We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of all the local action”
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“In the middle of all the local action”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Nice hotel with small, comfortable rooms. Clean. Good bar. Just a few steps from several restaurants and shopping. Pretty loud at night. Caters to tours, so the desk can get jammed with folks going in and out. Most arriving jets land around 7am...a stop by the Blue Lagoon on the way into town is worth arranging. It's a pleasant way to relax and kill time before the 2pm check in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpmc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    308
    87
    25
    20
See reviews for
115
353
98
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Location couldn't get any better for me. Right in the middle of everything. Prices are affordable and rooms are comfy. Has the usual depressing scandinavian style of toilet though but you get used to it. Don't be alarmed by the smell of sulfur while showering as all hot water comes out like that! But whatever the problems are, the staff makes up for with their friendliness and eagerness to help. They always went out of their way to make sure my plans, reservations and driving routes were perfect. would go again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnalogueJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here for five nights, nice and clean room, supercomfy bed and very helpful staff. Perfect location, 5 minute walk from the bus station where most tourist tours depature, so no need for pick up by the tourist companies which they offer if you stay at a hotel outside the city.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We enjoyed City Center Hotel. It was modern in design, clean and comfortable. We had landed at 7am and couldn't check in until 2pm (which is the check-in time) which was tough since we were jet lagged, but overall the experience was a really good one. I am a stickler for clean hotels and thought that the room was very clean and nice. Not sure if it's the area of where this hotel is, but the sulfur smell of the water was VERY strong and apparent in our room. I know that it can be stronger at time and at certain locations, but at times the smell was overpowering. Another cool tie bit about this place, there is a microbrew beer pub in the hotel that was written up as one Reykjavik's top bars. We didn't get to check it out, but it looked fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megelwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights over new year and what a great time we had. The hotel was clean, nicely decorated and warm. We did not suffer with any noise as other guests have mentioned even over this busy period. The breakfast was good and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. They checked on tours and bookings for us and were exceptional at providing local information to guide us through our New Year break. I wouldn't hesitate at recommending this hotel it's in a great location for everything you would need for a perfect city break.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed over the New Year holiday with another couple. Negatives: rooms are small and can be noisy if you're facing the street. Positives: everything else. Back or higher floor rooms quiet. Rates are reasonable. Rooms and bathrooms (shower only) are clean and well kept. Beds are comfortable. Staff is warm and friendly. Breakfast is wonderful. Location great. The breakfast room turns into a Micro Brew bar with a young crowd and an awesome selection of beer. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in early December in room 204. Nice sized room. Heating is by radiator (as with 99% of Iceland) which made the room a bit stuffy, but we realized on our second last night that we could leave the door open a little with would alleviate the stuffiness but the room still kept warm. Be aware of the hot water though, stinks of sulfur, as does the rest of the hot water in Iceland. You get used to it after a few days though. Didn't have any noise issues, but we arrived on a Sunday night and left Friday afternoon.
We had the breakfast a few times. There was juices, cold meats and cheeses, fruit salad, different varieties of bread, sausages, eggs, bacon, tea, coffee and skyr. Nice selection and not overly pricey, it wasn't included in our room rate.
Staff at reception were quite nice. Always ringing to check if our tour was on and when they would be there. Can also send them boarding passes to print out which was useful. Also a nice little waiting area at reception.
Location is absolutely fantastic! Just outside the hotel is a little square with a few restaurants in the square and up the side streets. Also within a couple of minutes walk of a convenience store which was good for the days we did tours we could bring a sandwich or something from one of them. Hotel is also very close to the old harbor (about a 5 minute walk), the Reykjavik excursion bus terminal (less than a 5 minute walk) and the church, Hallgrimskirkja is about a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spage89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,748 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#35 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,782 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,102 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Property: City Center Hotel
Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel seafood restaurant "Wine and Shell" specialises in Icelandic mussels and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing