We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Short Break”
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just back from a 3 night break in Reykjavik and the City Center hotel was in a great location, with shops, restaurants, bars and tour guide companies right on the doorstep. Due to the reviews on Tripadvisor mentioning the noise at weekends I did request a top floor room at the rear of the hotel. We were given room 603, on the top floor and at the rear of the building and had no problems with street noise. The only thing I would say is that the internal walls are not well insulated for sound and occasionally we could hear our neighbours chatting. Luckily they were not a noisy lot.

The breakfast was good, plenty of choice. There is free WiFi in the hotel (this also applies to most cafes/restaurants throughout Reykjavik) - so no need to worry about the mobile phone bill. The Reception staff were very helpful. We arrived before the stated check-in and after a short wait, with a complimentary coffee, the room was ready for us.

If travelling to and from the airport with Iceland Excursions there is no need to book direct drop off at the hotel, as their office and bus terminal is just 2 mins walk away.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 603 - Top floor and at rear of building was quiet and a decent size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelineJawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel has it all - great location, comfortable and clean rooms, great ambience, great front desk staff, and great ambience. The Micro Brew located at the back of the lobby is a great bonus. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cascader8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The central location of The city center hotel was perfect. Near to the docks, excellent restaurants, and the main shopping areas. The hotel was very comfortable, clean, breakfast was good and the staff were more than helpful at all times. They were keen to help with choosing trips, but there are so many companies to choose from and we only had 3 days so we went to the tourist information and booked everything from there.
An amazing country, with so much to see. Magical, and we recommend a visit.
We shall return.

Room Tip: The whole city is quiet, but we chose a room with a balcony. Only a few in the hotel so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy209940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked this hotel as it was cheap and in the centre of town. We therefore were expecting a small, dingy and noises hotel, however we were pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of the hotel.
The staff were second to none and could not of been more helpful with helping book excursions or providing advice and guidance.
The pub linked to the hotel was fantastic too,a great atmosphere and the tasting board is a must have. I would highly recommend this to people wanting a no-nonsense city centre hotel with mod cons and a great welcome!

Room Tip: Higher rooms probably quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Brilliantly located, lovely feeling and decor to the bedrooms and the bonus of a micro brewery bar downstairs with some great local beer. We stayed here for 4 nights, and were really pleased. Booked via Expedia with a flight to Reykjavik, at a good price, and it was nicer than we were expecting - always a bonus!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StumpyandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Four nights in this hotel in February 2014.
On arrival we were offered room 202. Allegedly a double it seemed like a small single. But, even though the hotel was full, we were moved to a disabled room next door. Much better but lacked cupboard space and surfaces in the bathroom to put things.
Breakfast was just about ok but the room was was inadequate with not enough clean cutlery, a slow kettle for tea, running out of hot food.
But on the plus side the hotel was very clean, the bed excellent, good location in the centre of Reykjavik and the reception staff were really helpful - they couldn't do enough when asked.
So, how many stars. I always start at 5 and come downwards. I'd like to give 5 but feel 3.5 is correct. So I've rounded it up to 4.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spotted-Jaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel is quite small, but the rooms were comfortable and clean. The location is perfect, good restaurants nearby, and also close to the harbour and the Icelandic excursions departure point. The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. We stayed for two nights and would use this hotel again if we returned. There is also a 24/7 shop very close by.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fonella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 55 in Reykjavik
415 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#33 of 55 in Reykjavik
2,039 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 55 in Reykjavik
2,383 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#44 of 55 in Reykjavik
175 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 55 in Reykjavik
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £115 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel seafood restaurant "Wine and Shell" specialises in Icelandic mussels and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing