We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a five day trip to Iceland and this hotel looked lovely, when we arrived and the minibus was dropping people off, this place definitely looked the nicest of the bunch! The room was big, light and comfortable, with a compact kitchen area, wetroom style bathroom and 2 big windows. The location was great, easily walkable to shops, restaurants, tourist spots and the coast.

Breakfast was provided each morning in a basket, with fresh bread hung on the door handle overnight - it was amazing! And there was plenty enough to stretch to lunch too.

The receptionist was great and helpful.

Just make sure you are expecting the smell of sulphur when you brush your teeth or take a shower - it takes a little getting used to!

I would absolutely recommend Rekyjavik Residence to a couple or friends who want to explore Iceland and return to a warm, stylish, comfy room. I would definitely book again if I choose to go back to Rekyjavik.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel, therefore it was a corner room with 2 big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank JenniferL092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed in the Superior Studio suite two times (two weeks apart) and really have to comment on the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at the front desk. No question or request was too much for the staff. Even a request on Icelandic music was responded to by a list of the top Icelandic artists and where to get them. On both arrivals we either arrived very early in the morning or late at night and we encountered no problems getting into our room. The hotel charges a fee of half the room rate for checking in early (7:00 a.m) or staying until 10:00 p.m, but it was worth it. Especially after a long over night flight. Parking for us was never a problem as we were able to park behind the building and on one occasion, the front desk clerk even walked down the street with me to assure me that the parking spot I parked in was O.K. The hotel is spread out over 3 heritage buildings and the one we were in never presented us with excessive construction or road noise. This place is a real cozy place to return to after a long day of touring around Iceland. Restaurants in Reykjavik are a bit expensive, but we did find an Organic healthy place called Glo a couple of blocks from the hotel that was reasonably priced and really good, if you like that kind of stuff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Finkel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stopped in Reykjavik for a couple of nights on our way home from a two week trip to London and Denmark. Had never been to Iceland before. This hotel was terrific. Clean, comfortable, well-appointed rooms, with good beds. The in-room breakfast supplied was well above-average (couldn't eat it all). The kitchenette was convenient. Overall, a good value in an otherwise pretty expensive country. The front desk staff were cheerful and helpful. Is within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Loved our short stay. Will stay there again when we return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel with a group and had a great experience. We were in four different apartments, all of which were different from each other, all of which were nice. We had no problems with booking, payment, or anything else. The staff were super helpful--we had a couple of minor problems (I was unclear in the bedding configuration and we needed the rooms rearranged; we had parking issues--more on that below) and they dealt with them admirably and in a friendly way. Overall, we were super happy and I give this hotel a strong recommendation.

Pros:
*Apartments are well set up and spacious.
*Beds were comfortable
*Several reviews have commented about a little bit of street noise due to its central location, but we didn't have any issues--it was very quiet while we were there and there were other guests sharing the building, so it wasn't that the hotel was empty except for us :-)
*Kitchen had everything we needed, included coffee maker as well as coffee, tea, filters (one apt actually had a Keurig and K-cups), cereal, orange juice, milk, cleaning supplies, etc.
*Because it is a hotel, not a vacation rental, you do get change of towels, shampoo, etc. every day
*There is a mini bar and a bottle of wine available in the rooms. Because we were there with students, we had to ask for these to be removed, and the staff--Bless them--spent the first half hour of our arrival clearing our mini-bars and rearranging beds (see above) and were SUPER awesome about it. I think for a lot of people the mini bar/wine is a plus, but if you don't want the stuff in there, you can request that they remove it ahead of time.
*The furnishings, etc. are of a high quality.
*very clean
*very safe feeling. They have a security guard that goes between buildings as well, although there was nothing to me that indicated this was necessary--I think it's just a precaution.
*location is very good--just a block to the main shopping street and a few blocks to the older part of town.
*there is a Bonus supermarket a few blocks away--easy walking distance for groceries, etc.

Cons:
*There weren't any significant ones. The only thing I would say here is that there is an option when you book to pay 20 euro a day for parking. Unless your cars are tiiiiiiny, don't choose this option. There is very easy on street, metered parking available within a few blocks of the hotel and also a large parking garage very nearby. ASK about parking when you check in as there are some details about parking (like the fact that the garage doesn't open until 7 AM or something like that, so if you have an early flight it's a no-go), but in general parking is easy as long as you don't mind walking a few blocks. And I do mean a few--it's not far. We had paid for 3 parking spots because we had 3 larger vehicles (a suburban, a 9-persona van, and a minivan) and as it turned out it was a fiasco because we had 3 larger vehicles. There are a few spots that the hotel owns, which is what you are paying for, but they are really intended for small vehicles and the presence of a kindergarten across the street means that during certain times of day they can be very hard to be in and out of. We spent a ridiculous amount of time trying to fit large cars in small spots before figuring out that we should just use the parking garage (which the hotel paid for, since we had paid for our spots, but it would have been cheaper for us to just pay the garage and half the trouble for everyone), and then on the last day just used on street parking since we had an early departure (so if we can get those three big vehicles in a garage or on-street parking, that should tell you that it's pretty easy to access). So, again, it's not really a con--just don't pay the hotel for parking, find it yourself, and you are good to go. That being said, throughout all of that the hotel staff was super nice and helpful, and did refund our last night's parking when we ended up using the metered parking instead.

In General:
*I talked about parking above, but if you are traveling without a car this is still a good location--very central and not too far from one of the major bus stations
*If you are trying to figure out whether to squish people into a 2 BR or just pay more for a larger one, pay more for a larger one. Both 2 and 3 BR were very nice and a fine size, but the 3BR had seperate kitchen and living areas and were generally more spacious. So if you are on the fence, go for the 3 BR, but if you need to get a 2 BR or if you only have a few people, the 2BR is just fine.
*Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tellana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay in Iceland. I selected the Reykjavik Residence Hotel based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is in a central location in Reykjavik making it easy to get to restaurants, shops, sites and the harbor. My tastefully-decorated room was immaculately clean. I was concerned about light keeping me up at night (24 hour daylight in July) but there were room-darkening curtains that blocked the majority of light. The beds (2 twins that could be pushed together to make a double) were very comfortable. A delicious tray of breakfast goodies was stocked in my refrigerator each day. The best part was the 1/2 loaf of freshly-backed bread hanging on the door handle every morning. I was in Reykjavik for a wedding and friends who had reservations at other locations in Reykjavik wished they had made reservations at this hotel. A little pricey but I give the Reykjavik Residence Hotel my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank youngknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our large apartment at the hotel was modern, spacious and comfortable. The hotel is near all of the major sights in Reykjavik, and we walked everywhere. A pleasant staff gave helpful advice. Too bad there were no black-out shades in the bedroom, so we used eye shades for sleeping in the never-ending summer days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alandynner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Picked this hotel because of trip advisor review. no regrets..every was wonderful and friendly and helpful. loved iceland and hope to return someday and drive the ring road. Thanks ....As far as a room..remember it is light all the time in the summer and people are out and about in the night. slept from 4pm til 11am the first day so didn't hear a thing!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,841 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
640 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,089 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £135 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Residence offers brand new apartment accommodations in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. These are the perfect choice for the independent traveller seeking a place that is more a home away from home, than a hotel. Our luxury suites are perfect for business travellers wanting to make the most of their stay, or for those seeking truly special accommodations. Our quality apartments allow guests a comfortable degree of flexibility and independence, with larger units ideal for families. Though new, our facilities are in prestigious buildings on Reykavík's Historical Registry. We offer two types of breakfast. Choose between our delightful breakfast baskets, delivered straight to your room, and the savory selection at Port 9 next door. However you like to start your day, we‘ve got you covered! A beautiful winebar Port 9 a blend of the best of wines, appetizers and hospitality in an atmosphere of unmatched classical grandeu and timeless elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing