We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed for 1 night in February, 2013 with our 9 year old child. We got a double room with an extra bed for our kid. The room was clean and the beds were wonderfully comforatble. It was very quiet when we were there and we had a great stay.

We got early check-in for 1/2 the price of a full night's rate and it was well worth it! We arrived in the dark and very tired at around 8:30AM. Our room was ready and we took a hot, powerful shower and slept for a few hours. We did not order breakfast but the room had cereal and milk available as a snack anyway and we helped ourselves. We got up at about 1PM and toured Thingvellir and and got back by 6PM.

The hotel is well located and there is a Bonus supermarket near by. Beware, this market closes by 7PM in winter.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XHTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
There are newer reviews for Reykjavik Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for one night. On arrival we were warmly greeted and excitedly shown to the brand new apartments in another building close by. The renovated apartments have been finished to a very high standard and are spacious and beautifully appointed. The location is perfect for exploring the main town. After travelling from Geneva that day we were tired and ready for a good night's sleep. Sadly, the nightclub over the road was so noisy we got very little sleep either from the shouting and music or from the revellers spilling onto the street at closing time. It was a Saturday night. Such a shame because the staff are so lovely and the apartment ideal in all other respects. I would recommend to stay here on the proviso that you ask for a room at the back or in the original building if noise is likley to disturb you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oztravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We were very impressed by the layout, cleanliness, location, and friendliness of the Reykjavik Residence apartment we stayed in. The price was good, the location was perfect, the staff were friendly, and most importantly the room was very clean, large, and comfortable. With the kitchenette area, we were able to do some shopping nearby at the 10-11 convenience store which helped us save money on snacks and breakfasts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielhead615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We came in search of northern lights and stayed here on the basis of the reviews on this site. We were not disappointed in either case.

Its a small apart-hotel in the center of town near to restaurants, shops and the waterfront. We stayed in one of their two larger suites (Alexandrina) which offered great value against the other top end hotels in reykjavik. We stayed in the very good Hotel 101 across the street last year and I preferred the Residences.

There is a good sized living area with some cooking facilities and a wine fridge, a big bathroom (huge bath and separate shower) and bedroom. All decorated to a high standard in muted tones. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

We liked the breakfast which was left on a big tray in the apartment's fridge overnight for us to help ourselves when we wanted it in the morning. Cold meats, bread, yoghurt, fruit juice, etc.

Free Parking was available across the street in a small multi story, although one of our few complaints was that the night receptionist, on duty when we arrived, didn't know that it was available to guests so we needed to sort out the next day.

Great place to stay.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stayed for 1 night in March. Very warm welcome. We were travelling as 2 couples. Our friends were placed in the new building down the road which they said was really lovely but a bit noisy with the nightclub across the road. We had no noise problems and free parking out the back. Our studio apartment was really well equipped and very comfortable. Narrow steep stairs so if luggage is heavy it might take two people but that would be the only problem we could find. The apartment even had the basic breakfast makings (cereal, juice and coffee) which was fantastic given we arrived late in the day on a Saturday. We were very grateful to the RR team for treating us to a free dinner at a lovely nearby restaurant to celebrate their grand opening of the new building.

Room Tip: Stay at number 45 rather than the new building further down the road if you want to avoid weekend ni...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The location of this hotel was amazing! The hotel itself blew me away, I absolutely loved everything. It was very clean and the rooms were super nice. Staff kept asking me if I needed anything and made sure I was happy!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed in an apartment here with our 10 month old baby (they provided a travel cot). The staff were wonderful: helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location. It is in the heart of the city near lots of great cafes, restaurants and lovely shops, but there is no street noise at night. Our room featured great quirky designs, the shower was gorgeous and the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was generous in size, but fairly basic (hard boiled eggs, toast, cream cheese, yoghurt). A fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miggybricklane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 53 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £158 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Residence offers brand new apartment accommodations in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. These are the perfect choice for the independent traveller seeking a place that is more a home away from home, than a hotel. Our luxury suites are perfect for business travellers wanting to make the most of their stay, or for those seeking truly special accommodations. Our quality apartments allow guests a comfortable degree of flexibility and independence, with larger units ideal for families. Though new, our facilities are in prestigious buildings on Reykavík's Historical Registry. We offer two types of breakfast. Choose between our delightful breakfast baskets, delivered straight to your room, and the savory selection at Port 9 next door. However you like to start your day, we‘ve got you covered! A beautiful winebar Port 9 a blend of the best of wines, appetizers and hospitality in an atmosphere of unmatched classical grandeu and timeless elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing