We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Center Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$455
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$578
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$534
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
359
346
105
31
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
346
105
31
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmicro bargreat locationfriday saturdaywithin walking distancebreakfast roomnight lifestreet noisehot watersmall hoteltour bussingle roomreception stafflight sleepershort breakbreadstayed here for nightsskyr
Filter
Updating list...
616 - 621 of 873 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was recommended to us by friends and it was great. Centrally located with a staff that is there to please. Anna at the desk did everything to make sure our stay was wonderful. She wrote down the names of our destinations (we were tongue tied but the Icelandic language.) She made reservations for dinner and gave us detailed directions on walking to our destinations.

The rooms are spotless. There is free wireless and breakfast available for a small amount. Food in Iceland is expensive so this breakfast is a good deal.
The entire staff is fluent in English.

Room Tip: There is a bar on the first floor that can be loud on Friday night. If you are a light sleeper try to avoid being above the bar.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lash018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay at City Center Hotel, Reykjavik. What a fantastic hotel in a brilliant location, walking distance to everything. We were in a standard double room which had a king size bed. We asked for a room on a high floor and were given room 602 on the sixth floor at the back of the hotel. The room looked out over Jón Sigurðsson forseti and the lake. The room was clean and a good size. The hotel staff were very friendly and always on hand to help. We only had breakfast on one day (this costs €10 each) but we found it to have a good selection and was worth the money. During the day there is coffee available near reception. The breakfast room turns into the Micro Bar at night which has a good selection of beers. Between 5 and 7pm one of the eight pump beers is on special at only 500ISK for a pint.

We booked our airport transfers and excursions with Iceland Excursions through the hotel's website. The bus arrives at the Iceland Excursions office in the city centre and you can then get on smaller buses to take you direct to your hotel. Not having been to Reykjavik before we didn't know where the hotel was. It turns out that it is a less than 5 minute walk from the Iceland Excursions office so you can just walk from there. I'd recommend that you pick up the bus for all excursions at the Iceland Excursions office as if you ask for hotel pick up you will be picked up between 30 and 60 minutes before the excursion starts and end up driving round to the other hotels.

I can't wait to go back to Reykjavik and will definitely stay in the CIty Center Hotel again. I recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizarazu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very well located and an easy walk around town. There are plenty of good restaurants just outside the door that are well worth checking out and lots of good bars.

If driving to the hotel you need a little patience (we had three maps but none indicated the direction of one way streets) and some luck. If driving from the airport drive past the hotel a block or two and then backtrack, and if lucky you will make it eventually.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are fine and large enough for a couple. Breakfast is adequate and superior to those generally horrible breakfasts at chain hotels in the US.

During my stay they were renovating the hotel and one elevator was not working. No big deal, but expect a few roofing panels out of place in hallways, exposed wiring etc. Notable though was the carpet on the lower floor stairways was badly worn and am surprised they let it go so long. Still, I would not hesitate to stay there again given the price and location of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldbuggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A real kingsize bed! We had been sleeping in those "push together twins", and this was a real treat. An old building had a totally new hotel built inside it, around the elevator shaft which is separated from the rooms by the hallway. The desk was very helpful, walking out with me to show the few parking spaces they have. The location couldn't be better: center of the tourist attractions, and 3-4 blocks to the Harbor or Harpa. The full breakfast was delicious, and at 10 euros a bargain for Iceland.
Just one thing: allow an hour to wind thru the narrow streets to find it. Don't even think of doing it after dark! We also walked to the city geothermal swimming pool to get "real warm" with the other Icelanders.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor, as we frequently did not wait for the elevator.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tico8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here on a business trip, rooms are modern and functional with UK TV which was unexpected. Staff helpful and pleasant particularly the lady on reception when i arrived in the evening. Central location easy to get to shops, restaurants etc as they are on the doorstep.
Breakfast was ok nothing special but acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade you may just get it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby Wax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews