We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hull. UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well located hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel is quite small, but the rooms were comfortable and clean. The location is perfect, good restaurants nearby, and also close to the harbour and the Icelandic excursions departure point. The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. We stayed for two nights and would use this hotel again if we returned. There is also a 24/7 shop very close by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fonella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    293
    78
    24
    16
See reviews for
105
339
93
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

On arrival the hotel may look a little on the bleak side but once you are inside the hotel is very clean and built to a high spec.

Our room was quite small but was very nice and well equipped, did the job well.

Breakfast was good with a large choice of quality items.

The staff were fantastic, we needed to hire a car to travel to our next destination but unfortunately we didn't have a credit card (All companies in Iceland require a CREDIT card not a DEBIT card), the lady on reception was very helpful and called many companies to try and arrange a car for us. We eventually found a company who agreed.

The hotel is situated in an ideal location to explore Reykjavik and has a nice bar with a huge range of beers from local Micro-brewers well worth it. 10/10

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived at our hotel from the airport at 9 AM with a 2 PM check in time. Less than thirty minutes later they had found us a room. Everything was clean and comfortable. Staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Took time to give directions and made helpful recommendations for getting around town, where to eat and shop. Was able to book all day trips right from front desk. Hotel lives up to its name. Right in the middle of everything, bars, shops, transportation. Even on busy Friday and Saturday bar nights, hotel was quiet and felt safe getting in and out of the place. Can go on but if you are even thinking of booking a hotel in the downtown area do not hesitate.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor as hotel is on main strip with bars and clubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel was in the perfect location for our 8-day vacation. The staff were friendly, the room was clean, comfortable and had a balcony overlooking a park. While we had read reviews that the rooms were small, they were typical of many European hotels. We loved that we were within walking distance to many sites, restaurants, the bus terminal and waterfront. Since we were spending several days in Reykjavik, we had considered renting an apartment, but were glad that we ended up staying at the City Center Hotel and would definitely consider staying at the hotel again if we were in a room facing the park and not the main street. The hotel offers morning breakfast for an additional cost (there are several places nearby and convenient stores where you can purchase items to keep in your room's fridge) which is a microbrew with a great selection of offerings at night.

Room Tip: A limited number of rooms include balconies with a view of a park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We couldn't think of anything bad about this hotel. The location is great, really good walking distance to a variety of restaurants in Reykjavik. The bed was big and comfortable, and everything was very clean and well maintained. The shower was phenomenal, it was like a spa every time, although I gather that all hot water in Iceland is like that. The noise other people mention wasn't bad at all if you're on one of the uppermost floors so if you are noise sensitive ask for a top room. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

a very good hotel with very helpful staff,everything you expect and need from a good hotel .A really yummy breakfast.I am disabled and the staff where very happy to help and more importantly the staff used their own initiative.During our visit to iceland we had to stay away from reykjavik but returned once again to the city center hotel it was that good.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise on a friday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1mrsghee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of January. We had a great room at the back of the hotel so very quiet. The room had everything you need, towels, robes, slippers, tea/coffee making facilities and a nice balcony. Breakfast was excellent, cereals, breads, cheese, spreads, eggs, bacon and sausages.. The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The location is great, one minute from the harbour and main shopping street. There is a supermarket about 20 meters away, a great place across the street to eat (The Laundromat cafe) and loads of other places nearbuy. The location is perfect, the hotel was clean and warm an the staff were great. Don't bother looking for anywhere else to stay, just stay here!

Room Tip: Room 502 was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wills27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Property: City Center Hotel
Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel seafood restaurant "Wine and Shell" specialises in Icelandic mussels and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing