We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our stay started somewhat awkward when we realized that the room we reserved is not big enough for our family. One of the owners came to find for us a solution and we ended up getting another apartment in the same property for a substantially reduced fare. The apartment we received was beautiful! Two bedrooms and a living room with a kitchenette all nicely equipped. The kitchenette is partially stuffed with things like milk, cereal, coffee, that is replenished daily at no cost. The property is spread on several buildings. Ours was in a less attractive street but very quiet and close to Reykjavik’s main street. There is free high speed Wi-Fi in the room that works excellent. The bottom line, excellent and greatly located property.

Room Tip: Parking in front of the hotel costs 20 euros per night. One block down the street parking is free of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGoPens_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    137
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
270
452
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Cutest one bedroom apartment ever. Full of nice touches. Very clean and extremely well kept up. A full basket of food filled with cheeses, yogurt, meats, fruit etc was put into our frig every day. A loaf of freshly baked bread from a local bakery was hung from our door every morning. The staff was extremely helpful, professional and very friendly. They spoke english as if they had been speaking it their whole life. The room had a very modern kitchenette, flat screen tv, large modern bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and separate shower, and room darkening shades in all windows due to the 24 hr sunlight in June. The location is very nice, literally steps from the main street in Reykjavik for shopping, dining and people watching. We found parking on the street nearby, but a public lot is directly across the street from the hotel if needed. A lovely park is just yards away that looks out onto the sunset in the middle of the night in June. This hotel is a historical building and tons of charm, but modern amenities. Nothing bad about this hotel at all.

Room Tip: The upper floors have very nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Tastefully decorated, spacious and close to everything. This hotel has great staff as well - we were greeted with a smile and lots of help, even though we arrived at 1am (and not a little bit dopey from jet lag). Drip coffee percolator and cereal on the house. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Probably the most beautiful hotel in Reykjavik in the former embassy of Norway. Very central location. The best is the helpful staff which supported us in organizing our tours. They also granted us a late check out which eas very helpful after an extended mid summer day & night journey to the glacier lakes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkM_Koeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very clean, well equipped modern apartment in the center of Reykjavik - nonetheless, it was quiet. We stayed here for just one night but it's a great space for a couple with kids as it has a double bed, two single beds, and a good-size kitchen/living room. We were told it was just renovated, and everything was super clean. The beds are very comfortable, and I liked that they'd put coffee, tea, milk and sugar for us already when we arrived.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSigge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in the three-bedroom apartment during our six-day stay in Reykjavik, and had a very positive experience. Thanks particularly to Gumi and Renata for their kind help to us throughout our stay in helping with tour/transportation arrangements, and general info on the town.

RR is conveniently located walking distance from the main attractions in Reykjavik: 2-3 blocks from the waterfront, 1 block from Laugavegur (the restuarant/bar street), 15 minutes from the wharf, 15 minutes from the Hallgrímskirkja .... you get the point. Location is quiet, set on a 1-way road. Neighbours I ran into were friendly as well.

Regarding the apt layout: We were in the 3BR at Hverfisgata 45, which is a "flat" in a building separate from the main RR house where the check-in counter is. In fact, the individual rooms are in the "main" RR house, while the larger apartments are in the back. This means that the apartment-style flat had total privacy. Living + Dining room was spacious enough for some group tv + board game sessions (though there is only 1.5 couches, so you'll need to pull up some dining table chairs if you play in the living room). Also: there is only one bathroom amongst 3 bedrooms, so it might take everyone a while to get ready in the mornings/evenings if you have the same wash-up routines!

As advertised, the apartment was indeed fully equipped, with pots/pans, cutlery, glasses. Food included in the price covers unlimited corn flakes, milk, orange juice. There's a grocery store 5 min down the road where we bought some breakfast supplies. RR also supplied us hard boiled eggs when we ran out. RR was also generous with their toiletries (Greenland brand). Washer/dryer in the washroom; no detergent provided (but yes, dishwashing detergent comes in the kitchen).

One tip: the TV at first glance only has 4-5 channels. But you should access the full list of channels via the menu (not the up-down buttons, strangely). Happy surfing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aiyataibao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a hotel and apartment. Very spacious with everything you need. Service is exemplary. We had one issue which was resolved promptly. The management and staff are outstanding. Location is perfect.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on a higher floor to be off the street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mugsylosangeles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Property: Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing