We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend the hotel”
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We greatly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Location is amazing. Hotel is clean. And the staff at the reception (Daniel and Vigdis) were very helpful and friendly - i only have positives to say about them. I'll come back to this hotel in part to see them again.

The one negative was that the rooms were hot on the top (6th) floor.

Room Tip: avoid the top floor, they are too hot
Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank alain b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
There are newer reviews for City Center Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

We used City Center Hotel as a home-base for our wedding and were thoroughly impressed by how hard everybody at the hotel worked to help us out. In paticular, Birnir was a tremendous resource throughout. The rooms are clean, the location is excellent, the breakfast is good, the cost is low, and the service is perfect. Our party took up about 10 rooms and all had nothing but positive things to say. Strongly recommend City Center!!

Room Tip: Since the rooms are of varying sizes make sure to ask for a large one. Rooms on higher floors are a...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbottoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is a great hotel. The rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean. The breakfast is good and plentiful. For the money in Reykjavik it is hard to imagine anywhere better. There's a bit of noise from the street sometimes but overall an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bh280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed at the City Center Hotel the end of April. The staff was very friendly and helpful.Even though we arrived early. we were able to check in at 10 am. They were considerate and even changed our travel plans to the Blue Lagoon for later that day.
The room was a bit small, but clean and attractive.
The location was also very good, as we could walk to many sites.
I would definately stay here again
Garrett

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
Thank garcom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

stayed here for two nights and had a great relaxing time. perfect place for a hotel near the shopping streets habour just a great palce to stay. rooms very modern and extremely clean. stayed in room 405 which over looked parliament square. staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast seemed somewhat sparse but had eveything you needed to fill your boots for the rest of the day. overall excellent would stay again.

Room Tip: we had room 405 which had great view of the square but you can request rooms on floor 5 that have a...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardiffgirl255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION: City Center Hotel is excellently located in the heart of Reykjavik, and you can easily walk to all the major sights, the waterfront, and the amazing pylsurs (hot dogs) are just a few seconds away! There is even a small grocery store right across the square next to the hotel. We never had trouble finding parking even though the hotel is right in the center of town.

Our room, room 505, was fantastic. Modern, tastefully decorated with some nice artistic touches, great linens, a balcony, beautiful windows, large flatscreen TV, modern bathroom (although do be forewarned that most of the water in Reykjavik smells like sulfur!!). We loved the room. We arrived really early on our first day due to an early morning flight arrival, and asked the receptionist if we could have access to our room early to take a much needed nap. This was 9 am, and she had the cleaning staff clean the room immediately for us!

For the price we paid ($75/night on Expedia), we could not have asked for more!

We stayed at this hotel on a Sunday and Monday night on the 5th floor, so we can't comment on any noise issues mentioned in earlier posts. It was perfectly quiet!

Room Tip: Room 505 was fantastic, and even has a balcony! From the floorplan of the hotel, it seems to be a lo...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MTLbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

We just returned from this hotel... Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Very central location. Helpful, friendly staff who booked trips for us and recommended places to eat.
Breakfast was available which was quite basic but was easy, stress free and a good start to the day without having to go out looking for somewhere ino the morning.

It is right in the centre with restaurants on the same road and supermarkets and the harbour for whale trips etc is only 5mins walk.

We were originally on second floor at the front of the building... You could here people outside but it wasn't too bad (i always sleep with ear plugs when away so nothing wakes me up!) Beds were very comfy. Everything you need is there. Shampoo (no conditioner) shower gel, sewing kit, tooth brush, razor, shower cap, robe, slippers.

The rooms and bathrooms and nice, look newly refurbished and everywhere is so clean! But that goes for Iceland as a whole...

Our shower broke the first morning we were there ans they fixed it while we were out, but it broke again. So they moved us to another room with no problem at all. A superior room with a bath and a balcony. It was more spacious and lovely (not sure what the extra cost would be but don't think I would pay that much extra for the upgrade unless you want the bath or balcony maybe for a smoker)

If i return to Iceland (which would require a while did save up as very expensive there) then I would defiantely stay there again

Thank you for a great few days

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,766 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 53 in Reykjavik
397 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#36 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,839 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £119 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel seafood restaurant "Wine and Shell" specialises in Icelandic mussels and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing