We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“comfortable central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Staying here as I type, very comfortable and central for the harbour and all bus trips and restaurant s, excellent value for money, breakfast tray is a treat as is fresh bread delivered to your door by 7.30am, would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    135
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
265
444
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Headed to this hotel after browsing TripAdvisor for the best hotels in Iceland. This one looked smart, had great reviews, and was in what seemed like the perfect location.
I can confirm that the location is perfect! You can stay in the Grand Hotel, or the Hilton, but they are both on the wrong side of the town and you'd be far better off staying so close to the main street where the Reykjavik Residence is located. From here it's a 2 minute walk to the main travel operators base at 'Iceland Excursions' for all excursions such as Northern Lights and The Golden Circle, but also far enough away to feel like its a quiet peaceful part of Reykjavik.

The room itself was spotlessly clean, and very homely. The decor wouldn't have looked out of place in a 5 Star hotel! Very plush, soft comfy beds, and a very smart kitchenette attached to the rom with enough amenities for comfortable living throughout the stay.

Alice met us at the door of the Residence as we were immediately drawn to the warmth of the place. A great team of people run this place, and the 24hr desk is a nice touch for such an individual, boutique hotel.
Above everything else, the customer service was top notch, and that alone means we would return here, and have recommended the Reykjavik Residence to all family and friends!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101, on the ground floor. Even though there is some building work happening outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank T0mH0ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I love this hotel! We booked 4 nights in a studio room, and got upgraded to a superior studio when we arrived. The hotel has a classical style to it, and makes you feel right at home. It is also reasonably priced.

The hotel is located one street away from the main street where a lot of shops and cafes are, which means it's really convenient yet quiet. Short walk to the harbour (try Icelandic Fish & Chips). It is easily enough to get to, though the construction on the road right outside has been going on for months (or years?) and it is closed to traffic. Not a big deal, and no noise disturbance at all. The BSI terminal is about 20min walk though, so it's best to get the flybus service that drops you at the hotel if you have heavy luggage. Otherwise a taxi ride to/from BSI terminal costs about ISK2,000.

From the moment we were greeted to the time we left, the service was impeccable. The front desk staff were really friendly and helpful (it's manned 24hr, amazing!) You can tell they really care about the comfort of their guests.

I enjoyed the room very much. It's beautifully decorated and spacious, with 3 heaters (1 in the bathroom). The kitchenette was well equipped for preparing our own food, and there's a mini-fridge where we could keep food and drinks and leftovers from breakfast. The breakfast tray was excellent! Always more than enough for the morning plus some for lunch. Yoghurt, cheese, ham, fruits, spreads, small chocolates, tea and coffee sachets, milk, juice, and every morning a loaf of freshly baked bread is delivered to the door. The bread is my favourite - warm and delicious.

I felt a little sad leaving this place, and highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littleclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed from the 3rd-6th January, and cannot praise this place enough.

Our room 301 was perfect for the two of us, with space to sit and relax when we were not busy on excursions.

The staff were really helpful, especially Renate who was ever patient with my endless requests for help, down to finding us a travel adaptor when ours broke.

The breakfast is really good and comes in handy when the excursions do not include lunch, and the bread is unbelievable, still warm and delicious.

Can't wait to go back again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AJI1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Uk
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I agree with most of the reviews already posted. My partner and I stayed for 4 days just after new year. This really is a pleasant hotel. All the staff were very friendly and helpful - including ever willing to make calls to tour companies for our day trips. We stayed in room 103 clean tidy generously sized. The most comfortable hotel bed we have found yet. Good sized bathroom. Maid service daily. Big breakfast tray each day and fresh bread each morning. See photos posted. Anything unused you can put in the fridge for another time. People mention the roadworks. Noise wise we didnt notice them at all and we were late risers that week. The good news is that I really think they should be completed fairly soon as we saw a guy on our last day cementing the curb stones by hand. I think they just need to reinstate the top surfaces of the road and pavement (sidewalk to our American cousins!). Please dont let this put you off. The pavements and crossing of the road are perfectly navigable on foot. If you have a car hire you might want to check with the hotel about the road being open\parking.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick-BrisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I can't recommend this place enough! The cost was reasonable (for Reyjkavik, where everything costs a small mortgage). The room was very comfortable and very tastefully decorated. The breakfast option is well worth it, given the cost of EVERYTHING there.

The best part, what I can't say enough good stuff about, are the staff/proprietors. I don't even remember what rating the place has, but the service is definitely 5 star. Excellent location, too.

You won't regret staying there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a few days in April and the accomodations were great. We stayed in the Annex, which is just a few buildings down from the main hotel. The Annex had just opened and was beautiful. Our room had a small but complete kitchen with a table for 4, a bedroom with 2 twin beds and two other sleeping areas and a very nice big bathroom.
We would ask directions for everything and the staff always was efficient and would hand us a printed out map with the hilighted trail for us to follow! and off we would go. We asked for recommendations for restaurants and each one they suggested was great.
The hotel is in a very central location. You can walk to almost everywhere and if you need to be picked up the hotel will arrange it for you.
I had a major family emergency while I was there and the staff could not have been more helpful. They let us print off different things at all hours and we just so so nice.
Stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verona1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,431 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Property: Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing