We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snow Mobiling and Gold Circle Tour - Incredible!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eskimos Iceland

Eskimos Iceland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eskimos Iceland custom-designs itineraries for individuals, small groups and travel agencies. We create experiences based on each traveller's time frame, interests and budget. We operate private tours, as well as using partners operators to make you experience the most of Iceland. Our mission is to build your dream trip and saving you the hassle.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snow Mobiling and Gold Circle Tour - Incredible!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had to arrange a visit to Iceland for 10 guys, we wanted to do something that would be fun and an experience you would never forget!.

I came across an article in a UK Newspaper, stating "snow mobiling - gold circle" is a must do! and an email was listed. I sent an email across and a lady called Þóra replied from Eskimos - Day Tours. From this point on we exchanged many emails, (mainly as I had so many questions). Þóra was so helpful and nice, she answered everything! Making the whole process so easy.

(This was much needed when trying to arrange a trip for a big group)

We decided to go on the "gold circle - Snow Mobiling adventure" Wow! So, Saturday AM at 8:30, we were greeted at our apartment (as they collect you and drop you back again) in Reykjavik with what they call a "Super Jeep". This thing was huge, it seated 10 people. As soon as we walked out our front door and saw this huge 4x4,everyone was grinning! It was the biggest jeep we've seen. Once onboard, our Driver put a headset on, and started to explain the history of Iceland as we took in the views.

The drive to the glacier was brilliant, we stopped at various sites on the way, with amazing views.
There was time for photos, lunch and no stress at all. Back on board the "Super Jeep" and we took off, heading high into the mountains. This was great fun, especially when our Tour Guide, decided to take us "off-road" to get to our destination.

Once we arrived at the snow mobiling, we collected our gear (overalls, helmets etc), had a safety demo, then jumped on. We opted for "single person, snow mobiles" I highly recommend this, you get the best experience without having a passenger hanging on. We had a 1 hour drive across the glacier, with a stop half way through, this is when you take pics, mess around in the deep snow and realise how quiet, cold and stunning it is there.

Back onto the snow mobile and head on back, what an amazing experience. You might thing 1hour isn't enough, it really is enough, you get the full experience, and you're exhausted once you come back due to hanging on, bouncing about etc.

Back into the Super Jeep, and we're off again, this time to "Gullfoss" this is a beautiful waterfall, again, there was no stress, we could walk around, get something to eat, (whilst our guide was happy to chill in his super-jeep, after giving us some very informative information regarding the location)

Jump into the Super Jeep (literally), this time we're heading to Geysir ! Wow, great site! Every 6/7 minutes, this thing is pumping hot water high into the air! Great photos, especially for people who dont realise you "will get wet" if you stand in the wrong place. Again, something to eat/drink if you wish. Back into the jeep and taken back to our apartment.

Without doubt, this 1 day summarised for us, what Iceland is all about. Big Jeeps, snow mobiling, gold circle tour..

All in, I think the day was around 8 hours, and we have great memories.

If you're lucky enough to communicate with Þóra, she'll make the process very simple and will explain everything, cant recommend her enough.

Enjoy!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    16
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Eskimos provided a fantastic and speedy service. They are knowledgeable and friendly and really took the time to understand what kind of holiday I wanted. They advised on some great activities and everything they booked happened without a hitch. Anybody going on holiday in Iceland should work with Eskimo as they really made the difference between a good holiday and a great experience. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was my first trip to Iceland & I needed some help making decisions. I contacted 2 different tour companies - but Eskimo was the fastest to reply & the most helpful. Thora helped narrow down my interests into an itinerary that was do-able in the time I had. In the end, I booked 1 private tour to the Snaefellsnes penninsula & 1 small-group tour of the South coast & Jokulsarlon. The private tour was done with an Eskimos tour guide, Baldur. The whole tour was fantastic - even when we had a small hiccup in the plans. It was well worth having a private tour! The small group tour was contracted out to a different company - and at the last minute they cancelled the tour due to not having enough people. Thora handled this issue vey well & arranged for a private tour for us instead at the last minute. The south coast & Jokulsarlon was amazing & the private tour was great. Overall, Eskimos was professional, efficient & went out of their way to help us. I would book through them again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelbugBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dont' book anything with 'Eskimos'!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The only thing that spoiled the whole experience of enjoying Iceland was our dealings with the company called Eskimos. We booked the dog sledding tour with them and they charged us 73000 Kronas for the trip which lasted about 2 hours from door to door. 50% of this amount goes to Eskimos who only take the order and organise the transport to the site (25 minutes from Reykjavik) where other company (dogsledding.is) actually run the dogs. Our fault! We didn't shop around and look into other options. Another tour we went on we booked with Icelimo Luxury Travel . And it was one of the best trips we've ever had. Lasted almost 12 hours and was packed with incredible experiences. Our guide/driver was Greg Vajdic who is not just a real professional, but also a great person to talk to and learn from. This tour cost us 67,800 Kronas for 2 including dinner! Go with Icelimo Luxury Travel, they organise any kind of tours available in Iceland and avoid the frustration of feeling that you were cheated, as we did after our experience with Eskimos.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Mila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dogsledding - an experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Eskimos...Excellent service from start to finish. The website is easy to navigate and the email communication from enquiry through to booking was prompt and efficient. The tour guide collected us from our hotel and we travelled in a people carrier (much better than any coach tour we have previously been on!) The guide was informative and very helpful. The highlight of the tour we booked was being pulled across a glacier by a pack of huskies. Dogsledding Iceland runs this and I can honestly say it was one of the best experiences I have ever had! We got to spend time getting to know the huskies and then were both given the opportunity to either sit on the sled and enjoy the ride across the stunning glacier / or join the guide and have a go at "Mushing!" I highly recommend Eskimos and will be booking with them again next year when we return to Iceland.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eskimos Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Eskimos Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing