We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Center Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$236
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$326
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fosshotel Raudara(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fosshotel Lind(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$492
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Odinsve(Reykjavik)
US$270
US$246
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
356
339
101
31
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
339
101
31
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmicro bargreat locationfriday saturdaywithin walking distancebreakfast roomnight lifestreet noisehot watersmall hoteltour bussingle roomreception stafflight sleepershort breakbreadstayed here for nightsskyr
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel offers great value with it's convenient location in the city center of Reykjavik. Everything worth checking out downtown is within walking distance. The room was decently sized and clean, with a nice, large bathroom. Some of the rooms face a fairly busy street, so you might experience some noise, but what's better than the sound of street life on a volcanic rock in the middle of the ocean? ;)

The staff was very polite and friendly, and spoke good English. The elevator broke down one evening, and they went out of their way to inform us when we entered the lobby and assuring us it was going to be fixed first thing in the morning. Even though it did not matter to us (we lived on the 2nd floor), I appreciate the way they were on top of the situation in a very professional manner.

I would definetly recommend this hotel to others visiting Reykjavik, it's got everything you want from a city center hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredrich_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just back from a short break in Reykjavik with friends. We stayed at the City Center Hotel. The hotel was exactly what we were looking for - central, inexpensive, clean and friendly. The bedrooms are a good size with a modern bathroom. Our shower curtain had seen better days and a new shower head would not have gone amiss (Room 304). However, these are my only negative points. An extremely comfortable bed. The room and public areas are kept very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We took the optional €10 breakfast which is good value; cereal, fresh bread and rolls, cold meats and cheeses and hot food. Endless juice, coffee and tea. The breakfast room turns into a Micro Bar in the evenings. A wide selection of beers I a friendly environment. I heard a little noise from outside at night but as we did not stay on a Friday or Saturday I could not say if noise is the problem identified by some other reviewers.
I would strongly recommend the City Center Hotel for a good value stay in a very central part of Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Higher rooms at the rear would probably be quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glasgow_Member06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This boutique style hotel was a really great find. Situated very centrally the location is excellent. The rooms are a good size, clean and nicely furnished with very comfortable beds. The bathroom had a large walk in shower and was compete with robe and slippers. The staff for the most part were friendly, all spoke good English. It is very good value for the price compared to other central hotels. There a few minor negative comments to make. Breakfast is also good value at 10 euro for a substantial buffet choice. However don't expect to see everything mentioned on the menu on display. I did have to ask for the fruit salad which was provided on request. Although the bedrooms were very clean, the corridors could have been cleaner as could the shower screens in the bathroom. Despite these minor criticisms I doubt you would get a better hotel for the price in the city centre. Please note, you do not have to pack shampoos & shower gel as these are provided. This is not mentioned on the hotel website and would have been useful to know especially as we were travelling with carry on luggage only. Also, we stayed Monday to Friday on the fifth floorso noise from the Microbrewery on the ground floor was not s problem. However if you stayed on a lower floor at the weekend, I can imagine that the noise would be a problem as mentioned in other reviews. I would recommend this hotel for a short break in Reykavik.

Room Tip: If you are staying at the weekend, try to get a room on one of the top floors as the microbrewery on the ground floor can be noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthie3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

THis was a good hotel to stay at in the center of reykjavik. Close to the harbor and the main shopping street, it also is a very short walk to the buses that go most places in iceland. I had no trouble with noise as others did, though my room was in the back.

Room Tip: I had a room in the back and had no problems with noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David_Tagliaferri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the close season in early April and have to say that for the price this hotel exceeded all expectations. Our room was on the sixth floor with a fantastic view, it was very clean and comfortable, light and airy and warm. The Micro bar has a eclectic range of beers and very good happy hour prices and is used by locals and guests to make a very friendly atmosphere. Located close to the parliament square in the centre of town, a few minutes to the departure point for Grey Line tours. The staff are all very helpful and keen to help you get to know more about Iceland. The breakfast is good value, there is free tea and coffee in the lobby and unusually for Scandinavia, tea and coffee facilities in the room. Highly recommended I would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: The 5th and 6th floors facing the harbour will have the best views
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews