We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife have just returned to the UK following a 4 night stay in Reykjavik and we couldn't recommend the Reykjavik Residence highly enough.

First impressions from the outside were mirrored completely inside...clean, well decorated, light and welcoming exactly what you need from a base to explore this amazing county from.

Staff were true professionals...warm, friendly and couldn't do enough for us and out of all the places we have visited across Europe, up there with the very best and a credit to themselves and the hotel management.

The room itself was spacious, the breakfast just right and the facilities in which to make either a short break or longer holiday workable were right on point.

If visiting Reykjavik, this place is slap bang in the middle of the old part of town, a stones throw from the main shopping streets, harbour and tour/bus booking area it covers all the bases and much more.

Written by Rob and Bex Wilks after an unforgettable trip to Iceland.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Robwilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
There are newer reviews for Reykjavik Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it. We stayed in a standard studio apartment from Thursday to Sunday.
Positives:
- location is perfect , close to main town with lots of shops, restaurants and easy to get into route 41 if driving
- rooms were decorated really nice and were warm and cosy, the kitchenette Was small but adequate
-the breakfast is well worth getting as you get allot included so we used most of it for lunches to save money in expensive iceland
-lovely big bath big enough for two

Even better ifs: none of these are major negatives and wouldn't put me off staying again. It would enhance my experience so I hope the hotel considers them.
- there is limited car parking, on our arrival we had to park on another street and wAlk up in the rain. We were lucky enough to get the last space on the other nights but there are only 3 available spaces so not sure what the situation would be like in peAk season.
- the kitchenette is great to have but was very small and had little work surface switch made it difficult to prepare our breakfast and lunches.
- a minor point but the two cups that were provided in the room for tea/coffee were tiny-2 gulps then you have drunk your drink, would of been so much nicer to have a lovely large cup of tea or coffee after a long day exploring iceland.

The road works out the front of the hotel were only an issue in that it would of been nice to explore the street more, but they didn't not bother us at all. We never heard them once during our stay(our room was located in the top floor at the back).

Room Tip: Top floor and at the back was very quiet
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterChuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had a lovely stay here, the only room they had left was a 3 bedroom apartment which was very well laid out and extremely clean. Had a fantastic night's sleep, only complaint was the hole in the road outside - but that's not their fault!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silospen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Lovely place to stay, the nicest, most helpful people and great location right in the middle of town on a quiet road.

We could learn a lot from Icelanders and starting with this establishment it oozes hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XHOSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Reykjavik Residence is in a great location.
It is a very short walk to the harbour. The main shopping and bars/ restaurant area on parallel road. The location is very quiet.

There were road works taking place whilst we stayed. This did not impact us at all. We were out all day. any pick ups for trips were just a 2 minutes walk away.

The apartment was very clean and well kept. There is a safe, ironing facilities, kitchenette area with everything you could possibly need and more. The TV has many English channels (not that we were in long enough to watch it).

We were lucky enough to be upgraded.

The breakfast tray is excellent, with enough to take packed lunches on day trips too. Freshly baked bread is delivered in the morning, orange juice and milk replaced when required.

Free wifi, free local phone calls and maid service daily.

There are staff available 24 hours a day.

A really great place stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TKegbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just got back from a 5 day stay in Iceland and cannot recommend the Residence Hotel enough. We booked based on tripadvisor recommendations and were not disappinted. We were upgraded on arrival to a superior room which was roomier then the standard studio. The room was plenty big enough for myself and my boyfriend - clean, spacious and equipped with tea, coffee and milk. We had the breakfast option and fresh bread on your day every day was really nice. Centrally located, nothing is more than 10 minutes walk away. Roadworks were not a problem as we were out all day and they were almost finished by the time we left. Staff were friendly and gave us plenty of recommedations on where to eat and any other questions we had. Thanks for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

me and my wife stayed over for one night when we arrived in iceland on 8th november 2013. We rented the car and to be honest with the construction going around the hotel, it was very tough to find the small roads leading to it because all roads were blocked off. We had to drive up to the main road next to the harbour and turn in from there instead, was quite a find if you asked me, and frstraiting to say the least. But once we got to the property, it was gorgeous. service was very good. we were put up in room 304, which was on the second floor. Getting the bags up is a little tough as the stairway is narrow and with 20kg suitcases, it does get a little tricky at times. Once we got up, it was a nice cosy room with a small kitchen. room was very cosy, beds were extremely comfortable. Only small issue we had was that in the toilet, there wasnt a shower curtain, so it was a little bit inconvenient when we had to shower, floors were getting soaked through, even with our due diligence in taking care of showering carefully.

location was unbeatable, it was just one street off the main shopping belt, barely 2 min walk. We didnt take the breakfast option, however can i suggest you dont take it as there is a nice bakery just 5 min walk from it. Its called Bakery Sandhot located on Laugavegur 36, which is one street off the hotel and the stuff they sell there is amazing! they open at 630am onwards. You can find that in my other review.

Overall, the property itself is good, service is brilliant, front desk was extremely helpful, even helped us with a reservation at a local icelandic restaurant. However becuase of the construction ongoing now, it is a problem finding the property as there are no direct roads to the hotel, and you have to navigate your own to the small roads at the back of the hotel instead, which doesnt show up on the GPS. Other than that, i would recommend this hotel just because of the property, its as good as it gets and the location is unbeatable. However pls take note of the construction as from the looks of it, it will probably be ongoing for at least another 3-6 months from what we observe.

Room Tip: Try choosing a room on the same floor as the reception or at the first floor which is the same floor...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volvoc70m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £155 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Residence offers brand new apartment accommodations in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. These are the perfect choice for the independent traveller seeking a place that is more a home away from home, than a hotel. Our luxury suites are perfect for business travellers wanting to make the most of their stay, or for those seeking truly special accommodations. Our quality apartments allow guests a comfortable degree of flexibility and independence, with larger units ideal for families. Though new, our facilities are in prestigious buildings on Reykavík's Historical Registry. We offer two types of breakfast. Choose between our delightful breakfast baskets, delivered straight to your room, and the savory selection at Port 9 next door. However you like to start your day, we‘ve got you covered! A beautiful winebar Port 9 a blend of the best of wines, appetizers and hospitality in an atmosphere of unmatched classical grandeu and timeless elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing