We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

from the greeting at 2am in the morning to the room and the breakfast tray everything was welcoming and perfect.We stayed on two occasions on our visit to Iceland and we were in two different rooms - both beautifully appointed. The front desk staff were all very helpful , friendly and welcoming- we could not ask for more. The location of the hotel is so close to the main part of Reykjavik - walking to everything is easy- yet the rooms are quiet . We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will definitely go back .

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ranster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

We spent 4 nights in a two bedroom apartment (breakfast included) and were fully satisfied. The apartment was clean and very spacious in comparison with other apartments we've been before. The kitchen was fully equipped and allowed us to prepare warm meals instead of going in overpriced restaurants. The breakfast was put in the fridge every day in a basket, containing multiple bread rolls, eggs, juices, charcuterie, cheese etc. We highly recommend this place for families that want to stay for a few nights and visit the south / west of Iceland. The residence is very close to the main shopping street and restaurants in Reykjavik. One room had a double bed and the other two single beds. We booked through expedia which was much cheaper than booking through the hotel directly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Everything about our three-night stay was great. We started off with a warm welcome at reception - all staff we met were friendly and very helpful. There are no public areas or bars in this hotel so it's not somewhere that a group could socialise.

The room was spotless, decorated to good standard - a bit Ikea bland but the colour scheme is in keeping with the Icelandic landscape which is a nice touch.

The beds were comfortable and the room very quiet.

Continental breakfast comes in a cute little basket which they put in the fridge the day before. A good selection of breads, cheese, ham etc. enough we found to make a packed lunch. The orange juice is not the best quality but it does the trick.

Bathroom was also really clean. The shower was one of those mixer things that don't attach to the wall - you have to sort of crouch in the bath and hose yourself over. Bit of a pain but lots of lovely really hot water.

Location couldn't be better - within minutes walking distance of everything in Reykjavic and handy to get out onto the main road if you are driving out of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

we stayed at RRH for the first half of our honeymoon. i read all of the great reviews on tripadvisor and decided to book 5 nights at RRH.

i wasn't disappointed.

location - great! we didn't have a car so we wanted a location where there were restaurants and attractions within walking distance. even the one time we needed to take the bus (we left a bag on the flybus shuttle and they actually saved it for us @ the bus station when we tracked it down 2 days later!) there were bus stops in either direction right outside.

customer service - was great from the moment we stepped in till the last moment. (we were even able to do our laundry which is always a plus on long trips!) i did utilize the option to check in early. we had a red eye and arrived around 6-7am. so we paid for 1/2 the day before and we were able to have our room ready upon 7am arrival! complete bonus since my sleeping pills were still working and i needed to crash for just a while longer before really starting our trip. upon leaving the front desk even assisted us with our luggage as we were in a rush trying to run to our shuttle. she saw we were one hand short and assisted us and wished us a good flight! i thought that was a great touch!

computer access - we did not bring a laptop on our honeymoon so having computer access in the lobby to check in for our flights and last minute tour research was very convenient. we were able to print out our boarding passes too without a prob. they also have ipads that you could rent if needed too.

breakfast - is delivered and in your frig the day before so it's ready and waiting for you in the morning. this was convenient and when you're away from home, it felt quaint to sit with your loved one and eat at the dining table. it made it feel even more like home. we also were never able to finish all of the breakfast provided, it's def a great variety and quality and quantity.

rooms - the beds were crazy comfortable. i can especially attest to this as one of the days i felt under the weather and stayed in bed all day and night recovering.

my only note was that during my booking, i asked for a quiet room/floor since i'm a super light sleeper. one of the days we were in the lobby, we heard the front desk telling the caller that the opposite side of the building was the quiet side. if i hadn't heard her mention this, i wouldn't have noticed. being on the side of the building closest to the street did not even affect my sleeping once. plus i wasn't sure if maybe the type of room i requested was only on the side closest to the street. so, i couldn't even hold this one against them! i slept perfectly!

i would def recommend RRH. i think it's a great value and location with great customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank miltonsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We arrived the hotel at 6ish in the evening. We had to wait for a bit for the receptionist, but after that we had a great stay. The rooms are spacious and clean. Just off the main road, it was a short walk to anything we needed. The people who worked there were at hand to book both trips and transportation, and just throughly lovely.

The only thing you need to be awere of is the slightly phsoporous smell of the water, but that seems to be an issue all over Iceland.

I would give this hotel my best recomandations.

Room Tip: We had a room right next to the street, but that wasn't a problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 days in Jan/Feb 2013. This apartment hotel is an excellent chioce if you want something close to the city, but not noisy. The hotel is quiet @ nighttime (whitch is great for reykjavik who can be a really lively city @ nughttime). The bed was comfertable, the rooms where large enough. We even had some friends over and they were thrilled about the hotel. They had cute breakfast baskets in the morning with tea, coffee, milk, juice etc. Bread, some sweets and eggs, cheese etc. Great! Enough food to have 4 breakfast and bring on hiking trips or whatever @ daytime.

The service was great, we had nice recommandations about things to see and do, and also where to dine etc. We would recommend this hotel to everyone who need a chic place to stay in reykjavik.!!

<3 S & H
Norway

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanneTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Had a great time in Reykjavik. Around 10 mins walk into the harbour centre, 5 mins to the main shopping street. Not far from the cathedral and all sights within easy reach. The hotel itself is more like a serviced apartments with 24/7 reception - i.e. there are no real hotel facilities such as restaurants, gyms etc but everyone should know that when they review the website before booking so that shouldn't be a problem. We had a 2 bed apartment which was really smart and modern, a breakfast basket was delivered every day and there was tea, coffee and juice in the fridge on arrival. Free Wifi was a little temperamental but when worked was pretty quick. Only complaint about the apartment was the shower being connected to the bath with no curtain which made self showering a challenge. Staff friendly and willing to help whenever they could. Check out the Grill Market - quite pricey but their tasting menu is superb.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,896 reviews
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
664 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £143 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Residence offers brand new apartment accommodations in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. These are the perfect choice for the independent traveller seeking a place that is more a home away from home, than a hotel. Our luxury suites are perfect for business travellers wanting to make the most of their stay, or for those seeking truly special accommodations. Our quality apartments allow guests a comfortable degree of flexibility and independence, with larger units ideal for families. Though new, our facilities are in prestigious buildings on Reykavík's Historical Registry. We offer two types of breakfast. Choose between our delightful breakfast baskets, delivered straight to your room, and the savory selection at Port 9 next door. However you like to start your day, we‘ve got you covered! A beautiful winebar Port 9 a blend of the best of wines, appetizers and hospitality in an atmosphere of unmatched classical grandeu and timeless elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing