We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place!”
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Can't say enough about our experience in the City Center Hotel! The staff was so pleasant, they assisted our every need. At one point we were personally escorted to a nearby restaurant! The breakfast was delicious and had much diversity. It is located in a convenient spot, everything was within walking distance. The room was clean, neat, comfortable and reflected the flavor of Iceland. The bathroom was spacious.

The Micro Beer bar, in the lobby, is a local favorite. I was surprised when our tour guide recommended the City Center Hotel bar as a "place to go."

Look no further...you found the perfect place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
There are newer reviews for City Center Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed there on august 2013 for 5 days and there were great!

Considering it was our honeymoon they gave us a free upgrade of our room!!!

The hotel could not be located in a better spot

Breakfast for us was great, you should try the yogurt that they offer is delicious,

The only thing that you should consider is that there is no safe box in the room...

Facoor on the front desk was very helpful indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

In the heart of the city, you can walk anywhere. Mix with locals and tourists in the Micro Bar (microbrew beers on tap) on the bottom floor of the hotel, and walk anywhere in Reykjavik (including to more bars than you'll need :)
We booked a couple of nights here to start our trip and after a great first stay, returned at the end of our trip. Farook (I'm sorry if I am messing up the name and spelling) was great - so welcoming and helpful with dinner recommendations, directions and reservations. The whole experience was great- rooms are nice and beds are comfy, depending on where you are or how loud your neighbors are, you may hear some noise, but we had no issue on the side of the hotel off the main street.

Room Tip: higher floor away from main street was a great experience
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilverDreams99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night in a deluxe room on the 6th floor. Our beds were very comfortable. The service was excellent - everyone was helpful and friendly. The location is fantastic - right in the middle of Reykjavik's downtown area, close to shops, restaurants, tourist attractions. For our first breakfast, we went down the block and ate at Cafe Paris, which was adequate. The next morning we ate breakfast at the hotel, and it was half the price and 10 times better food. Our only complaints were that the TV didn't work and the hot shower smelled a little like sulfur. Also, because of the prime location, it can be noisy in the middle of the night. Otherwise, the hotel was a perfect place for us to stay in this cute, lovely city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Excellent service, tiny, clean, totally adequate rooms in a great location in a great city. The gym is useless, the coffee is excellent, and the city awaits right out the door. We used this as a starting point to explore and trek through Iceland. It was a perfect 1st 2 nikght and last night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbwoodmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I booked this Hotel because it was in the centre of the city. We arrived very early in the morning after flying from Toronto and we were greeted by a very friendly man named Arnat. Although check was not until 4 pm, he gave us a room by 12 noon so we could rest. He also called restaurants to make reservations for us and called our excursion company to check the time of the tour. The afternoon clerk fixed our satellite TV for us. We received exceptional service which we really appreciated and I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tootsypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Price - about Cdn$280
Cleanliness - very good.
Quietness - very poor (weekend street noise unbearable).
Comfort - ok.
Location - in the middle of things but too noisy.
Friendliness - good.
Breakfast - 10 Euros extra.
Classiness - ok.
Room Size - good.
Room included - tv.
Facilities included - a good micro brewery bar.
Nice touch - free computer use, coffee in reception.
What’s needed - quiet

Room Tip: Ask for one that's quiet
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dfkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,766 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
397 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,842 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £119 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel seafood restaurant "Wine and Shell" specialises in Icelandic mussels and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing