We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They compensate well when overbooked.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
PA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“They compensate well when overbooked.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I can't review the hotel's amenities, as they overbooked, even though we booked them 4 months in advance. I can tell you that they compensated us well with their mistake, arranging for our stay at the Hotel Reykjavik Centrum instead, and included breakfast as well. So, they certainly know how to fix a problem.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReenPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    293
    78
    24
    16
See reviews for
105
339
93
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The hotel is currently under going a refurbishment but the rooms were clean and quiet. The hotel is in a great location and the staff were really helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLizD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here for a week. This hotel is in a great location, a walk-able distance from the main sights in the city and there are plenty of restaurants & bars nearby.

The room was very clean & well presented. Breakfast was ok.

BUT, it is close to the nightlife and as such on Friday & Saturday it's very noisy until the locals stop partying - which as they don't go out until after midnight is after 7am!

If you're going for nightlife then great - it was quiet when we got back on the sunday morning :)

(There is no noise issues from Sun-Thu)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night only as we were moving to another place with kitchen next day. However we found that this hotel was also a good one and we did struggle whether we should stay here for the rest of the time. (The rate was actually cheaper here.) It was a very nice and decent hotel. The price was even cheaper than a room in a hostel but a lot more decent. If you need a quite, clean, comfy place to stay, I will recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the sulphur smell from the tap water. It is normal and the smell is actually f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherylcym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I enjoyed an after-Christmas trip to Reykjavik and stayed at this boutique hotel in the heart of Reykjavik. The hotel is managed by an energetic, extremely professional, young man named Birnir, who seems wise beyond his young 26 years. The staff is knowledgeable and very helpful. The rooms are smartly decorated, very clean, and comfortable. The hotel's central location makes walking to shopping, touring, and dining very easy. We definitely plan to return!

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the back of the hotel as the front, street facing rooms can be noisy because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I chose this hotel after reading all the great reviews on TripAdvisor and I'm so pleased I did. The hotel is in a fantastic location, right in the heart of everything including shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife. The harbour is a very short stroll away as is the Hallgrímskirkja church with its panoramic views across Reykjavik. I had read that a number of rooms on the 5th floor had a double bed and a balcony - I requested this at the time of booking and to my delight, we were allocated room 501 which was perfectly acceptable and had a modern bathroom, free tea/coffee making facilities, minibar, adjustable heating and a nice cosy bed. With regards to noise, the hotel claim to have double and triple glazing and I have to say, I enjoyed 3 nights of uninterrupted sleep but then I am quite a heavy sleeper. Breakfast was okay but basic - many hotels didn't offer breakfast in with the price so we tried to view it as a bonus. Anna, Heidrun and Artem work on reception ... they all spoke excellent english and were extremely helpful in assisting us with booking trips.

Had an absolutely fantastic time in Reykjavik whale watching with Elding [bookable in hotel or at harbour] and saw Humback and Orca [killer] whales http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w0As3ht44rg Also went to the geothermal Blue Lagoon and even managed to witness the Northern Lights whilst we were there [Jan 20-23]. All in all, this was a very memorable holiday filled with some great experiences and in our view, was well worth every penny! :)

A TIP RE. NORTHERN LIGHTS: As far as I am aware, you will not be able to photograph the Northern Lights unless you have an SLR camera and a tripod and you will need to have your camera set on a long exposure.

Room Tip: Room 501 has a double bed and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed in a single room in the front of the hotel facing the street in July, 2011. The hotel had only been open a very short time, and some things were not finished (trim in the stairwells) or were buggy (wifi signal) that may have been fixed by now.

Pro -

Clean design. The single room was small and narrow, but didn't feel too cramped.
Reasonable rates (I prepaid through an online agency)

Minor Cons -

There is a lot of street noise - the area has several bars. Bring earplugs to sleep. I used them.
The single rooms have "wet" showers - the drain is in the floor and there is no stall or tub. The water is also pumped directly from hot springs so has a mild sulfurous smell. You may want to bring moisturizer; I found it drying.

I loved Reykjavik and Iceland and found this a convenient base to stay in. It's better if you want to partake in Reykjavik's nightlife. If you want more quiet, stay off the main street.

Room Tip: Try and stay at the back for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyBalletGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Property: City Center Hotel
Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel seafood restaurant "Wine and Shell" specialises in Icelandic mussels and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing