We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location, Comfortable, Helpful staff, Good Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Location, Comfortable, Helpful staff, Good Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Loved everything here. Clean with comfortable beds. Quiet (good soundproofing?) Excellent location for sights and restaurants. Good staff support, We stayed 5 nights and ate breakfast every morning, once we saw it. Ten euros may sound like alot, but try buying a cup of coffee and anything to eat elsewhere, and for that price we got several types of eggs including with bacon and little sausages plus an array of good breads and crackers, peanut butter, good jams, yogurts, cereals, herring, cheeses and luncheon meats and the coffee or hot water for tea. It was all generous and plentiful served by pleasant young people. Great start to the day! We loved the special hotel touches like bathrobe and slippers, real washcloths, good liquid soap and the sophisticated bedding, curtains, lobby furniture, etc. At night the breakfast room turns into the Microbar with a different "happy hour" beer for 5oo isk each day. It was a way of sampling the local brews and we took advantage of the offer! The location is REALLY central. The Tourist office, the Iceland Excursions, the Volcano House, the Culture House, the Old Harbor, Eymundssons Bookstore, groceries (10-11 and Kyosin),lots of restaurants, expensive and reasonable, all nearby. And, we don't walk very well! Start with walking thru the green square behind the hotel to see the Parliament building, the simple church and end up at the City Hall (Rat Huus) to see the 3D map and enjoy the pond, and to the left of city hall, look for the Unknown Official statue. A hoot! You can even go to their cafe and get tourist info there. Also, nearby--the Settlement House (871 +- 2). Cheapest eats we liked by the hotel-- the bookstore cafe, the Lilly cafe (also a bookstore). There are lots of kebab houses, pizza, and Indian food right there. Hope you will be as happy as we were! And, get out of town on an excursion or road trip, too!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    296
    78
    24
    16
See reviews for
105
341
93
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel this for one week this summer. I had a single room, which was expensive (225 euro per night), but very small (10 square meters, something like that). Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is alright. The breakfast room turns into a crowded bar during the day and evening. They advertise the room as soundproof, but it really isn't. What bothered me was that I couldn't find a place to really relax and read a book in this hotel. The room was too small for that, and the bar was too crowded. So If you are looking for some quiet comfort after a day of sightseeing, I would not recommend this hotel. On a scale from 1 to 10 this is an expensive 6,5.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Dc, Usa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My flight to Greenland could not land and had to return to Reykjavik.
My prior hotel was booked solid. TripAdvisor to the rescue:

Quick check online and bingo:
City Center Hotel had great reviews here and was just two blocks away.
I rushed over and got one of their last rooms.
Front desk guys were super helpful as everybody here has found.
My room was fairly large and distinctive (not bland cookie-cutter chain hotel rooms).
Good price and value for Reykjavik too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGalt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Super close to lots of stuff - right in the heart of Reykjavik. Its a bit touristy in the center of town but as you venture away just a few blocks you are quickly immersed into the everyday life of Icelanders.

Its in walking distance to the harbor where you can find most of the tours, bike tours, harbor tours, glacier tours, etc. Its near the Volcano House (pretty ok place) and many other great restaurants. The guys at the front desk were always nice and very helpful. They even arranged for our flybus transportation to the Airport.

There is a small pub like beer restaurant next to the lobby which also doubles as the place to grab a full breakfast in the morning. I think it was about $13 USD extra per person, but in the scheme of things very convenient and good. The food consisteded of hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, breads, skyr yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, juice and more.

Room Tip: The room I had was 6th floor facing toward the South. It was very quiet and had a nice view of the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sedrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Can't say enough about our experience in the City Center Hotel! The staff was so pleasant, they assisted our every need. At one point we were personally escorted to a nearby restaurant! The breakfast was delicious and had much diversity. It is located in a convenient spot, everything was within walking distance. The room was clean, neat, comfortable and reflected the flavor of Iceland. The bathroom was spacious.

The Micro Beer bar, in the lobby, is a local favorite. I was surprised when our tour guide recommended the City Center Hotel bar as a "place to go."

Look no further...you found the perfect place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed there on august 2013 for 5 days and there were great!

Considering it was our honeymoon they gave us a free upgrade of our room!!!

The hotel could not be located in a better spot

Breakfast for us was great, you should try the yogurt that they offer is delicious,

The only thing that you should consider is that there is no safe box in the room...

Facoor on the front desk was very helpful indeed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

In the heart of the city, you can walk anywhere. Mix with locals and tourists in the Micro Bar (microbrew beers on tap) on the bottom floor of the hotel, and walk anywhere in Reykjavik (including to more bars than you'll need :)
We booked a couple of nights here to start our trip and after a great first stay, returned at the end of our trip. Farook (I'm sorry if I am messing up the name and spelling) was great - so welcoming and helpful with dinner recommendations, directions and reservations. The whole experience was great- rooms are nice and beds are comfy, depending on where you are or how loud your neighbors are, you may hear some noise, but we had no issue on the side of the hotel off the main street.

Room Tip: higher floor away from main street was a great experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverDreams99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#21 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Property: City Center Hotel
Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel seafood restaurant "Wine and Shell" specialises in Icelandic mussels and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing