartments are 2 self-catering apartments and one private house in the best location possible in Reykjavik. Tucked away next to the main shopping street you have peace and quiet but yet the close proximity of the shops, restaurants and night life. The fully equipped apartments are suitable for 2 - 7 guests. The private house is suitable for a family of 6 or a 5 single adults. The larger apartment and private house have a private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grettisborg Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing