We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good, the bad, and the ugly...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The good, the bad, and the ugly...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

The good: It is a beautiful hotel. Very clean and every amenity they list is there. There is a charming lullabye bed set in one wall in the room, which was very charming. The breakfast they bring is plentiful for two, and then some. The employees in the house we were in, were very nice, polite, and helpful. Bjarki was a star! Anything we needed help with, he bounded up the steps to be of assistance. RR should be proud to have him on their staff! The room was great, clean and spacious.

The bad: Their are NO ELEVATORS. I am 60 years old, and have arthritis in my back and hips, so lugging a 40 pound piece of luggage up 3 stories, was interesting... Even after a great day out in Reykjavik, if walking around and then up the hill, the steps to the room was a challenge.
There was no one there that could help. We plan to return to Reykjavik. I would consider staying here again, but I would pack lighter, and get a room on the second floor!

We were first taken to the first building. We brought the luggage up a few steps, only to learn the house we were in was down the street. They DID call a taxi for us, and paid for it. They have an EARLY CHECK IN FEE, which even The Mark Hopkins in San Francisco does NOT have. When I tried to talk to the manager about it, and explained that we will be checking OUT even earlier, and didn't that counter balance it, he said NO, and the lady behind the desk said "you can check out any time."
I did know about the early check in fee in advance, it was not a surprise. I just tried to reason that we were checking out even earlier than we checked in. He did take a little off of that bill...but I still think it should be eliminated.

The shower was large and wonderful, except there was nowhere to put your soap or shampoo bottles. The escape route, out of the bathroom, does not seem to be something possible to do, and we checked it out from the outside of the building.

The ugly: there is NOTHING ugly to say about this hotel, or about Iceland. Reykjavik is a beautiful city, and the people are fantastic.

Room Tip: Just remember, there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    136
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
269
452
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Booked 3 nights in a studio apartment, but was upgraded to a superior upon arrival.
We rented a car so free parking was essential which the hotel provided. During check in we were moved to the new building 200m along the road. Bit of a hassle as we brought our luggage into the first building.

The room was immaculate, everything seemed new and the decor had a modern and clean look to it. The well stocked kitchen was amazing, complete with an iPod dock on the breakfast table. Go for the breakfast option as they give you so much for the price you pay. It was enough to make brunch when we were on the road. The tv had UK freeview channels on it.

There was a walk in shower (no bathtub) stocked with shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, conditioner. These were not resupplied every night, I had to ask the girl in the reception. The room also had a hair dryer.

There was a safe in the bedroom, and the bed was two singles pushed together. Also there were single duvet covers which I didn't like.

We took so many photos during our visit that we ran out of memory on the SD card. Luckily the hotel had iMacs (2013 model, connected to a printer) and we used it to transfer our pictures into a USB pen.

This is probably our all time favourite hotel that we have stayed in - now that is a bold statement!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kenye-east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I stayed here with my husband and two teenage sons (16 and 18) for seven nights from 5 April 2013. We stayed in the newly opened Suites about a block down the road, the building was once the residence of the Prime Minister, so you can imagine the place is very grand. We stayed in one of the attic rooms with one bedroom, lovely bathroom, kitchenette and a cosy "hole" in the wall where my youngest slept and loved it! Like all previous reviewers, we found it to be excellent, only one slight niggle, and I am sure if I told reception they would have done something about it but I didn't, and that was the room was only hoovered once while we were there, it had dark carpets and they did look a bit grubby. Apart from this every thing was great and that includes the very helpful staff. Iceland is a beautiful country and well worth a visit.

Some tips:-
Be warned Fridays and Saturdays every one comes out to party from midnight to 5am, it did get noisy but the rest of the nights were very quiet.
If you don't like herbal tea, take some tea bags.
We did find Iceland to be expensive and apparently more so in July and August, if you want a drink at night buy some duty free and bring it in.
If you haven't bought any Flybus tickets for your transport from the airport to Reykjavik then you can buy them on Icelandair planes.
If you have booked trips or you want to book them, Iceland Excersions Office is so close, turn right when coming out of the hotel, three minutes walk down hill to the traffic lights and the office is straight across the road.
Plenty of trips to go on, take the right clothes and plenty of money.
Take advantage of the tax refund, for purchases over ISK 4000 ask for a tax receipt at time of purchase, fill the receipt in with your name, passport number and sign it. Take it to the claims desk at the airport and get your tax back. You can also do it in the Tourist Information Office.
If going to the Blue Lagoon, take your own towels.
If you go on the Northern Lights tour and you don't see them, you can go again free of charge and if you don't see them again the tickets are valid for 2 years. The same for the whaling trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scarlet062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Well not just the linen, the whole bed was so beautiful and comfortable! The duved covers had a really pretty embroidery, and the pillow cases had "may your dreams come true" written on... I never thought I'd be this excited about bed sheets, but there you go. Those were special!

The room was equally beautiful and so tastefully decorated. High ceiling and windows filled the room with light when we arrived, the kitchen was very well equipped.

The bathroom was great, with a really nice bathtub, separate shower, toiletries and robes. Everything was very clean.

The location is perfect, kinda central but not on the main street. We didn't have breakfast there, but in front of it there's a really nice breakfast place called Grái Kötturinn!

Room Tip: I booked a "Luxury One-Bedroom Apartment" on offer on booking.com. At the hotel, we were g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncrln81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights here, and we loved every second of it. It's, by far, the nicest and largest European hotel we've ever stayed in. The location is great; the staff is friendly. We can't recommend it highly enough. The only thing that would make it better would be breakfast included.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelBunny36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Reluctant to review this Hotel because all of the reviews are very positive. Stayed for two nights Monday 8th / 9th April as a stopover before a flight to New York. The Hotel is like a large house which is very clean and central to the main shopping street and bars etc. A local Supermarker is nearby for your supplies re drinks..bread..meat etc. Milk and orange juice is supplied by the Residence. The staff are very helpfull and nothing is too much trouble. Town itself is very expensive for drinks and food,so be prepared. Did not have the time for tours etc. but the concert hall and harbour area is worth a visit. This is not a Hotel to sit in the lounge and watch the world go by. Very small and cosy reception area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angusbtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
457 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,315 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

My wife and I spent four nights in a one bedroom luxury apartment in the new building. The new building is about a block down the street from the original building, closer to central area of downtown. The new building has its own reception desk and provides free parking at the public garage across the street.

We arrived on an early morning flight from the US and were able to check in to our room around 10:30. The apartment was very clean and modern. The flat-panel TV carried a large number of English language stations. Breakfast (additional fee) was very good.

Service was outstanding. I had asked a few questions via email prior to arriving in Reykjavik. I always recieved a prompt and thorough response. The people that worked the reception desk in the new building spoke perfect English and were very helpful.

We only had two fairly minor complaints re the apartment. The shower had a relatively flat floor that didn't drain. As a result, you have to use a a squeegee to get the water to drain. Seemed pretty odd that they didn't have a sloped floor. The other issue related to the very small trashcan in the kitchenette/living room - similar to those tiny ones sometimes placed in bathrooms. Every day, we ended up with a fairly good-sized trashpile on the floor of bottles, papers, and other trash because the trashcan was way too small. I suspect that this would be a common problem since a lot of people are staying here for the convience of storing their own drinks and food in the kitchenette.

We had no problems with noise but we were there from M-F. Travel tip: don't bother with Google Maps for Iceland. We found it very unreliable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Property: Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing