We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

exceptional attention to detail. we visited around xmas time - our room was decorated and they left complimentary dried meats and Icelandic xmas drink. front desk was wonderful, helpful and on top of their game. location was great, so close to everything. shower water didn't smell like other/newer hotels. I presume they heat their own water that doesn't rely on sulphur-smelling heating system that the city uses. loved our stay. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LatteAddict12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    156
    28
    6
    0
See reviews for
293
472
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Third trip to Reykjavik; stayed at the Hilton the first two times, which was very nice but too far out of town. Booked a 3 bedroom suite, which was very comfortable, with a full kitchen; would have been nice to have a second bathroom though. The included breakfast was served in room in the form of a generous tray of breads, cheeses, meats, hard-boiled eggs, etc that was replenished in the fridge each day; it was generous enough to use to pack snack each day as well. Location was great, just a block off the main street with easy access everywhere. Should be noted that this is more akin to an apartment rental vs. a full service hotel; no bellmen to help with luggage, no concierge, when the electricity when out the front desk clerk has no idea where the breaker box was, etc. But given the space, comfort, location and price, I would certainly return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vnyrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a fantastic hotel ( even though there are roadworks this does not effect the hotel).
We were given a warm welcome on arrival and shown to our lovely room. The room was spacious, cosy and had everything we needed. It was tastefully decorated with a comfortable bed ,good kitchen area ,in fact you couldn't ask for anymore.
The staff were helpful , on the night our trip to the Northern Lights was cancelled we were called by the receptionist to tell us there were sightings in the city, if she had not told us this we may have missed them, small touches like this make you feel like a valued guest and not just a paying customer.
Would definitely recommend the breakfast tray, plenty of choice ( fresh bread is the best ever) and sets you up for the day, also great as you are not restricted to breakfast times as you would be in a restaurant.
There is nothing bad about this hotel and would definitely recommend as very central and you are guaranteed a warm welcome and helpful staff for any questions / recommedations during your stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCHUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was the perfect place to stay, fantastic location, great room and the staff were exceptional providing us with lots of great information for our trip. Staying here really enhanced out holiday, we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahkelly267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Our spacious apartment with it's comfy bed and down duvets was painted in soothing shades of blue and green. It had a very Scandinavian/Ikea vibe, perhaps due to the Ikea furnishings (although this didn't bother us, it was all quite charming) The location is superb, one block over from a major shopping street, Laugavegur. We walked from the hotel to the main church (Hallgrimskirkja) to the National Museum of Iceland, Volcano House and back on a very cold day and still found it doable. The breakfast tray in the fridge was ample enough for both breakfast and lunch, and the fresh bread left on the door handle each morning was superb. The staff were extremely kind and friendly, if occasionally misinformed. (Reykjavik Excursions buses don't have restrooms, but that's a story for another review.) The bathroom was nice but suffered from a lack of shelving to put toiletries on, having only a small shelf above the sink. I solved that problem by placing one of the foam ottomans next to the sink and using it for my toiletries, putting it back before we left for the day. The shower setup was kind of awkward, but we made do. We didn't mind the faint sulfur smell of the hot water as it dissipated quickly and reminded us that we were in a very special place. The only reason I'm not giving the place five stars is because of the construction noise. When I booked the place I'd read reviews lauding it except for the extensive road construction and it's attendant noise. I foolishly assumed that the work 'had' to be done by the time we got there. Surprise! They are a month and half behind schedule, necessitating drop-offs on the next street and offering lots of early morning noise. Oddly, the hotel missed the chance to be upfront on check in. At the least they should have a note in each room saying something to the effect of "We're sorry about the noise which is out of our control but here's some earplugs to help you cope" etc. Otherwise, wouldn't hesitate to return! Food in Iceland is crazy expensive so make sure to get the included breakfast, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Don't make our mistake and accept a room fronting the construction if you can help it. Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyWandererPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed 1st December for 6 nights. Superior studio - everything was very clean, provided free milk and orange juice as well as cleaning the room daily. If you stay indulge in their breakfast at least once its very generous with different cheese and fresh breads.

The main street Laugavegur, sun voyager and Harpa are all within walking distance, perfect! The roadworks were quite quiet and really were not a problem. Tour companies will pick you up from Hotel Klopp less than 1min walk down the road.

The staff are what really made the stay even better, super friendly each day they helped with booking tours, calling taxis even printed a dictionary out for us. Nothing was too much even when we asked for breakfast for the next day after 8pm.

There is a reason this hotel has good reviews, you will not be disappointed. A special mention to Lara and Guðmundur who went above and beyond in helping us.

Will definitely stay again when visiting Iceland. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeshSmalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Superb location in central Reykjavik. The perfect blend of a top quality hotel room comfort and service with the independence of an apartment. Breakfast supplies were left in the room, with wonderful fresh bread delivered each morning. So breakfast in bed at your own time, but the room was still serviced daily. Robes provided. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful. It was recommend by a friend who stayed there last year, and I would happily recommend to others, and return. Very good value for money too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Are-any-left
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
573 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,656 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,027 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Property: Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Residence offers brand new apartment accommodations in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. These are the perfect choice for the independent traveller seeking a place that is more a home away from home, than a hotel. Our luxury suites are perfect for business travellers wanting to make the most of their stay, or for those seeking truly special accommodations. Our quality apartments allow guests a comfortable degree of flexibility and independence, with larger units ideal for families. Though new, our facilities are in prestigious buildings on Reykavík's Historical Registry. We offer two types of breakfast. Choose between our delightful breakfast baskets, delivered straight to your room, and the savory selection at Port 9 next door. However you like to start your day, we‘ve got you covered! A beautiful winebar Port 9 a blend of the best of wines, appetizers and hospitality in an atmosphere of unmatched classical grandeu and timeless elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing